Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ChrisP  
#1 Posted : 07 July 2011 08:39:16(UTC)
ChrisP

As I gradually unpack from long-term storage, clean and test my equipment I've run into a problem with a 7186 turntable. Having removed the housing I can see that there is power to it - the switching clicks and whirrs (I'm not very technical I'm afraid) but the motor doesn't turn. Any suggestions for restoring it would be very welcome.

Chris
Offline kariosls37  
#2 Posted : 07 July 2011 11:49:37(UTC)
kariosls37

New Zealand   
Do you have the wiring diagram? When I first got my TT I didn't know how to wire it properly, which caused a lot of headaches for me.

If it's all wired up correctly, depress the lever on the side and move it so it's somewhere between the tracks. This will activate the motor once you turn on the power.
Some things to look out for are:
Motor brushes - If they are worn or missing, replace them. They are the same as the flat commutator motors on Marklin locos.
wiper contacts - push down on the bridge near to the springs on the opposide of the track from the motor. They can occasionally lose contact.
It might be a good idea to see if the motor can turn.

This is all I can think of without taking a screwdriver to the turntable, but it is a start.

Good luck

Rick
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kariosls37
Offline Renato  
#3 Posted : 08 July 2011 16:42:02(UTC)
Renato

Italy   
Hi Chris,

Try to move manually the rotor of the motor: if it is hard to move it, I suggest you to oil with a drop of oil both supports of the motor.