Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline kokomo  
#1 Posted : 02 July 2016 22:17:42(UTC)
kokomo

Argentina   
Hello everybody

I am a long time DC modeller, but decided to switch to 3-rail world not so long ago after I "inherited" an SBB/CFF starter model equipped with a digital locomotive and control (both shown).

The set came with C-track, which is rather easy to wire, and this is my first attempt using K-track.

I am trying to build a simple stub track, length around 140 cm long, where I can test my locomotives and I have some unforeseen difficulties wiring it.

UserPostedImage

I welded solid copper wire (red) to the center rail at each side of this test-track and I used some Atlas rail feeders I had for supplying electricity to the outer rails (black).

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

The thing is after connecting the trafo and the Mobile Station to the little grey box and both corresponding wires, the loco does not move at all. As if the MS did not recognize it at all. I know this connection is not definite but I want just to know if electrically is viable and without any short circuit.

What am i doing wrong here? Confused I thought it was dead easy Glare I know that some extra soldering needs to be done to some tiny gaps at the track but I have placed the loco on every single part of the track and the result is the same. Cursing

Any suggestion is really welcome
Modeling Central European trains. Eras III, IV and V
Mostly UserPostedImage UserPostedImage UserPostedImage but can also get some French or Italian articles too
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 02 July 2016 23:06:46(UTC)
H0

Hi!
Originally Posted by: kokomo Go to Quoted Post
I thought it was dead easy
It should be easy.
Does the loco move on C track?