Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline joeyn15  
#1 Posted : 19 November 2009 10:07:09(UTC)
joeyn15

Hi, I’m a bit of a rookie in this hobby but I wanted to give it a start and bought a marklin system (mainly from ebay) but I got stuck because the loco is not working on the rest of the system.

I bought a Marklin Hamo 8398, a huge lot of marklin M tracks, transformer and wagons. The problem is that when I connected everything the train didn’t work. Only now I got to know that Hamo trains works on DC and not AC.

I think the best thing to do is to try and convert the train to AC. I was reading that I need a pickup shoe and a lockpilot decoder. Basically I have two questions:

1. the loco has a small pickup pin on its side. Should I place the pickup shoe instead of this pin since its not really at the center of the loco?
2. what model of pickup shoe and lockpilot shall I buy since there are a number of models available for both items?

thanks
Offline tekin65  
#2 Posted : 19 November 2009 10:23:03(UTC)
tekin65

Turkey   
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by joeyn15
<br />1. the loco has a small pickup pin on its side. Should I place the pickup shoe instead of this pin since its not really at the center of the loco?
2. what model of pickup shoe and lockpilot shall I buy since there are a number of models available for both items?

Hi,

The pin is is not for pick-up. It is for using contact tracks on 2 rail layouts. On the underside between the wheels you will see a brown isolator and thin metal piece attached to it; metal piece contacting the wheels. This is the 2 rail pick-up shoe. You need to remove it and install a 3 rail pick-up shoe.