Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Carim  
#1 Posted : 31 August 2016 10:29:03(UTC)
Carim

United Kingdom   
The station that my layout has take inspiration from is visited by a number of EuroCity trains. The ones going to Switzerland can be easily modelled using Marklin’s 87662 set but that leaves the ECs going to Austria. The old Marklin 87342 set is about as rare as a unicorn (I saw one set sold on eBay for Euro 299), plus I wanted a rake in the latest colours. Therefore, I was going to have to scratch build or do a conversion. As I have never done something like this before, I thought it might be easier to convert existing coaches.

After comparing a number of photos of the prototype and Marklin models, I thought that 8740 could be converted into an Ampz with just a simple re-paint and 8758 could be converted into a representation of a Bmz by cutting two new windows into each carriage and a paint job.

8758 in orginal colours.jpg
8758 - the basis for a Bmz

8740 in original colours.jpg
8740 - the basis for the Ampz