Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline vascorey  
#1 Posted : 05 February 2017 21:05:21(UTC)
vascorey

Dear Friends,

(Disclaimer: I am a newbie in train modelling and was not able to find anwers online. Please bear with me :))

I have recently inherited several Marklin parts (photos available in links below). None of it is working and I am unsure on whether the problem lies on the locomotives, the track that is connected to the Power Adapter or in the cabling itself.

What I know, so far, is that the Power Adapter is seemingly working and outputting 10 to 20V AC (I was surprised that it outputs AC and not DC), which I measured with a multimeter.

I would like to know how can I make a simple debugging using the tools I have - the multimeter + basic tools. My key questions are:
1) Is the Power Adapter output normal - i.e., should it be DC? is 20V an OK value?
2) How do I measure voltage when the top of track is facing up (where is ground and where is charge?)
3) Is there any way I can directly connect the Power Adapter to the locomotives to check if they are working - i.e., not through the track
4) In case I can connect the Power Adapter to the locomotives and they do not run, are there any likely easily solvable reasons for it not to work - i.e., can you recommend a basic repair guide

Can any of you recommend a simple, basic tutorial to answer these questions?

Regards,
V

The photos are available below:

Power adapter:
https://goo.gl/photos/ddRuKKQZtwgeS9uD7

Locomotives:
https://goo.gl/photos/GpF5ygKF2UVPKDws7

Offline franciscohg  
#2 Posted : 05 February 2017 22:03:54(UTC)
franciscohg

Chile   
hello, welcome to the wonderful world of 3 rail AC Marklin (ongoing topic about that somewhere in the forum)