Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline jdk998  
#1 Posted : 06 December 2009 21:38:53(UTC)
jdk998

Hi,

I am relatively new to Marklin trains and am stumped by a simple problem. I have the 29481 SBB starter set that comes with the Mobile Station. I recently purchased a second-hand engine #37071 that states it is digital ready. I programmed it into the Mobile Station via the built-in database, but have been unable to get it to run. Perusing the 37071 manual, I read that the engine is digital compatible but I may have to manually set the address. I opened the engine up and there is a 6090 decoder inside. Is this compatible with the Mobile Station?
Thanks in advance for any comments.
Offline Webmaster  
#2 Posted : 06 December 2009 22:26:15(UTC)
Webmaster

It could be that the former owner has reprogrammed the default address that is present in the MS database. Since you say you have the manual, the manual should state which address is the default one as well as the settings of the DIP-switches on the decoder board for this address. There is no easy "plug'n'play" with 6090 as with the newer mfx decoders.

This means you will have to open the loco (remove the body) to check if the address is the default one and if not - reposition the small DIP-switches so they correspond to the address in the manual.

This is the easiest way, you can also create a new loco in the MS but I think it's easier to just check that the address corresponds to the default one.
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline jdk998  
#3 Posted : 06 December 2009 22:54:36(UTC)
jdk998