Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages<123>
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline hwestl  
#51 Posted : 23 November 2015 11:26:03(UTC)
hwestl

Sweden   
Joined: 13/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 82
Location: Ystad, Sweden
I would also like to thank Mixy for a wonderful program. I'm in the planning stage of my new layout, and SCARM is a very useful tool.
I also enjoy the simple but very "educational" tutorials on the scarm.info site.

Some wishes, now when I have discovered that I have been doing some bad thinking/planning

When I want to add a new track to an existing one, I would like to have the new track to pickup "info" from the connected track, like in this example.
I wanted to adjust my hidden yard, deleted some tracks and add new one.
The new track doesn't get the color, that it's inside a tunnel, and doesn't get connected to the same layer.
I would like the new track to get all that info.
Or maybe I'm doing it wrong. Has happened before... Laugh

Thanks anyway for a great planning tool
Håkan

scarm.jpg
Offline petestra  
#52 Posted : 23 November 2015 12:57:02(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 27/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 5,776
Location: Leesburg,VA.USA
Hello, Hakan. Do you know if the new Märklin wide radius points have been added to the SCARM Program?
Peter
Offline hwestl  
#53 Posted : 23 November 2015 13:03:57(UTC)
hwestl

Sweden   
Joined: 13/10/2007(UTC)
Posts: 82
Location: Ystad, Sweden
Originally Posted by: petestra Go to Quoted Post
Hello, Hakan. Do you know if the new Märklin wide radius points have been added to the SCARM Program?
Peter


Hallo Peter
Yes, they are included BigGrin
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by hwestl
Offline dominator  
#54 Posted : 24 November 2015 05:01:42(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,185
Location: Kerikeri
Hi Mixy, thanks for sending that link. I am up an running now but I have a problem. I have been following Ruuds Tutorials but where he demonstrated clicking on the height, I cant get any further. He seems to say "When I click with my mouse wheel on this number, I can start rotating and I can see all the other numbers increasing. "
This is the point where I may not be following because no matter what I do. a cant get the numbers to increase.

Dereck

ps working with M track
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline Mixy  
#55 Posted : 24 November 2015 07:57:19(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
@Hakan: OK, I will consider this and may change the default behavior in some of the next versions of SCARM.

@Dereck: You need to select the track first, then select one of its height markers. Then you will be able to change (increase) the height with the mouse wheel or '>' key.

Mixy
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Angus  
#56 Posted : 24 November 2015 07:57:58(UTC)
Angus

South Africa   
Joined: 27/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 202
Location: Johannesburg
Hi Dereck

I assume you're doing an incline. You need to highlight the section of track that you would like to put the incline on, click on the 'height' box and then by using the mouse wheel increase the height. The height at the other end of the highlighted section will not change but all the heights in between will adjust. As you increase the height, you will also be given a gradient %. Remember that turnouts cannot be on an incline.
Offline dominator  
#57 Posted : 24 November 2015 09:26:16(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,185
Location: Kerikeri
Hi Angus. I think you have hit the nail on the head. When I outlined the track, it overlaid on a point as well. Maybe that's what was wrong. I will have another go. Good program though isn't it. Just my computer skills are seriously lacking.
WHATS THAT BIKE. I own Norton Commandos. I am also P.S. of our local band.

Hi Mixy. Many thanks again. My simple brain needs coaxing from the lower scales. We'll get there eventually.

Dereck
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline dominator  
#58 Posted : 24 November 2015 21:04:21(UTC)
dominator

New Zealand   
Joined: 20/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1,185
Location: Kerikeri
WAS up to all hours last night playing with scarm. Awsome.
Dereck
Northland. NZ REMEMBER 0228 for ä
Offline Mixy  
#59 Posted : 19 December 2015 16:11:55(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Thank you, Dereck :)

And here is the list with SCARM railroad blog posts for November.

See also the recently published Virtual HO-Scale railcars with military vehicles, which are suitable for representing military trains for those, who are creating layouts with military bases.

UserPostedImage

Mixy
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#60 Posted : 08 January 2016 15:35:10(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
And here is the list with SCARM railroad blog posts for December.

Don't miss the last post for 2015 which is representing the beautiful Badalona train station in N scale as virtual model in SCARM :)

UserPostedImage

Mixy
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline nitramretep  
#61 Posted : 08 January 2016 16:46:20(UTC)
nitramretep

United States   
Joined: 22/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 207
Location: lower hudson valley, ny
SCARM is a great tool and free! I cannot tell you how much it helped me with my first layout in C track. It made sense of a lot of the tricky connections and switches. Donating to them is a great way of saying thanks!
Offline Mixy  
#62 Posted : 19 February 2016 19:46:03(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Thank you, Nitramretep :)

And here is the only post in SCARM Railroad Modeling Blog for January:

Reset SCARM Settings to Defaults

Use the method, described above if you want to revert to default settings and/or if you have troubles when starting the program - resetting can be of help.

Now I am finishing and testing some new features in SCARM and the next version, with many new and updated track libraries will be released soon, I hope :)

Mixy
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#63 Posted : 18 March 2016 18:57:12(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Check the recently published post in the blog about Various Tanks & Water Towers in HO Scale and use these in your own layouts.

UserPostedImage

And the SCARM Model Railroad Blog post for February is about possible Discrepancy Between Elements on the Layout and the Parts List - check it to see what are the most common causes for that.

Mixy
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#64 Posted : 22 April 2016 17:46:12(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
The new version SCARM 0.9.32 is ready and published, coming with new Flip and Rotate features and many new and updated track libraries. Read more details here:

SCARM Model Railroad Layout Software 0.9.32 Released

This version also fixes several annoying bugs that may appear in the older releases, so update is recommended :)

Mixy
thanks 6 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#65 Posted : 13 May 2016 17:25:30(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Here are the SCARM Railroad Blog posts for March and April.

The next version of the program is on the the way, so check the SCARM website regularly :)

Mixy
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#66 Posted : 21 May 2016 08:54:54(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
For those of you who want to play with SCARM track planning software on a mobile device, this may be of help:

Using SCARM on iPad and Android Tablets

UserPostedImage

Mixy
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#67 Posted : 10 June 2016 15:07:49(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
The new SCARM v. 0.9.33 is ready and published, coming with several new features and updated track libraries. Read more details here:

SCARM Model Railroad Track Planning Software 0.9.33 Released

Hope you will like it :)

Mixy
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#68 Posted : 25 June 2016 16:03:56(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#69 Posted : 15 July 2016 21:59:18(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Here is explained How to Recover a Project File After Crash or Power Failure and to restore your SCARM track plan to the last autosave state. I hope you do not have to use that feature, but... just in case.

And here are the SCARM model railroading blog posts for June.

Mixy
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#70 Posted : 05 August 2016 18:09:20(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Here are listed the SCARM Railroad Hobby Blog posts for July.

Don't miss the last QuickTip about how to perform Fast Selection of Sequential Tracks in 2D editing mode.

Mixy
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Jabez  
#71 Posted : 12 September 2016 03:20:38(UTC)
Jabez

Belgium   
Joined: 30/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 636
Location: Brussels
What an excellent program and, importantly, very clear and helpful tutorials. Thank you.
I heard that lonesome whistle blow. Hank Williams
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Jabez
Offline MKOpSeattle  
#72 Posted : 15 September 2016 05:06:03(UTC)
MKOpSeattle

United States   
Joined: 29/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 142
Location: Seattle, WA
I discovered this program about two weeks ago and since then I've been spending hours every night designing my layout.

Thank you so very much for such a great program.

I do run into an issue. I was using Windows XP and had no problem. I got a new computer with Windows 10 and then I noticed that I can't resize the layout. It is either full screen or minimized to a small box of about 1.5 inch x 0.5 inch. When I was running Windows XP, I was switching between my layout and the Q&A from the SCARM website by just clicking the windows. Now I have to minimize or maximize my layout to do that. A minor inconvenience. Has this been covered in a post?
Offline Mixy  
#73 Posted : 16 September 2016 17:05:08(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Is that small box looking like the one below?

UserPostedImage

(snapshot from Windows 7, but Windows 10 should be similar)

If so, you need to place the mouse pointer over the right bottom corner of the box - it will change to double arrow for resizing. Click and drag the window to resize it and then set it to the preferred shape and position on the screen.

Mixy
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#74 Posted : 16 September 2016 17:12:24(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
And now for the new version :)

SCARM v. 0.9.34 is ready and published. It comes with new and updated track libraries and also with a new extension module - the brand new Model Trains Simulator.

Read more details here:

Model Railroad Layout Designer SCARM 0.9.34 Released

UserPostedImage

The Starter Edition of the simulator is intended for simple 2D and 3D simulations of various operations on the track plans, designed in SCARM. It will show you how the model rolling stock can be operated on a real layout, before buying even a single track.

UserPostedImage

In this way, you can check the concept of your plan and to discover potential design issues before start the construction of a real layout. And like SCARM, this edition of the simulator is completely free :)

Please note: the simulator is not directly bundled into SCARM installer. If you want to test it, you must install the latest version of SCARM first and then to use "Extensions" > "Browse for Extensions" menu command in the program in order to download and install the required files.

The simulator opens a whole new world in SCARM universe and I hope that you will like it :)

Mixy
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline MKOpSeattle  
#75 Posted : 17 September 2016 03:00:29(UTC)
MKOpSeattle

United States   
Joined: 29/12/2013(UTC)
Posts: 142
Location: Seattle, WA
Originally Posted by: Mixy Go to Quoted Post
Is that small box looking like the one below?

UserPostedImage

(snapshot from Windows 7, but Windows 10 should be similar)

If so, you need to place the mouse pointer over the right bottom corner of the box - it will change to double arrow for resizing. Click and drag the window to resize it and then set it to the preferred shape and position on the screen.

Mixy


That's it. Thank you for your help.BigGrin BigGrin
Offline chuckwow  
#76 Posted : 28 December 2016 23:52:41(UTC)
chuckwow

United States   
Joined: 22/12/2016(UTC)
Posts: 1
Location: nowthen, mn
Mixy,
I've read through this thread but I have seen no mention of catenary.
Does the program create catenary for Makklin C layouts?

Thanks
Lynn
Offline Jabez  
#77 Posted : 01 January 2017 03:32:23(UTC)
Jabez

Belgium   
Joined: 30/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 636
Location: Brussels
Originally Posted by: Mixy Go to Quoted Post

And don’t miss thevideo tutorial series for beginners by Ruud Boer, even if you’re already an experienced SCARM user - there is always something new to be learned :)
Mixy

I really like Ruud Boer's tutorials, better than the others.

I heard that lonesome whistle blow. Hank Williams
Offline Mixy  
#78 Posted : 03 March 2017 18:17:04(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
The new SCARM v. 0.9.35 is ready and published! It comes with many new and updated track libraries, many bugfixes and more powerful Model Trains Simulator extension. See more about the new version here:

SCARM Track Planning Software 0.9.35 Released

UserPostedImage

Together with the new release, a new part of the website is also launched - it is a database with Virtual Rolling Stock for use in the MTS PE extension.

UserPostedImage

Hope you will like all new stuff about SCARM ;)

---

@chuckwow: There is no build-in option for catenary yet, but there are some attempts for making masts and wires, like this one Marklin M-tracks layout design:

Nostalgic Marklin HO M-Track Layout

UserPostedImage

Mixy
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline ocram63_uk  
#79 Posted : 05 March 2017 00:13:28(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 584
Location: England, Suffolk
Hi everyone,
can I run this software on Ubuntu?
Thank you
Marco
Offline ocram63_uk  
#80 Posted : 05 March 2017 00:15:01(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 584
Location: England, Suffolk
sorry!!! just went to the download page and Ubuntu is not mentioned.
I'll have to use VirtualBox to run it.
Thank you
Marco
Online thomasm  
#81 Posted : 05 March 2017 09:57:22(UTC)
thomasm

Norway   
Joined: 14/05/2013(UTC)
Posts: 75
Originally Posted by: ocram63_uk Go to Quoted Post
sorry!!! just went to the download page and Ubuntu is not mentioned.
I'll have to use VirtualBox to run it.


Hi Marco,
You can run this WINE. Just download the binary, run the installer in WINE and you are set to go :)
The only thing i have noticed not working well is the 3D view.

.thomas
Märklinist, hobbyist and collector. || Trains are meant to be driven.
Offline ocram63_uk  
#82 Posted : 06 March 2017 09:21:21(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 584
Location: England, Suffolk
Hi Thomas,
thank you for the hint. I prefer using VirtualBox and XP, at least I know what I'm talking about :-)
I want to try if the same XP license allows me to download a Windows 7 image from the MS website.
Interesting tool indeed!!!
Marco
Offline Mixy  
#83 Posted : 10 March 2017 18:59:26(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
IMPORTANT!

A bug was reported and confirmed in the last version of SCARM that may prevent starting of the program on some computers. The patched version of the program was released today. Please upgrade to SCARM 0.9.36, which can be downloaded from www.scarm.info to fix the issue.

See more about this bug-fix update in the following blog post: SCARM v. 0.9.36 Released.

I am sorry if the bugs caused any problems and inconvenience in your work with SCARM. If you see another problems, please report them here or in SCARM Blog and I will try to fix them ASAP.

Mixy
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#84 Posted : 24 March 2017 21:18:03(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Here are the SCARM model railroading blog posts for February.

For those, who already got the MTS Power Edition - there is an easy way to stack all virtual vehicles in the sim in a single column. See how here:

Showing Vehicles From All Libraries Together

UserPostedImage

Mixy
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#85 Posted : 13 April 2017 22:28:31(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
And here are listed the model train articles for March in the SCARM blog.

Check also one video about a new feature in the MTS PE, that I am working on - it's a Driver's Camera Viewing mode and should be ready for the next release of SCARM.

UserPostedImage

Mixy
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Mixy  
#86 Posted : 01 May 2017 17:51:20(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
The new SCARM v. 0.9.37 is ready and published, coming with some new options, many small bugfixes, improved stability and one new cool feature for the MTS Power Edition. Read more details here:

SCARM Model Railroad Layout Design software 0.9.37 Released

Hope you will like it :)

Mixy
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline Danlake  
#87 Posted : 01 May 2017 18:36:21(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,564
Hi Mixy,

The new feature with driving camera view is a great addition to the software and also reasonable priced.

SCARM has always been might favourite track planning program.

Keep up the great developmentThumpUp

Brgds Lasse
Digital 11m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS3 60226 / Train Controller Gold 9 with 4D sound. Mainly Danish and German Locomotives.
Offline Mixy  
#88 Posted : 26 May 2017 22:24:57(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Thank you Lasse :)

Here are the SCARM model train blog posts for April.

If some of you have an older version of SCARM that is not yet updated or does not start correctly, please, update to the latest version - see the article about v. 0.9.37. It fixes many bugs, it is very robust and runs flawless on all Windows platforms from XP up to the latest Windows 10.

Mixy
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline White Buffalo  
#89 Posted : 03 June 2017 15:42:56(UTC)
White Buffalo

United States   
Joined: 29/12/2016(UTC)
Posts: 414
Location: South Dakota
Thank you Mixi BigGrin

I'm a first time user of this program. Just getting my feet wet. It sure looks great!

Vielen dank,

Rich
Offline Mixy  
#90 Posted : 04 August 2017 14:12:12(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
The brand new SCARM version is ready and published. Read more about it here:

SCARM v. 1.0 Milestone Released

That Milestone version starts a new epoch in the developing of SCARM. Get ready for many new functions and features that will come with the next updates and the future SCARM extensions!

Mixy
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by Mixy
Offline loderunner  
#91 Posted : 10 August 2017 17:05:15(UTC)
loderunner

Canada   
Joined: 15/12/2012(UTC)
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by: Mixy Go to Quoted Post
The brand new SCARM version is ready and published. Read more about it here:

SCARM v. 1.0 Milestone Released

That Milestone version starts a new epoch in the developing of SCARM. Get ready for many new functions and features that will come with the next updates and the future SCARM extensions!

Mixy


Mixy,Why you are not telling people on this forum that SCRAM is not free any more. It costs about US$ 30. Once updated to SCRAM 1.0 one cannot get back the free version. SCRAM website has erased all previous versions for download.

Offline Mixy  
#92 Posted : 10 August 2017 17:16:59(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by: loderunner Go to Quoted Post
Mixy, Why you are not telling people on this forum that SCRAM is not free any more.


Well, I am telling exactly that in the blog post - you just need to read it:

"Starting from this release, the unregistered version will be limited to work with up to 100 tracks and/or objects and 5 layers per project. This will allow the free use of SCARM for small and some medium-sized track plans and layout designs. But if you want to unlock the full potential of the new version and to plan with unlimited number of tracks, objects and layers, you will need to buy SCARM license key."

And I am telling also:

"Important information for all Model Trains Simulator – Power Edition users who have purchased their MTS PE extensions prior to the release of SCARM v. 1.0.0: You will receive a free SCARM License Key per each MTS PE license that you have already purchased. Your license key will be available and activated in your account in the Registered Users Area."

And something from another post:

"Important information for all users, who donated to SCARM Project before releasing of SCARM v. 1.0.0 Milestone: Send a letter by e-mail to me and state the account (Paypal e-mail) from which you made the donation and you will receive a FREE License Key for the new version of the program."

Mixy

Edited by user 10 August 2017 20:41:40(UTC)  | Reason: Removing multi quote.

Offline loderunner  
#93 Posted : 10 August 2017 17:34:21(UTC)
loderunner

Canada   
Joined: 15/12/2012(UTC)
Posts: 40
Your blog post and this post are two different things.
Offline Mixy  
#94 Posted : 10 August 2017 20:37:52(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
All my posts are always written in the same way - a blog post with all details, followed by a post in the forum with the link to the original article. You just need to read what I am writing and telling.

Mixy
Offline Jabez  
#95 Posted : 10 August 2017 22:09:07(UTC)
Jabez

Belgium   
Joined: 30/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 636
Location: Brussels
I think what Loderunner was getting at is that if someone has previously used an earlier freeware version of Scarm, using much more than 100 track pieces or objects, if they were to update to the 1.0 freeware version then they would lose their previous work and plans unless they paid for registration. This is what your announcement seems to mean to me, at least.
I heard that lonesome whistle blow. Hank Williams
Offline Mixy  
#96 Posted : 10 August 2017 22:29:34(UTC)
Mixy

Bulgaria   
Joined: 12/08/2013(UTC)
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by: Jabez Go to Quoted Post
if they were to update to the 1.0 freeware version then they would lose their previous work and plans unless they paid for registration


No, nothing will be lost. SCARM 1.0 freeware can open all projects created with the previous versions, print them, list the track pieces used, etc. What it cannot do is to continue to edit the projects without paying a license fee.

And that is because I don't want to give my software and support for it for free anymore. I was working over SCARM and sharing it at no cost in the past 7 years. I was quite stupid to believe that more people will donate for my work, especially when all we know how much money costs our hobby. But the donations were too rare and too small while the user requirements were bigger and more complex for the every next version. I was working 2-3 hours each day, now even need to put glasses, and for what??? Well, that's it. If someone wants to continue to use SCARM, let it be so good and pay the license - it is no more than the cost of pair of turnouts.

Mixy
Offline Jabez  
#97 Posted : 11 August 2017 00:46:28(UTC)
Jabez

Belgium   
Joined: 30/08/2016(UTC)
Posts: 636
Location: Brussels
Thank you. That clarifies the situation. Sure, converting freeware to paid-ware is the toughest step of all. But you have a good product and its merits should sell it.
I heard that lonesome whistle blow. Hank Williams
Offline loderunner  
#98 Posted : 11 August 2017 01:22:47(UTC)
loderunner

Canada   
Joined: 15/12/2012(UTC)
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by: Mixy Go to Quoted Post
The brand new SCARM version is ready and published. Read more about it here:

SCARM v. 1.0 Milestone Released

That Milestone version starts a new epoch in the developing of SCARM. Get ready for many new functions and features that will come with the next updates and the future SCARM extensions!

Mixy


Could you please show mw the link to your blog in this post?
Off course you have the right to be paid for your work.
Online PMPeter  
#99 Posted : 11 August 2017 02:50:54(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,205
Location: Port Moody, BC
Mixy,

SCARM is a great product. I used it 4 years ago to design my layout and then again 2 years ago to redesign the layout when I moved it from one room to another. Since then I only use it to test out a modification scenario.

I have always updated SCARM whenever you have announced on this forum that a new version is available and did so again with this version 1.0 milestone with no hesitation. I had no idea that this update would now freeze my design until loderunner's posting appeared today. Like him I am surprised that for the forum members here you did not at least advise us that this update would require a license fee for further updates of track plans greater than 100 pieces. It would have been nice to give us a heads up and give us a choice to stay with an old beta version or pay the fee and get future enhancements.

I'm sure you spent a lot of time developing this software and have every right to start collecting a fee for this development and its future enhancement. I wish you well.

However, for me that now uses it maybe once every half a year to try something or add "notes" on a layer, I cannot justify paying for it now and would have appreciated being able to keep an old version running.

Peter
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline DV  
#100 Posted : 11 August 2017 06:06:56(UTC)
DV

Australia   
Joined: 29/11/2009(UTC)
Posts: 919
Location: Mount Barker, South Australia
Originally Posted by: PMPeter Go to Quoted Post
It would have been nice to give us a heads up and give us a choice to stay with an old beta version


Nope, you couldn't have stayed on the old version.

I have the old version on my laptop and when I try to open the program I get 'This beta version of SCARM is obsolete. Get newer version on www.scarm.info' and sends me straight to the web page.

Doesn't matter what I try, I get the same message.

So to use SCARM free of charge (and under the new rules) you still have to update.

I suppose the only way it might still work is if you were totally offline, no internet connection at all.....is that even possible these daysBigGrin BigGrin BigGrin (don't answer, I'm being facetious Laugh Laugh Laugh )

I did pay the feeThumpUp

Dusan V
'I find your lack of faith (in Märklin) disturbing'
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
3 Pages<123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.873 seconds.