Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline danmarklinman  
#1 Posted : 24 August 2018 11:22:47(UTC)
danmarklinman

United Kingdom   
Joined: 18/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,031
Hi, I have put up a couple of comments just lately on digital.
What I want to know now, is there an alternative digital system which is reliable and is ok with Marklin digital old as well as new?
I have looked at the intellibox 65100. Are these reliable??
Marklin / ESU SNCF/SNCB , Marklin/Brawa wagons and some others
Wiking model car Fan
Faller fan including car system
Instagram: marklin1978
Offline David Dewar  
#2 Posted : 24 August 2018 11:34:24(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 6,717
Location: Scotland
Why not a CS2 if you can find one or a new CS3. Not as yet bought my CS3 but my CS2 is excellent.
Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by David Dewar
Offline danmarklinman  
#3 Posted : 24 August 2018 12:07:20(UTC)
danmarklinman

United Kingdom   
Joined: 18/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,031
Originally Posted by: David Dewar Go to Quoted Post
Why not a CS2 if you can find one or a new CS3. Not as yet bought my CS3 but my CS2 is excellent.


No issues then👍
Marklin / ESU SNCF/SNCB , Marklin/Brawa wagons and some others
Wiking model car Fan
Faller fan including car system
Instagram: marklin1978
Offline RayF  
#4 Posted : 24 August 2018 13:54:52(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 15,419
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
I have no issues with my two MS2s. Maybe you were just unlucky?
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline danmarklinman  
#5 Posted : 24 August 2018 14:10:48(UTC)
danmarklinman

United Kingdom   
Joined: 18/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,031
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
I have no issues with my two MS2s. Maybe you were just unlucky?


It certainly looks that way😩. It’s making me think of an alternative to Marklin to be honest. Because of the future of UK import taxes with Europe and the increase of the Euro against the pound. Plus if it’s faulty?.
Marklin and other European models will be very much more than at current prices, and there high already?? Over the last ten years Bachmann and Hornby UK trains are very much the same level as Roco ect. And they are sold a few miles down the road👍😁 it’s a dilemma 😱
https://www.hornby.com/u...empster-lines-era-5.html
Marklin / ESU SNCF/SNCB , Marklin/Brawa wagons and some others
Wiking model car Fan
Faller fan including car system
Instagram: marklin1978
Offline Goofy  
#6 Posted : 24 August 2018 18:25:13(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,029
Originally Posted by: danmarklinman Go to Quoted Post
Hi, I have put up a couple of comments just lately on digital.
What I want to know now, is there an alternative digital system which is reliable and is ok with Marklin digital old as well as new?
I have looked at the intellibox 65100. Are these reliable??


I use Lenz SET100 and it works perfect.
No problems any at all for about three years now since i bought it.
There is only DCC protocol but works excellent for both 2 and 3 rail.
DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline Purellum  
#7 Posted : 24 August 2018 18:38:33(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,117
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
There is only DCC protocol but works excellent for both 2 and 3 rail.


Are you sure DCC works "ok with Marklin digital old as well as new" ??

I'm not.

Per.

Cool

If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Purellum
Offline H0  
#8 Posted : 24 August 2018 19:00:03(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,499
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post
Are you sure DCC works "ok with Marklin digital old as well as new"?
In defence of Goofy I would say: Definitely maybe. Wink

What is "Märklin digital old"? 6027 and such? If we are talking about gauge I (the question does not indicate otherwise) then the Lenz controller could really be an option. Lenz invented DCC for Märklin gauge I because MM old did not work with two-rail tracks. Cool

If we assume that Dan uses gauge H0, then the Lenz controller probably is not the best choice. ThumbDown
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Purellum  
#9 Posted : 24 August 2018 19:18:01(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,117
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Lenz invented DCC for Märklin gauge I


I know. For some years after Märklin stopped using DCC in 1-gauge, you could get a free decoder replacement to a MM-decoder;
but display case models still come up on Ebay with the original DCC decoder.

I have never before heard of people using them.

Per.

Cool

If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Offline Rwill  
#10 Posted : 24 August 2018 19:49:19(UTC)
Rwill

United Kingdom   
Joined: 04/05/2015(UTC)
Posts: 539
Location: England, London
Originally Posted by: danmarklinman Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: David Dewar Go to Quoted Post
Why not a CS2 if you can find one or a new CS3. Not as yet bought my CS3 but my CS2 is excellent.


No issues then👍



As I related on here earlier this year I purchased an LGB start set brand new complete with a CS2 at a very reasonable price. This was to replace 6021(sadly dead)/6040/6043. and in addition to an MS2. It arrived I plugged it into the mains, the layout and the internet and it updated to the very latest set up and with some head scratching and experimentation we were off on an excellent journey with lok control, keyboard, memory and layour diagram with a few bits still to try. The update had brought me 32 functions and cab control (if used). As everyone else was debating the ins and outs of the CS3 I vowed not to ask my stupid dumb questions on here. With the search function I discovered that every one of my queries had over time been addressed and solved so I have never mentioned it again!. I liked (and still do like) the MS2 for a walkaround controller but am as happy as a pig in poop with my CS2
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Rwill
Offline danmarklinman  
#11 Posted : 24 August 2018 20:06:52(UTC)
danmarklinman

United Kingdom   
Joined: 18/10/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,031
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post
Are you sure DCC works "ok with Marklin digital old as well as new"?
In defence of Goofy I would say: Definitely maybe. Wink

What is "Märklin digital old"? 6027 and such? If we are talking about gauge I (the question does not indicate otherwise) then the Lenz controller could really be an option. Lenz invented DCC for Märklin gauge I because MM old did not work with two-rail tracks. Cool

If we assume that Dan uses gauge H0, then the Lenz controller probably is not the best choice. ThumbDown


Yes HO. I guess I will have to get stuff repaired and go for a cs2 or 3. Thanks Tom for your help👍
A might well get an Intellibox 65100. As I can get one locally. Regards Dan
Marklin / ESU SNCF/SNCB , Marklin/Brawa wagons and some others
Wiking model car Fan
Faller fan including car system
Instagram: marklin1978
Offline Goofy  
#12 Posted : 25 August 2018 08:00:30(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,029
Many have switched to newer systems where results have become better function.
Digital systems today are more advanced and powerful.
I have seen Märklinister in Youtube who chose to switch to newer decoders with DCC as functional on Märklin rails with better results.
Uhlenbrock seems to be a good system.
DCC means Digital Command Control.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Goofy
Offline Goofy  
#13 Posted : 25 August 2018 08:42:37(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,029
I forgot to write that Intellibox II do have limited function if you use MM and mfx.
MM: 80 adresses and 14 speed steps
mfx: 255 adresses and 14 speed steps
DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline Bigdaddynz  
#14 Posted : 25 August 2018 14:38:13(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,691
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
I forgot to write that Intellibox II do have limited function if you use MM and mfx.
MM: 80 adresses and 14 speed steps
mfx: 255 adresses and 14 speed steps


Uh??????

Intellibox II supports 255 addresses with MM, 9999 addresses with DCC and 0 addresses with mfx!
Offline Goofy  
#15 Posted : 25 August 2018 19:26:08(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,029
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
I forgot to write that Intellibox II do have limited function if you use MM and mfx.
MM: 80 adresses and 14 speed steps
mfx: 255 adresses and 14 speed steps


Uh??????

Intellibox II supports 255 addresses with MM, 9999 addresses with DCC and 0 addresses with mfx!


Well...in the manual it does stand MM 1-80 while mfx 1-255.

DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline Purellum  
#16 Posted : 25 August 2018 19:57:59(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,117
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Well...in the manual it does stand MM 1-80 while mfx 1-255.


No.

In the manual it says that if you have an MM-decoder you can have 80 addresses.

In the manual it says that if you have an MFX-decoder you can have 255 addresses.

The addresses will still be from the MM-protocol in both cases.

The Intellibox II doesn't have MFX at all, and thus zero MFX-addresses.

Per.

Cool
If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Purellum
Offline H0  
#17 Posted : 25 August 2018 20:22:29(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,499
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post
The Intellibox II doesn't have MFX at all, and thus zero MFX-addresses.
Just wait till they ship the MFU:
https://www.uhlenbrock.de/de_DE/...ntryInfo=0004.0.i005ab42

Intellibox II goes mfx with the MFU ...

Edited by moderator 26 August 2018 01:07:24(UTC)  | Reason: Fixed the url (only part of it was hyperlinked)

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline Purellum  
#18 Posted : 25 August 2018 20:39:45(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,117
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Intellibox II goes mfx with the MFU


Since Goofy referred to the Intellibox II manual, I presume he meant the existing Intellibox II; not a still not existing ad-on.

Even if he did refer to the MFU; the correct number of MFX-addresses will definitely not be 255, and not with 14 speed steps.

Per.

Cool


If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Purellum
Offline Goofy  
#19 Posted : 26 August 2018 10:20:04(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,029
Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post


Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Well...in the manual it does stand MM 1-80 while mfx 1-255.


No.

In the manual it says that if you have an MM-decoder you can have 80 addresses.

In the manual it says that if you have an MFX-decoder you can have 255 addresses.


Per.



And??
That´s exactly what i did wrote about Intellibox II manual.
MM=1-80
mfx=1-255
Both of it speed step 14.
I did referred.

DCC means Digital Command Control.

Offline Bigdaddynz  
#20 Posted : 26 August 2018 12:10:20(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,691
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
That´s exactly what i did wrote about Intellibox II manual.


Yes, but you wrote it wrong!

The protocol in use in both cases is MM, as Per pointed out.

Originally Posted by: Purellum Go to Quoted Post

In the manual it says that if you have an MM-decoder you can have 80 addresses.

In the manual it says that if you have an MFX-decoder you can have 255 addresses.

The addresses will still be from the MM-protocol in both cases.

The Intellibox II doesn't have MFX at all, and thus zero MFX-addresses.
Offline Purellum  
#21 Posted : 26 August 2018 19:02:43(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,117
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse
Cool

Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
That´s exactly what i did wrote about Intellibox II manual.
MM=1-80
mfx=1-255
Both of it speed step 14.
I did referred.


No, you replied to Bigdaddynz's statement about how many addresses is supported by Intellibox II; but you are wrong.

What you write is the capabilities of the different decoders:

Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
I forgot to write that Intellibox II do have limited function if you use MM and mfx.
MM: 80 adresses and 14 speed steps
mfx: 255 adresses and 14 speed steps


Uh??????

Intellibox II supports 255 addresses with MM, 9999 addresses with DCC and 0 addresses with mfx!


Well...in the manual it does stand MM 1-80 while mfx 1-255.



Per.

Cool

If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Purellum
Offline David Dewar  
#22 Posted : 27 August 2018 11:48:17(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 6,717
Location: Scotland
What our Goofy says in all these threads is anything is better that Marklin. I have no idea if there is site for intellibox users but if there is then that would probably be the best place for info on their system and the best place to get a demonstration.
Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.996 seconds.