Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline loderunner  
#1 Posted : 18 September 2014 23:12:54(UTC)
loderunner

Canada   
Joined: 15/12/2012(UTC)
Posts: 40
I just recieved Maerklin Webnews. According to this, there is an updated new manual for CS2 available from German edition only. Follow this link to down this manual: http://www.maerklin.de/j...MTM=&subscr=NTQ0NjU= . There is no word yet when the english version of the manual will be avaialable.

loderunner
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 19 September 2014 10:21:30(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,279
Location: DE-NW
Many pages of the new manual indicate that additional information was available on maerklin.de or maerklin.com without giving directions where on the sites the information can be found. Very useful. A verbatim English translation of the manual would be less useful as much of the additional information on the websites is available in German only.
Many pages of the manual say that additional information was available in the help system of the CS2. The English help system typically contains less or older information than the German help system.

The method of uploading loco icons as described in the manual does not work with version 3.6.2 or 3.7.0 (but may work again with future versions).
On page 18 they write the input voltage may be between 16 V DC and 24 V DC (AC is not mentioned here). On page 9 they write that input voltage may be between 14 V DC and 24 V DC or may be 16 V AC. And also on page 9 they write that input voltage must not exceed 17 V AC or 24 V DC. Contradictions within the manual ...

IMHO a new CS2 manual is long overdue. A verbatim translation of the new manual will be much better than the old manual even if additional information is not available in English.
It seems the text was written in July ("Stand 07/2014"), the PDF was created in August. It seems the screen shots show version 3.6.2.

Once again they publish a German manual without hiring a native German as proofreader (High German is a foreign language for most people in Swabia). Spelling is not too bad, but the order of words is not always good and punctuation is somewhat queer.
Maybe they'll get a professional proofreader for the English version.

The new manual is a giant leap forward (with some imperfections though).
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline Harvey  
#3 Posted : 20 September 2014 01:23:16(UTC)
Harvey

United States   
Joined: 17/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 595
Location: Glen Oaks, N.Y.
Would be nice if they asked Jeff to translate. Or, at the minimum, have him review. I as sure he is busy but it would be a great service to the non-German clients

Harvey
Offline sjlauritsen  
#4 Posted : 20 September 2014 07:05:30(UTC)
sjlauritsen

Denmark   
Joined: 18/08/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,081
Location: Denmark
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
The new manual is a giant leap forward (with some imperfections though).

They also introduce a fascinating new concept on page 19: "DCC gleis" (DCC track). Apparently DCC track is a track without a center stud, but the rails are used as 0 and B respectively. Very clever. There is also "Spur 1-gleis" and "LGB-gleis", which is kind of the same thing. I wonder what I need to do if I want to run mfx on my layout, I do not see a connection diagram for a mfx track...

Anyway, it kind of reminds me of something the rest of the World refers to as 2-rail. Cool (which is also the term used in the rest of the manual - to be fair)

(reading this, you may have been exposed to sarcasm)
Søren from Denmark
Blog: https://railway.zone/ | Danish Model Railway Forum: https://baneforum.dk/
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by sjlauritsen
H0
Offline H0  
#5 Posted : 20 September 2014 07:56:57(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,279
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: sjlauritsen Go to Quoted Post
Anyway, it kind of reminds me of something the rest of the World refers to as 2-rail.
Also pay attention to page 9: Central Station 2 may be used with scale N 1:160, scale H0 1:87, scale 1 1:32 and scale G 1:22.5.
I assume using it with scale Z or scale 0 will void the warranty of the Central Station 2.

I don't know if the Central Station can safely be used with Märklin rolling stock: the ICE 3 is 1:89, ICE 1 and 2 are even shorter, the "Adler" is 1:80.
When I saw page 9 two days ago I thought I might ask Märklin Service about this problem.

Will there be a new Central Station for Z scale? Or just a new manual for the old CS2?
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Alberto Pedrini  
#6 Posted : 20 September 2014 08:38:13(UTC)
Alberto Pedrini

Italy   
Joined: 02/07/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,448
Location: Italy
Agree with all above about translation and bugs, but connect the CS2 to a Z layout I think is not a good idea BigGrin

UserPostedImage
Alberto

Marklinfan Club Italia
www.marklinfan.net
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Alberto Pedrini
Offline H0  
#7 Posted : 20 September 2014 09:35:03(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,279
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Alberto Pedrini Go to Quoted Post
but connect the CS2 to a Z layout I think is not a good idea BigGrin
Many people have digital Z gauge layouts. And in the latest poll Märklin asked their customers about going digital with Z gauge.
So maybe in 2015 or 2016 or so we will see digital Z gauge locos in the Märklin catalogue - or at least locos with a decoder socket.

Maybe we will also see new power supplies with lower voltages for those smaller gauges (N and Z).
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline sjlauritsen  
#8 Posted : 20 September 2014 21:15:23(UTC)
sjlauritsen

Denmark   
Joined: 18/08/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,081
Location: Denmark
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
I don't know if the Central Station can safely be used with Märklin rolling stock: the ICE 3 is 1:89, ICE 1 and 2 are even shorter, the "Adler" is 1:80.
When I saw page 9 two days ago I thought I might ask Märklin Service about this problem.

LOL! Please ask them! I dare you! Laugh

Btw. can I use my "Selectrix Track" with the new DCC track?

Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Will there be a new Central Station for Z scale? Or just a new manual for the old CS2?

There will not be a Central Station for Z scale, but a Z scale Central Station... BigGrin
Anyway, someone should ask the customer support if the CS is compatible with 1:100 or 1:93,5 scale coaches... LOL

Søren from Denmark
Blog: https://railway.zone/ | Danish Model Railway Forum: https://baneforum.dk/
Offline H0  
#9 Posted : 21 September 2014 20:03:42(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 15,279
Location: DE-NW
The manual indicates you can tap the "?" button any time to get more information inside the CS2.

The Internet update was updated with version 3.6.2 - and here's the help screen as of version 3.7.0:
CS2 Help Screen
The help is very compact, you cannot accuse them of verbosity or logorrhea.
BTW: It's a verbatim translation of the German help screen.

The setup screen has been around for a while and here you find additional information:
CS2 Help Screen
It's a pity that all buttons were renamed with version 3.6.2 - as of version 3.7.0 no-one found time to update the help for this page.
"Update program" is now "Update" => "Internet" (of course requires a "functioning Internet-Verbindung") or "Update" => "USB Stick".
"Restart" is now "Reboot". "Shutdown" is now "Quit".
They didn't promise "current information" or "useful information", they just promised "additional information". And with one out of two test cases there was additional information. LOL
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
Central Station 2 stuck on STOP (Digital)
by mattj70 25/02/2024 12:58:53(UTC)
New software: TrainControl for Marklin Central Station 2 and 3 (Model railroad software)
by moman2 10/11/2023 23:20:03(UTC)
Central station 2 (Digital)
by Antonio21 16/03/2023 16:50:54(UTC)
MU Consist on Central Station 2 (H0-scale)
by Jan Havenga 03/11/2022 18:47:05(UTC)
Central Station 2 (Digital)
by Barby & Stan 15/08/2021 23:07:02(UTC)
TCP ports in the Central Station 2/3 (Digital)
by fosuna 18/02/2021 07:27:43(UTC)
New hear- Central Station 2 and my 1 gauge locomotives (Big scale)
by Simone458 26/09/2020 02:23:22(UTC)
Solved - Will a Central station 2 or 3 automatically recognize a Loksound V 4.0 decoder (General MRR)
by river6109 11/03/2020 03:57:58(UTC)
central station 2 for DCC 2 rail (Digital)
by daafies 18/09/2017 20:27:01(UTC)
Compatibility between Central station 2 (60125) and Trix Mobile Station 1. (Digital)
by Gustavo Villa 11/09/2012 16:27:02(UTC)
Ipod Touch + Märklin Central station 2 (Digital)
by Christoffer 03/01/2012 15:27:38(UTC)
Central Station 2 Overload (Digital)
by Brian Sprowell 26/06/2011 07:57:17(UTC)
Ha Noi - Vietnam, Hanoi Central Station 2011 (Prototype)
by Yumgui 11/06/2011 23:35:04(UTC)
new images on the central station 2 (H0-scale)
by FPMarklin 02/01/2011 01:21:36(UTC)
Buy or not Central Station 2 (60214) ? (Digital)
Belarus anthpao 29/07/2010 20:41:03(UTC)
Central Station 2 CAN View Window (Digital)
by johnhmccauley 19/04/2009 01:36:08(UTC)
Update for Central Station 2 ?????? (Digital)
by TomB 26/03/2009 20:44:28(UTC)
Central Station 2 Upgrades (Digital)
by James 28/01/2009 02:48:03(UTC)
Is Central Station 2 ready for prime time??? (Digital)
by Larry 29/09/2008 20:17:29(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.636 seconds.