Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline jeffd  
#1 Posted : 25 December 2018 15:40:48(UTC)
jeffd

United States   
Joined: 06/08/2017(UTC)
Posts: 34
Location: Virginia, Arlington
Happy Holidays from the US! I have been restoring / repairing analog locomotives from a large collection the past year but have never opened a digital one. I came across the following locomotive in the collection and it is dead on my analog layout. I think it is probably a digital one but having never seen one I thought I would look for a confirmation. Did this old analog collector actually buy a digital loco when everything he had is analog? If it is digital, is there any way for me to test it on my analog equipment?

Thanks for your thoughts

JD


IMG_5969.JPG
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 25 December 2018 15:51:53(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,420
Location: DE-NW
Is it Märklin?
Is it H0 gauge?

What is the first character of the serial number? E would be analogue, D or H or M would be digital.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline jeffd  
#3 Posted : 25 December 2018 16:15:25(UTC)
jeffd

United States   
Joined: 06/08/2017(UTC)
Posts: 34
Location: Virginia, Arlington
It is a Marklin HO. Where do you find the serial number?

JD
Offline H0  
#4 Posted : 25 December 2018 16:21:46(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,420
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: jeffd Go to Quoted Post
Where do you find the serial number?
Usually somewhere at the bottom of the loco or the tender.

What's the ref. number on the box?
30xx and 35xx is analogue, 36xx is digital, 33xx and 34xx could be either.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Markus Schild  
#5 Posted : 25 December 2018 16:33:00(UTC)
Markus Schild

Germany   
Joined: 14/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,735
Location: Wurttemberg
Hi,

This is an analogue steamer 3511. The circuit is part of the "high-performance-drive". The two potentiometers are to adjust acceleration and maximum speed. To check what's wrong I would unsolder the motor and test the motor with a DC-source e.g. a 9V-battery. The motor is a FAULHABER - DC-motor.

Regards

Markus
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Markus Schild
Offline jeffd  
#6 Posted : 25 December 2018 17:32:27(UTC)
jeffd

United States   
Joined: 06/08/2017(UTC)
Posts: 34
Location: Virginia, Arlington
Thanks for confirming it is an analog and a 9 v batter did turn the motor. The high performance drive is not so much. All I get is a click when i try to reverse it and no motion on the track??????
Offline Goofy  
#7 Posted : 26 December 2018 08:43:26(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 7,908
You write you have analog layout.
If locomotive are 3511 and it doesn´t work you have default with the PCB.
To change locomotive and use analog on the three rail layout with the Märklins trafo it ain´t easy to fix it.
Today most use digital and there is digital decoder which also does work for the analog layout when the decoder are set for the analog too.
DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline Markus Schild  
#8 Posted : 26 December 2018 09:08:53(UTC)
Markus Schild

Germany   
Joined: 14/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,735
Location: Wurttemberg
Hi,

The conversion to digital of that locomotive is at least difficult. The PCB which drives the motor also holds the slider. First I would remove the PCB and check first if there is something faulty visible on the underside. Maybe it can be repaired.
If there is nothing repairable I see two solutions: The PCB comes up more or less regularly on Ebay Germany from locomotives which were converted or dismantled for spares. Just wait and see to get a spare. The other solution is to replace the PCB with this one: http://luessi.ch/shop/ca..._info.php?products_id=54 With that PCB a decoder could be installed.

Regards

Markus
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Markus Schild
Offline dickinsonj  
#9 Posted : 29 December 2018 01:33:44(UTC)
dickinsonj

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,074
Location: United States
Originally Posted by: Markus Schild Go to Quoted Post
Hi,

The conversion to digital of that locomotive is at least difficult. The PCB which drives the motor also holds the slider. First I would remove the PCB and check first if there is something faulty visible on the underside. Maybe it can be repaired.
If there is nothing repairable I see two solutions: The PCB comes up more or less regularly on Ebay Germany from locomotives which were converted or dismantled for spares. Just wait and see to get a spare. The other solution is to replace the PCB with this one: http://luessi.ch/shop/ca..._info.php?products_id=54 With that PCB a decoder could be installed.

Regards

Markus


Excellent advice Markus.

I replaced the decoder board in my 3611 using a board from luessi and it worked perfectly, and the only solution that I have seen for the odd slider arrangement. The last time I checked Märklin had quit supplying those parts, so it is a good time to get that sorted out. That Würrtemberg Class C is one Beautiful Lady alright. BigGrin

Fabrice gets the credit for showing me where to get that part btw, which I might never have found on my own! Cool
Regards,
Jim

I have almost all Märklin and mostly HO, although I do have a small number of Z gauge trains!
I have models from Era I to Era VI, but I try to focus on Eras I & III. Whoops, that one got away from me. Let's just say I focus on cool trains, regardless of the particulars :-)
So many trains and so little time.
Offline river6109  
#10 Posted : 29 December 2018 02:49:18(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,407
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Watch this space, I'm in the progress of converting mine to digital with an ESU sound decoder, I've already made up a circuit board by replacing the original one, the slider holder I've de-soldered it from the original board and soldered it onto the board. I''be using an 8 pin ESU sound decoder but will remove the 8 pin plug, shorten the wires and solder them onto the new board. I also be looking at the steam generator and side rods gear lights.
unfortunately when I drilled the hole I've hand drilled it afterwards to make it slightly larger and broke the corner off but it doesn't affect the tightness when screwing it down., as you can see the round 23mm loudspeaker fits nicely, just into its place and also the ESU sound decoder has plenty of room., the wires I'll be using will be insulated copper wire (12) they are easier to bend and stay in position, they will be fed through the underside of the circuit board and soldered on top.

John

conversion.JPG

conversion (1).JPG

conversion1.JPG

conversion2.JPG
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by river6109
Offline Ross  
#11 Posted : 29 December 2018 23:21:19(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 670
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi Jeff,

You maybe interested in my article how I converted Lady C locos to have cabin light and telex couplerss with ESU LokPilot decoders.

Lady C Article

I hope it provides ideas along with other peoples suggestions.

Have fun.

Originally Posted by: jeffd Go to Quoted Post
Happy Holidays from the US! I have been restoring / repairing analog locomotives from a large collection the past year but have never opened a digital one. I came across the following locomotive in the collection and it is dead on my analog layout. I think it is probably a digital one but having never seen one I thought I would look for a confirmation. Did this old analog collector actually buy a digital loco when everything he had is analog? If it is digital, is there any way for me to test it on my analog equipment?

Thanks for your thoughts

JD




Ross
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Ross
Offline river6109  
#12 Posted : 31 December 2018 11:15:20(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,407
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: Ross Go to Quoted Post
Hi Jeff,

You maybe interested in my article how I converted Lady C locos to have cabin light and telex couplerss with ESU LokPilot decoders.

Lady C Article

I hope it provides ideas along with other peoples suggestions.

Have fun.

Originally Posted by: jeffd Go to Quoted Post
Happy Holidays from the US! I have been restoring / repairing analog locomotives from a large collection the past year but have never opened a digital one. I came across the following locomotive in the collection and it is dead on my analog layout. I think it is probably a digital one but having never seen one I thought I would look for a confirmation. Did this old analog collector actually buy a digital loco when everything he had is analog? If it is digital, is there any way for me to test it on my analog equipment?

Thanks for your thoughts

JD






Ross you can see my continuous conversion under "on my workbench"

https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by river6109
Offline Ross  
#13 Posted : 31 December 2018 22:00:45(UTC)
Ross

Australia   
Joined: 25/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 670
Location: Sydney, NSW
Hi John,

Thanks for directing me to "on my workbench". All the best with your conversion. I'll look forward to seeing how you transfer all the wire connections back to the decoder in the tender.

Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post


Ross you can see my continuous conversion under "on my workbench"



Ross
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Block control - stay with relays or use digital? (Digital)
by fynrfin 19/03/2019 18:53:37(UTC)
Converting an old analog loco with Telex to digital? (Digital)
by Jabez 05/11/2016 22:21:46(UTC)
Silence information about digital? (Digital)
by Goofy 27/03/2016 17:51:36(UTC)
Märklin 5713 DB BR 55 3964 analog or digital? (Big scale)
by Janne75 30/11/2014 10:42:23(UTC)
Roco on Marklin Digital? (H0-scale)
by morsing 17/08/2014 10:54:05(UTC)
MTH 3E+ HO locomotives running on Marklin Digital? (Digital)
by StuartA 25/05/2013 20:06:43(UTC)
RAPTOR DIGITAL? (Digital)
by 1spur 20/01/2013 17:31:25(UTC)
Going digital? (Digital)
by BrandonVA 02/02/2012 16:36:09(UTC)
ID locomotive/convert to digital? (Collector's Corner general)
by dpetersen 08/01/2012 05:47:47(UTC)
Quality of household electricity - does it matter for digital? (Digital)
by kimballthurlow 31/10/2011 22:11:17(UTC)
Lux cleaning car conversion to digital? (Digital)
by eduard71 07/05/2011 15:22:28(UTC)
Analog locos, old, to digital?? (Digital)
by Joseph Meiring 09/04/2011 17:32:16(UTC)
Going Digital? (General MRR)
by Joseph Meiring 01/02/2011 21:57:00(UTC)
Digital? (General MRR)
by Joseph Meiring 22/08/2010 23:24:02(UTC)
Marklin 3371 ICE or digital? (H0-scale)
by rhobson1968 10/07/2009 02:13:21(UTC)
Converting 3015 to digital? (Digital)
by TroyYang 22/05/2009 04:33:00(UTC)
Help- MAXI Engine- Digital? Delta? or DC Only? (Digital)
by steameng8 02/02/2009 23:56:21(UTC)
Convertering 2868 to digital? (Digital)
by amalongi 05/01/2009 21:45:53(UTC)
make a 3005 digital? (H0-scale)
by obxbill 02/01/2009 04:29:41(UTC)
New user dilemma: classic or digital? (H0-scale)
by hansbos 04/08/2008 01:46:52(UTC)
How to convert a Ma 3658 to newer digital? (Digital)
by meina222 27/02/2007 02:55:25(UTC)
how to dive into digital? (Digital)
by tekin65 16/10/2006 01:36:59(UTC)
can analogue be used with digital? (Digital)
by zand 1985 13/12/2005 16:50:33(UTC)
Problems converting a 3434 to digital? (Digital)
by Mikael 03/11/2005 14:05:35(UTC)
#3149 engine...convert to digital? (H0-scale)
by littledragon 28/07/2005 20:11:32(UTC)
How big a transformer for digital? (Digital)
by elsleuth 05/01/2005 20:33:23(UTC)
At what point did you decide to go digital? (Digital)
by jocoyn 30/01/2004 15:11:34(UTC)
What are the stages/strategies for Digital? (Digital)
by streetmagick 28/02/2003 21:45:42(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.692 seconds.