Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline DasBert33  
#1 Posted : 06 June 2009 12:12:22(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Hi all,

About 2 months ago I have pruchased a 37039 BR 38 in DRG livery. It is a very nice and detailed loco, one of the best I have regarding looks.

It has stayed in my displaycase while I was working on my new trainroom. Now that the works are done and the layout is functioning again I had the chance to really use it and test it. To be honest the driving characteristics are somewhat disappointing. I knew from this and other fora that it makes a lot of noise, which I can live with because that's typically Marklin. The thing I have more difficulty with is that the loco can hardly pull anything.
I have the DRG 'langenschwalbacher' set, 4 short, 4 axle coaches. They run very smooth and have little drag due to their shortness, yet my loco has difficulty pulling them over some level curved switches when running slow. It just stops on the curved switch with its wheels that keep turning, it is not an electrical contact issue. I have never seen that with a M loco.
On gradients with a switch in them the situation is even worse.
Is this a known issue with the P8 model, and possibly, is there a known fix for this?

Bert
Offline DamonKelly  
#2 Posted : 06 June 2009 15:14:49(UTC)
DamonKelly

Australia   
Joined: 26/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,410
Location: Brisbane, QLD
If 37039 is the same chassis as the old Hobby 3091 series, check that the front bogie is sitting correctly in the slots in the underside of the body. My 3091 had a similar problem until I re-fitted the front bogie. It was pushing up the front driving wheels, so they didn't give much traction.
--
Cheers,
Damon
Offline Jefferson  
#3 Posted : 06 June 2009 16:50:28(UTC)
Jefferson

United States   
Joined: 03/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 48
Location: Cary, NC
I have the 37038--same problem. It's very aggravating. Mine seems to pull alright, but hangs up at the simplest change in gradient unless running at almost full speed. The front bogie lifts the driving wheels just enough so that the traction tire does not make adequate contact. To confirm that as the problem I removed the front bogie (it sure looked dumb) to make a test run. It ran perfectly! Reinstalling the bogie brought about a return of the problem.

Even more mysterious is the way it hangs up on perfectly straight and level track.

When I first bought it I thought I had just gotten a bad sample, but I returned it and got a replacement. The new one is just as bad. I like the looks of it, but until I can get it running correctly it will get limited use. Having it race around the layout at full tilt is not what I'm interested in. Good luck with yours.
Jeff
Offline intruder  
#4 Posted : 06 June 2009 17:15:14(UTC)
intruder

Norway   
Joined: 16/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 5,532
Location: Akershus, Norway
It seems like the vertical movement of the front bogie is too small.

When the front bogie lifts the locomotive just a little bit, the traction tyres on the front driven wheels looses the grip.
If the wheels with the traction tyres could be moved to the rear driven axel, maybe the problem would be solved.
Or, to grind off a little bit from the front bogie support.
Best regards Svein, Norway
grumpy old sod
Offline intruder  
#5 Posted : 06 June 2009 17:16:26(UTC)
intruder

Norway   
Joined: 16/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 5,532
Location: Akershus, Norway
By the way, nice locomotive.

UserPostedImage
Best regards Svein, Norway
grumpy old sod
Offline Frostie  
#6 Posted : 06 June 2009 17:21:37(UTC)
Frostie

United States   
Joined: 08/08/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,614
Location: Birmingham,Alabama
Ditto for mine as well. I had mone installed with a MFZ sound decoder, but the drive train noise is unbrearable.

The transmission of power between the boiler and the chassis by a non permannent connection is not very good enginering.

And the 3703X is supposed to be new tooling.

The drive train is horrible.

Train Collection Insured by "Croc's" with "Big Boys" as Backup"
CS/MS Digital Era 1/2
Apple Man iPhone / Macbook Pro / iPad - the end of the windows PC occurred on April 4, 2010.
Love those Era 1 Tank Locomotives - the more the merrier.

Offline DasBert33  
#7 Posted : 06 June 2009 18:20:04(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
I will also experiment with removing the front bogie. Maybe it is the tension on the copper spring contact that is a little bit too high, has anyone tried to make it lighter?
Offline Jefferson  
#8 Posted : 06 June 2009 21:14:23(UTC)
Jefferson

United States   
Joined: 03/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 48
Location: Cary, NC
I've removed the spring entirely. It didn't help.
Jeff
Offline hemau  
#9 Posted : 06 June 2009 21:42:06(UTC)
hemau


Joined: 09/01/2007(UTC)
Posts: 612
Location: The Netherlands
Maybe your gradients start to steep. We have a BR38/P8 for ten years now (in fact it was my sons first loc) and it's quite usable for pulling trains (we're not Lutz although this posting seems like one of his ... Smile).
Best regards, Henk.
C and M track; CS1R and 2 MS
Offline DasBert33  
#10 Posted : 06 June 2009 22:29:05(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Jefferson
<br />I've removed the spring entirely. It didn't help.


I did the test myself too. You were absolutely right, without front bogie it runs like it should, with front bogie (spring or not) it stops even at very subtle gradient changes.

This is a very big construction error IMHO. Do all P8 models have this? There have been models from Austria, Belgium, France, Italy, various German examples, its hard to believe they are all flawed like this.

I guess I'm left with the following options:
- sell the loco (anyone interested?)
- use it for display only
- use it in permanent double traction with my 03 or 18.4, if i can match the speed etc.

Now that I know there is nothing to be done about this I'm very disappointed. It was my 2nd most expensive loco ever, and it is not usable on my layout...

Bert
Offline DasBert33  
#11 Posted : 06 June 2009 22:32:51(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by hemau
<br />Maybe your gradients start to steep.


My gradients are relatively steep, I admit that, but it is not the steepness of the gradients that seems to matter, it goes without issue over the steepest parts. But on other (some even level) parts, where no other loco has given troubles before it stops, with spinning wheels.

I wonder if I should send my complains to Marklin.

Bert
Offline trainbuff  
#12 Posted : 06 June 2009 22:48:05(UTC)
trainbuff


Joined: 26/11/2006(UTC)
Posts: 499
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Is this its the same as 37030? If so, unlike yours, my 37030 is a good puller
and it runs very quite. But Like yours there is a small issue with the front
bogie, it sometimes floats and the leading wheels don't turn (not a problem,
just looks funny). The lok is sensitive to abrupt changes in grade or dips in
the track (my layout is across several tables).
Offline DasBert33  
#13 Posted : 06 June 2009 23:12:37(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by trainbuff
<br />Is this its the same as 37030? If so, unlike yours, my 37030 is a good puller
and it runs very quite. But Like yours there is a small issue with the front
bogie, it sometimes floats and the leading wheels don't turn (not a problem,
just looks funny). The lok is sensitive to abrupt changes in grade or dips in
the track (my layout is across several tables).


Yes, it is practically the same.

Hmm it looks funny yes, but if you have to crawl underneath your layout to give a loco a push in a hidden station, the fun goes away quickly.

Offline trainbuff  
#14 Posted : 07 June 2009 00:43:49(UTC)
trainbuff


Joined: 26/11/2006(UTC)
Posts: 499
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by DasBert33
<br />
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by trainbuff
<br />Is this its the same as 37030? If so, unlike yours, my 37030 is a good puller
and it runs very quite. But Like yours there is a small issue with the front
bogie, it sometimes floats and the leading wheels don't turn (not a problem,
just looks funny). The lok is sensitive to abrupt changes in grade or dips in
the track (my layout is across several tables).


Yes, it is practically the same.

Hmm it looks funny yes, but if you have to crawl underneath your layout to give a loco a push in a hidden station, the fun goes away quickly.




Sorry, I meant that the wheels not turning was funny, not getting stuck on a gradient change. Good luck with finding a fix.
Offline DA 800  
#15 Posted : 23 June 2009 01:20:25(UTC)
DA 800

Norway   
Joined: 02/01/2008(UTC)
Posts: 170
Location: Norway
Like several others on this forum I was very disappointed with the loud gear noise from my new P8. I returned it to my dealer and he tried to change the motor but the noise was still there.
I like the loco, so I accepted to keep it with the noise, hoping to be able to fix it myself.

The sound was typically gear noise, so I started to look for gears out of alignment. Surprisingly I found that the gear on the cardan shaft in the chassis frame could be moved more than a millimeter up and down. This could not be correct?

UserPostedImage

After taking the frame apart, I found that the two pastic studs on the lower frame part were too short and not able to push the brass bearing balls to the bottom of their holes in the metal frame. This was causing the motor gear and the cardan shaft gear to have contact with only the tips of the gears.


UserPostedImage

I cut a proper shim and put it between the brass ball and the plastic stud to fill up the gap. Now the cardan shaft gear is in the correct place and ...... the bad noise disappeared!

Now this loco is as silent as my other locomotives with can motors.

- MRR keeps the child in you alive!
Offline trainbuff  
#16 Posted : 23 June 2009 05:11:26(UTC)
trainbuff


Joined: 26/11/2006(UTC)
Posts: 499
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
DA 800 - nice solution.
Offline DasBert33  
#17 Posted : 23 June 2009 10:02:45(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Thanks for posting that.

I will try to do something similar.

Bert
Offline DasBert33  
#18 Posted : 24 June 2009 18:40:10(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Hemmerich
<br />Unortunately the rather low pulling power of this loco could only be changed by adding another or just moving the traction tire wheelset (A) to the end (wheelset C; i.e. underneath the cabin). Unfortunately the wheels need to be pulled off the axle for this change. Hope this info helped too. wink


I sent an email to Marklin (Belgium) about my problem, I got a reply that I should send my loco (through my dealer) to the Marklin repair service with the message: "not enough pulling power".

Lutz, while I don't think raw pulling power is my problem, do you have any idea/clue what they will do if I do send my loco?

Bert
Offline DasBert33  
#19 Posted : 02 January 2010 23:01:00(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Hi all,

Excuses for digging up this old topic. I sent my loco back to M in June, got it back recently and just had to report my findings..

All my pulling power issues have been resolved! Apparantly M equipped it with an additional pair of traction tire equipped wheels. Instead of 2 traction tires my model now has 4: 2 on the front driving axle and 2 on the rear driving axle.. And it runs great now, and no issues with bad contacts whatsoever, not even on my layout that is full of contact track.
So Lutz, you were right that changing/adding the traction tire axles was the solution.

For all people with similar issues with this (or similar) model: there is a solution!

It makes you wonder why the P8 model does not have the 4 traction tires from the factory...

Bert

Offline Bigdaddynz  
#20 Posted : 02 January 2010 23:29:45(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
It will be interesting to see how many tyres the P8 in the 26549 Leig-Enheit set has, when it arrives (this coming week I hope).

The catalog just says it has traction tyres and 3 powered axles.
Offline pa-pauls  
#21 Posted : 02 January 2010 23:48:10(UTC)
pa-pauls


Joined: 08/06/2002(UTC)
Posts: 1,802
Location: Norway
David

My Br.38 fron the set 26549 has only traction tyre on the first axle of the powered axles...
Pål Paulsen
Märklin Digital, DB and SBB Era III
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#22 Posted : 02 January 2010 23:51:39(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
Yikes Pål! When the catalog said 'tyres' (plural) I thought it would have at least 2!

How well does your's drive / pull?
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#23 Posted : 02 January 2010 23:54:03(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by intruder
<br />By the way, nice locomotive.

UserPostedImage



Svein, I noticed that the Marklin Store in Amsterdam has these 0380 locos available for 249 Euros.


http://www.marklinstore-...m.nl/pageID_8909008.html

Offline pa-pauls  
#24 Posted : 02 January 2010 23:56:30(UTC)
pa-pauls


Joined: 08/06/2002(UTC)
Posts: 1,802
Location: Norway
Quote:
Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
Yikes Pål! When the catalog said 'tyres' (plural) I thought it would have at least 2!

How well does your's drive / pull?
Well it has 2 traction tyre's David, 1 on each side of the first axle wink
How it drive / pull I don't know as I haven't really tested it yet [:I]

Edited by user 09 January 2010 19:26:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Pål Paulsen
Märklin Digital, DB and SBB Era III
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by pa-pauls
Offline TroyYang  
#25 Posted : 03 January 2010 00:03:31(UTC)
TroyYang


Joined: 01/04/2009(UTC)
Posts: 157
Location: San Francisco, CA
Looks like I'll stick with my old 3098/3099/3086 for awhile.
Troy
San Francisco, USA
Marklin HO - all eras and everything.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#26 Posted : 03 January 2010 00:15:52(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by pa-pauls
<br />How it drive / pull I don't know as I haven't really tested it yet [:I]



You're as bad as I am, Pål! I buy stuff, then I don't get it out of the box for months.[:I]

Thanks for that info! wink
Offline Webmaster  
#27 Posted : 03 January 2010 01:28:16(UTC)
Webmaster


Joined: 25/07/2001(UTC)
Posts: 10,949
I also have the 37039, and it works well... I have not noticed any problems with it...
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Online river6109  
#28 Posted : 03 January 2010 02:32:31(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,870
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
<br />It will be interesting to see how many tyres the P8 in the 26549 Leig-Enheit set has, when it arrives (this coming week I hope).

The catalog just says it has traction tyres and 3 powered axles.

In the German language, tyre or tyres means the same: Reifen, unless stipulated as e.g. 2 Reifen, one can only assume how many Tractiontyres this loco has.
It could have 1 Haftreifen, 2 Haftreifen or 4 Haftreifen.
Bu not mentioning exactly how many traction tyre(s) this loco has, it may puts buyers off to have too many or not enough.
A marketing strategy ? a politically correct decision ? or just plain: you'll figure it out yourself.

Going back to the original issue: Pulling power and the adverse finding by Märklin to add 2 more traction tyres on the last axle, they've avoided of telling us through the letter our member has received, the real issue or defect the loco is suffering from.
Same effect with the BR 53 (wrong distribution of weight).
We also should'nt fiddle around with worm gears and correct the seating, to reduce the running noise.

Something in the air ? it's not quality design.

regards.,
John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#29 Posted : 03 January 2010 02:34:28(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
John, that was the English language catalog I was quoting from.
Online river6109  
#30 Posted : 03 January 2010 02:47:53(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,870
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
<br />John, that was the English language catalog I was quoting from.

Well in this case it means 2 or more (hopefully)Smile
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Davy  
#31 Posted : 03 January 2010 16:23:19(UTC)
Davy


Joined: 29/08/2003(UTC)
Posts: 1,915
Location: Netherlands
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by Bigdaddynz
<br />
Quote:
[size=1" face="Verdana" id="quote]quote:Originally posted by intruder
<br />By the way, nice locomotive.

UserPostedImage



Svein, I noticed that the Marklin Store in Amsterdam has these 0380 locos available for 249 Euros.


http://www.marklinstore-...m.nl/pageID_8909008.html




I have this set. I bought it when my dealer became a Marklin shop.

I also have three new P8 (br38). One model has sound.

Sound is not the best there is for a steamer.
Pulling power is oke on level grond.
On a steap hill the pulling power is going gone very fast.

Sound of gears you can hear at higher speed.
And it looks like the newer models make more noise then the older models with dipswitches still.

M-track with a CS2.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#32 Posted : 09 January 2010 10:29:06(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
My 26549 set has arrived, and I must say that I'm disappointed with it, at least the locomotive. It can't pull the train up one of my ramps (goes the other way OK) and is noisy. And even with the volume turned right up, the loco sounds are very quiet. And it is very sensitive to dirty track, even though other locos have no issues.

Just looking at it, I think it could do with another set of traction tyres.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#33 Posted : 09 January 2010 12:27:13(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
I just tried the P8 running up the hill towing its 4 freight cars, without the front bogie, and it went all the way up without stopping or spinning wheels. Sounds a bit similar to Bert's problem.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#34 Posted : 09 January 2010 12:39:14(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
I took the front bogie off and flattened the spring a bit, then put it back on the loco. It gets up the hill now without spinning its wheels, although I haven't tried it at slow speed yet. The Leig-Einheit set has two double freight cars, similar to the 2009 Museum Car, and that is what I have behind the P8. I haven't even tried the Museum Car set on the back of the P8 with the other 4 cars, I suspect it will not like them.
Offline pa-pauls  
#35 Posted : 09 January 2010 15:00:28(UTC)
pa-pauls


Joined: 08/06/2002(UTC)
Posts: 1,802
Location: Norway
Bigdaddynz wrote:
I took the front bogie off and flattened the spring a bit, then put it back on the loco. It gets up the hill now without spinning its wheels.....

So the spring is to "hard" then Confused maiking to much pressure on the front boogie so it's to "heavy" to pull forward by the locomotive Huh Blushing
Pål Paulsen
Märklin Digital, DB and SBB Era III
Offline DasBert33  
#36 Posted : 09 January 2010 16:59:15(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
Bigdaddynz wrote:
I just tried the P8 running up the hill towing its 4 freight cars, without the front bogie, and it went all the way up without stopping or spinning wheels. Sounds a bit similar to Bert's problem.


It sounds exactly like my problem.

In my case the spring wasnt the root cause, although running might have improved a little bit without it.

Now with the 4 traction tires I have used it in front of a 11 car (22-axles total) freight train, with one car being a cleaning car with a lot of drag. I now only have issues with the freight cars sometimes derailing in my tight curves/steep gradients due to total train weight/drag, none with the traction of the loco. It is really a HUGE difference.

Sad that my loco was away for 6 months for the repair, but maybe you can do the repair yourself, or your dealer.

Bert

Offline TimR  
#37 Posted : 09 January 2010 23:12:44(UTC)
TimR

Indonesia   
Joined: 16/08/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,752
Location: Jakarta
Bigdaddynz wrote:
My 26549 set has arrived, and I must say that I'm disappointed with it, at least the locomotive. It can't pull the train up one of my ramps (goes the other way OK) and is noisy. And even with the volume turned right up, the loco sounds are very quiet. And it is very sensitive to dirty track, even though other locos have no issues.


Hi Dave,
Thanks for the report. That definately takes 26549 off my shopping list ThumbDown

I just don't get the point of buying a model that buyers then would have to try and fix themselves.

It seems there are mixed reports about this P8. Earlier release of the models seem to work fine and got quite a bit of praises. But the newer models seem to have differing level of quality....

Btw, the BR38/ P8 is using the same "Althonix" motor that would be used to equip the new Insider 37915.
Now collecting C-Sine models.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#38 Posted : 10 January 2010 04:28:58(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
What was the 'gunk' Ron Schaffr used to fix his Z Gauge loco that had no pulling power?


Ah, found it! https://www.marklin-user...aspx?g=posts&t=12659


Bullfrog Snot, it might be worth investigating.


http://www.bullfrogsnot.com/pages/faqs.html
Offline jeehring  
#39 Posted : 03 March 2010 18:48:25(UTC)
jeehring


Joined: 25/09/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,786
Location: ,
Few years ago Marklin used to produce full metal wheels with metal beams.
Looking at the pictures of this model , specially on newest versions , I'm wondering if the beams of the wheels are plastic or metal (?)
Unsure
Offline Webmaster  
#40 Posted : 03 March 2010 19:36:33(UTC)
Webmaster


Joined: 25/07/2001(UTC)
Posts: 10,949
Metal...Smile
Juhan - "Webmaster", at your service...
He who asks a question is a fool for five minutes. He who does not ask a question remains a fool forever. [Old Chinese Proverb]
Offline jeehring  
#41 Posted : 04 March 2010 14:58:17(UTC)
jeehring


Joined: 25/09/2003(UTC)
Posts: 2,786
Location: ,
Thank you very much.

Thank you also to DA 800 who has been giving interesting explanations about the noise, however I don't understand what kind of "shim" did he put on the plastic studs ?(what is a "shim" ?)Plastic "shim" ? metal "shim" ?
Did he put them on both back & forward studs, or only one of them, which one ?
He told us there is 1mm play, did he maintain a little bit of this play ? ( 0.1mm or 0.2mm...?)or not ?
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#42 Posted : 05 March 2010 01:10:52(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 16,999
Location: New Zealand
From Wikipedia - Shim (engineering), a thin and often tapered or wedged piece of material, used to fill small gaps or spaces between objects.

http://en.wikipedia.org/...i/Shim_%28engineering%29
Offline DA 800  
#43 Posted : 05 March 2010 12:42:50(UTC)
DA 800

Norway   
Joined: 02/01/2008(UTC)
Posts: 170
Location: Norway
jeehring wrote:
Thank you very much.

Thank you also to DA 800 who has been giving interesting explanations about the noise, however I don't understand what kind of "shim" did he put on the plastic studs ?(what is a "shim" ?)Plastic "shim" ? metal "shim" ?
Did he put them on both back & forward studs, or only one of them, which one ?
He told us there is 1mm play, did he maintain a little bit of this play ? ( 0.1mm or 0.2mm...?)or not ?


Hi jeehring
As mentioned already, as shim is something you can use to reduce a gap between two pieces mounted together og in this case to prevent the worm shaft to fall down too much. I did use a shim that was thick enough to push the two brass balls all the way up in their holes. It appeared that the metal castingprobably was much more accurate than the thin and flexible plastic.
If you don't like the idea with the shim, you could also cut threads in the two holes for the balls and use two small screws without head to lock them exactly in place. (You must then cut off the plastic studs on the lower part)
I have used shims with satisfactory result, but ot might happen that the plastic will be gradually deformed after some time, so the "all metal method" with screws is prbably the best.

Good luck!

(I wish I could find a solution for the front truck too...)

- MRR keeps the child in you alive!
Offline pa-pauls  
#44 Posted : 23 March 2010 15:19:08(UTC)
pa-pauls


Joined: 08/06/2002(UTC)
Posts: 1,802
Location: Norway
DasBert33 wrote:
All my pulling power issues have been resolved! Apparantly M equipped it with an additional pair of traction tire equipped wheels. Instead of 2 traction tires my model now has 4: 2 on the front driving axle and 2 on the rear driving axle.. And it runs great now, and no issues with bad contacts whatsoever, not even on my layout that is full of contact track.

Seeing this post and having the same problem with my Br.38 from the set 26549 I ordered the axle 'A' (#130228)
to change it with axle 'C' to get 4 wheels with traction tyres (#7153, they was included with the axle #130228).

It was the trick ! Now this model has good pulling power BigGrin

You can see some photo's of it on my homepage ThumpUp http://home.online.no/~pa-pauls/tipsandtricks.cfm
Pål Paulsen
Märklin Digital, DB and SBB Era III
Offline DasBert33  
#45 Posted : 23 March 2010 23:10:33(UTC)
DasBert33


Joined: 21/01/2004(UTC)
Posts: 1,170
Location: Mortsel, Belgium
I'm glad my postings were a help Laugh.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.892 seconds.