Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline jbblunck  
#1 Posted : 03 January 2018 21:04:06(UTC)
jbblunck

United States   
This will be a digital, C-track layout. I'm building a 15x20 foot oval with a single track except for a second track along one of the the 20' sides. Approximately 90 feet of track total. Six switches. Three or four decouplers. Four to six signals. Everything will be controlled digitally. I'll be running no more than two locomotives at the same time. These will be digitally upgraded Marklin locomotives from the late 50s/early 60s: one a 4-6-2 with smoke, the second a 3021 diesel. Signals should stop the locomotives when necessary. There won't be any other layout accessorizing, though passenger cars may be lit internally.

I'm new to the digital way of things. My Marklin Super transformer gave up the ghost long ago.

Will this be the right complement of control and power hardware:

-- 60657 Mobile Station
-- 60116 Digital Connector Box
-- 60065 50VA switched mode power pack for 120 volts
-- appropriate turnouts with decoders
-- appropriate signals with decoders
-- 60842 m84 Decoder (don't really understand what this does)

Does power/data enter the track through one feeder point? Or is there additional wiring to additional feeder points? Does this require more boxes that need direct power?

This will be a tricky installation -- I won't be able to easily get to wiring after the layout is complete.

Anything else? Remember I know nothing about this other than what I'm gleaning from the Marklin catalog. I don't see a need for a Central Station.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Offline DaleSchultz  
#2 Posted : 03 January 2018 22:11:51(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States