Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline bygger01  
#1 Posted : 01 December 2018 14:53:44(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 94
Location: Herning in Denmark
There is a large diff. between my large steamers ( like BR 01/03/53 ) with tenders and my diesel locomotivs when it comes to stops for dirty tracks.

Do any of you see, that the steamers have many times more stops.

And do you think some x-stra weight in the tender will help ?
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline David Dewar  
#2 Posted : 01 December 2018 16:14:02(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 6,395
Location: Scotland
Keeping the tracks clean should avoid this. Also clean the slider from time to time.
Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
Offline costing  
#3 Posted : 01 December 2018 17:08:48(UTC)
costing

Switzerland   
Joined: 20/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 35
Location: Geneve, Geneva
For me the problem usually is with the center rail. Any dirty point leads to a full stop. Three suggestions for you:
- install keep-alive capacitors (not obvious in M* but can be done by following the traces from the decoder plug, you usually find easy to access pads on the main board)
- clean the center rail, then glide a graphite bar (soft pencil) over it, it helps a lot. This you can test locally on the area that gives you trouble.
- don't let the oxide form, run more often :)

Cheers,

.costin
JMRI on RPi Zero W & DCC++ / C-track / Marklin (SBB Re 4/4 II, SBB Ee 3/3, DB BR 24), Roco (DB BR 103, CFR 040-EC-001), ESU engineering (DB 265 MRCE) / Christmas car collector
Offline bygger01  
#4 Posted : 01 December 2018 21:18:04(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 94
Location: Herning in Denmark
Originally Posted by: costing Go to Quoted Post
For me the problem usually is with the center rail. Any dirty point leads to a full stop. Three suggestions for you:
- install keep-alive capacitors (not obvious in M* but can be done by following the traces from the decoder plug, you usually find easy to access pads on the main board)
- clean the center rail, then glide a graphite bar (soft pencil) over it, it helps a lot. This you can test locally on the area that gives you trouble.
- don't let the oxide form, run more often :)

Cheers,

.costin


You are writing - glide a graphite bar (soft pencil) over it - I have never hear about it, so can you help with a link ?

Such a pen could also be good for the Märklin turntable !
Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline costing  
#5 Posted : 02 December 2018 12:19:02(UTC)
costing

Switzerland   
Joined: 20/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 35
Location: Geneve, Geneva
I use a graphite bar as you can see in the bottom right corner of the box. A little goes a long way :)

I apply it on both the tracks (it helps mechanically cleaning it from paint residues as well) and the center pins. The pins are very harsh on the graphite bar, use an even lighter touch on them.

As for references, here are a few:
https://model-railroad-h...irty-rails-with-graphite
https://model-railroad-hobbyist.com/node/17181
search the forum for many other references to using graphite for this purpose.

Cheers,

.costin

graphite_box.jpg

graphite_track.jpg

graphite_center.jpg
JMRI on RPi Zero W & DCC++ / C-track / Marklin (SBB Re 4/4 II, SBB Ee 3/3, DB BR 24), Roco (DB BR 103, CFR 040-EC-001), ESU engineering (DB 265 MRCE) / Christmas car collector
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by costing
Offline JohnjeanB  
#6 Posted : 02 December 2018 13:09:41(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 339
Location: Paris, France
Hi Costin

Very interesting. I will try. Before I was using a slider-shaped wood covered with 1000 abrasive paper.
Cheers

Jean
My lay-out videos
General operation
Loco change
Offline costing  
#7 Posted : 02 December 2018 14:23:42(UTC)
costing

Switzerland   
Joined: 20/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 35
Location: Geneve, Geneva
I'm trying to avoid any abrasive methods as the micro scratches increase the exposed surface area and provide grip for dirt to catch on to. Or so the experts say :) Anyway, it's a very quick process, give it a try and see how it works for you.

Cheers,

.costin
JMRI on RPi Zero W & DCC++ / C-track / Marklin (SBB Re 4/4 II, SBB Ee 3/3, DB BR 24), Roco (DB BR 103, CFR 040-EC-001), ESU engineering (DB 265 MRCE) / Christmas car collector
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by costing
H0
Offline bygger01  
#8 Posted : 02 December 2018 19:58:23(UTC)
bygger01

Denmark   
Joined: 23/11/2008(UTC)
Posts: 94
Location: Herning in Denmark
Graphite bar - I had never heard about them ......

They lie together with pencils, so may the bars be used for drawings ?

I can also see that one of the pencils had been used and is a soft 6B, are you also using them for the same ?

Best regards
Jørgen St. from Herning in DK
H0 / Märklin K track / CS2 / full digital / Epoke III +/-
Offline David Dewar  
#9 Posted : 02 December 2018 21:15:39(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 6,395
Location: Scotland
I use a Roco rubber for track cleaning.
Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
Offline costing  
#10 Posted : 02 December 2018 21:36:11(UTC)
costing

Switzerland   
Joined: 20/08/2018(UTC)
Posts: 35
Location: Geneve, Geneva
Originally Posted by: bygger01 Go to Quoted Post
Graphite bar - I had never heard about them ......

They lie together with pencils, so may the bars be used for drawings ?


Yes, this is a drawing set. I think the correct term is graphite sticks, you can see them in action here:


Originally Posted by: bygger01 Go to Quoted Post

I can also see that one of the pencils had been used and is a soft 6B, are you also using them for the same ?


:) Not for this purpose. While the core of a pencil is the same material, the wood around it makes a pencil inconvenient to use. One would have to continuously sharpen it ... But sure, you can use a pencil on a test zone.

Cheers,

.costin
JMRI on RPi Zero W & DCC++ / C-track / Marklin (SBB Re 4/4 II, SBB Ee 3/3, DB BR 24), Roco (DB BR 103, CFR 040-EC-001), ESU engineering (DB 265 MRCE) / Christmas car collector
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by costing
Offline kiwiAlan  
#11 Posted : 03 December 2018 14:54:54(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 3,725
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: costing Go to Quoted Post

Yes, this is a drawing set. I think the correct term is graphite sticks, you can see them in action here:


Another expression might be 'charcoal stick' although technically they are not charcoal, but used for 'charcoal' drawings.

Offline skeeterbuck  
#12 Posted : 05 December 2018 16:08:23(UTC)
skeeterbuck

United States   
Joined: 15/12/2015(UTC)
Posts: 409
Location: Maryland, Baltimore
I use a carpenter's pencil with a "V" notched in the center to help keep it on the rails. I've notice much better running since I started using graphite on the rails. ThumpUp

Offline skeeterbuck  
#13 Posted : 05 December 2018 16:10:03(UTC)
skeeterbuck

United States   
Joined: 15/12/2015(UTC)
Posts: 409
Location: Maryland, Baltimore
Originally Posted by: kiwiAlan Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: costing Go to Quoted Post

Yes, this is a drawing set. I think the correct term is graphite sticks, you can see them in action here:


Another expression might be 'charcoal stick' although technically they are not charcoal, but used for 'charcoal' drawings.



A artist charcoal stick is NOT graphite. Be careful!
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2018, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.788 seconds.