Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Jay  
#1 Posted : 06 June 2010 20:02:49(UTC)
Jay

South Africa   
Joined: 01/05/2010(UTC)
Posts: 288
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Hi Members

I am new to the forum, and back to my models after a layoff of 34 years. I ran analogue 3003, 3053, 3054, 3047 and 3048 locomotives. I now want to go digital and purchased the starter set 29855, and am now looking at a HAMO 3021 which is going at a reasonable price. For now, I would like to know if I convert this loc to AC and digital Unsure ?

Thanks in anticipation.

Jay
Offline dntower85  
#2 Posted : 06 June 2010 20:23:37(UTC)
dntower85

United States   
Joined: 08/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,218
Location: Shady Shores, TX - USA
Should not too hard just need a pickup shoe and a decoder like a loc-pilot. Most hamos had a place for the pick up shoe so it should not be to hard to install.
DT
Now powered by ECoS II unit#2, RocRail
era - some time in the future when the space time continuum is disrupted and ICE 3 Trains run on the same rails as the Adler and BR18's.
Offline Brakepad  
#3 Posted : 06 June 2010 23:01:26(UTC)
Brakepad

France, Metropolitan   
Joined: 25/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 633
Location: Montlouis sur Loire, France
Jay wrote:
Hi Members

I am new to the forum, and back to my models after a layoff of 34 years. I ran analogue 3003, 3053, 3054, 3047 and 3048 locomotives. I now want to go digital and purchased the starter set 29855, and am now looking at a HAMO 3021 which is going at a reasonable price. For now, I would like to know if I convert this loc to AC and digital Unsure ?

Thanks in anticipation.

Jay


Maybe you can find this link helpful.

It's in spanish but pictures are self-explainig.
check out http://maerklin-back-on-track.blogspot.com if you like to see how old Märklin locos are brought back into life! (in spanish by the moment)
Offline H0  
#4 Posted : 06 June 2010 23:16:46(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,258
Location: DE-NW
The "normal" AC 3021 is quite common and should have better ground contact than a converted HAMO 3021.
So unless the HAMO 3021 is really cheap, I'd rather get a normal 3021 - or the new digital 30210.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline Hemmerich  
#5 Posted : 06 June 2010 23:27:24(UTC)
Hemmerich


Joined: 15/04/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,734
Location: ,
-

Edited by user 20 November 2010 01:52:47(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Frankenbahner  
#6 Posted : 07 June 2010 01:39:36(UTC)
Frankenbahner


Joined: 15/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 624
Location: Nuremberg, Bavaria
Note that Hamo locomotives use special axles, which have to be replaced too when mounting AC wheels.

For the insulating sleeves, these axles are turned down on one side.

Regards,
Florian
H0 3-rail AC with DCC, MM and mfx, 2-rail DC streetcars, and N gauge
Offline Jay  
#7 Posted : 07 June 2010 21:04:57(UTC)
Jay

South Africa   
Joined: 01/05/2010(UTC)
Posts: 288
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Thanks all for your prompt replys! I'll look into the info you have posted. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.589 seconds.