Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Poor Skeleton  
#1 Posted : 13 January 2018 23:28:03(UTC)
Poor Skeleton

United Kingdom   
I've just been looking through the new items for this year, and most of the new locomotives feature the so-called "new generation" motor.

I expect there must be a few out there from last year's offerings, so I was wondering if there is a noticeable change in performance compared to the old style motors? Is the maximum speed a bit more realistic, and how is the slow speed running?

I'd be really interested to hear any observations.

All the best

Chris
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Poor Skeleton
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 14 January 2018 08:23:42(UTC)
H0

I have no own experience, but with many models it shows a motor with bell-shaped armature. That sounds good and I expect better slow-speed running.

You no longer replace brushes. now you replace the motor when the brushes are worn. This could be a disadvantage for people who run their trains intensively. But we have to wait for long-term experience.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Danlake  
#3 Posted : 14 January 2018 09:33:53(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
I was initially sceptic of the modern style can motors fitted in many locos these days.

But after having tried them in many Roco locos I must admit the driving performance is similiar with the older style Marklin 5 pole motors.

I actually prefers the can motors now as I find them much more quiet, which makes sound decoder much more powerful instead of hearing a “grinding gear” noise...

Brgds Lasse