Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline einotuominen  
#1 Posted : 16 March 2024 10:23:29(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Hi guys,

Just wanted to show my WIP z-scale layout to you.



I got to pace up the work as I’m supposed to take this into an exhibition in mid May.

-Eino
thanks 7 users liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline Toosmall  
#2 Posted : 16 March 2024 11:03:36(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia   
Joined: 26/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 620
Location: Sydney
Good luck for mid May. Sounds/looks very much like deadlines for architectural models. Have had too many of these, but always delivered on time.

Don't get bogged down in detail, go for mass. Buy a stack of trees. Growies will hide & distract a multitude of sins. A dodgy model will be saved by landscaping.


Have an absolute deadline a few days before it is required including transport & handling issues (& send an invoice to yourself for payment before delivery!).

Look at the job as a business situation & you will get there.

Repeat, go for mass & not detail.

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Toosmall
Offline Toosmall  
#3 Posted : 17 March 2024 09:31:52(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia   
Joined: 26/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 620
Location: Sydney
Draw up a simple weekly plan of what you need to achieve by set date (you can add things as required, or remove "sea anchors").

I often made a fair bit of money due to knowing my finish date which I knew I could achieve. In the meantime the architects made last "nanosecond" changes (the model was basically a jigsaw assembly process, with a 1000 parts simply to be removed from spray painting board, easy. Having sent the architect photos of finished model & invoice).

I often had architects ask me 'I need the model built ASAP'. I said: I never build models ASAP, go elsewhere (I lost a few jobs, but those customers often came back later due to failed delivery time).

You tell me what date you need the model & I will tell you if I can build it by that date (also knowing the quality of architectural drawings over years of experience).

I also had the model finished a fews days earlier, which quite often worked to my favour due to architects' stuff-ups. I had sent them the invoice for model ready to be delivered.

The impossible dates I was quite happy to let the opposition have. Dates they could never deliver.

If you can't deliver the job by your date, it is not worth the circus & difficult customers.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Toosmall
Offline Toosmall  
#4 Posted : 17 March 2024 09:49:21(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia   
Joined: 26/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 620
Location: Sydney
Did a few models for Mirvac, Sydney Olympics. Impossible deadlines, more to the point stuffed drawings.

Mirvac said mark up the drawings so we can fix them. Other half being a teacher, I used red pen. I used thick texta. It was a bloodbath at the minimum!

Next meeting to fix drawings. I said Sunday morning 4am would be fine.

The bloodbath at 8am Monday morning meeting resolved many fingers out of.... !

Got more jobs in the long run for being honest, & being firm & polite... & delivering on time (to our delivery date).

One of a few Sydney Olympic models:
DSC_1018~2.JPG;
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Toosmall
Offline einotuominen  
#5 Posted : 18 March 2024 11:09:03(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Thanks!

Great tips and great stories!

Yeah I have a plan which will ensure that I have basic landscaping and ground coverage by certain date done. Then I need to do the city and industry locations, which I have many models already built (but not painted). After that, there should be enough time for adding bushes and trees. Bushes for sure, but trees of course will be scratch built, so they will take some time. Luckily the midwest places I'm modelling is not that much dependent on huge amount of trees as a european scene would be.

Today I added the last sculptamolds, so next up is basecoat paint and then off to ground cover! It'll take about 3 days to dry though.

-Eino
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline Toosmall  
#6 Posted : 19 March 2024 02:06:05(UTC)
Toosmall

Australia   
Joined: 26/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 620
Location: Sydney
Architectural/train layouts, there is a lot for mundane work. Leave that to the end of the day where possible. Try to do more of the work that requires thinking in the morning. Eg electrical wiring.

Don't fluff around late into the night, your productivity will fall off a cliff. Stop at a designated time every night.

Get up a bit earlier if need be with a fresh mind. You will get 5 times the work done.


If spray painting (150g cans as I do) put all the bits on a piece of packing cardboard, one colour per board, with lengths of rolled over masking tape to form double sided tape to hold them down.

You should get all your buildings' painting done in a morning if well organised. Paint a few spare bits while at it.

thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Toosmall
Offline einotuominen  
#7 Posted : 23 March 2024 09:23:13(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Hi!

Testing ground cover, greens and ballast on this video:



-Eino
thanks 7 users liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline einotuominen  
#8 Posted : 07 April 2024 08:53:23(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Hi!

Here’s a short of the current progress. Exhibition’s in six weeks.

https://youtube.com/shorts/sDAqajTq7Ro

-Eino
thanks 7 users liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline ddurdle  
#9 Posted : 17 May 2024 22:40:38(UTC)
ddurdle

Canada   
Joined: 17/05/2024(UTC)
Posts: 8
Location: Ontario, Toronto
I saw your latest progress on youtube and it's an awesome layout with tons of progress made.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ddurdle
Offline einotuominen  
#10 Posted : 18 May 2024 03:33:51(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Originally Posted by: ddurdle Go to Quoted Post
I saw your latest progress on youtube and it's an awesome layout with tons of progress made.


Thank you so much!

Taking the layout to an exhibition today. First time for me ever.

BR,
Eino
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline Zme  
#11 Posted : 18 May 2024 04:09:51(UTC)
Zme

United States   
Joined: 02/10/2013(UTC)
Posts: 772
Location: West Texas
Hello

I hope it went well. You have a layout to be proud of.

Best wishes

Zme
Offline einotuominen  
#12 Posted : 18 May 2024 20:57:01(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Hey guys!

The exhibition went great! Locos run 8 hours straight without a single problem!

Lot of nice audience. Will make a video later.

Thank you for all the kind words!

BR,
Eino
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline ddurdle  
#13 Posted : 22 May 2024 13:57:15(UTC)
ddurdle

Canada   
Joined: 17/05/2024(UTC)
Posts: 8
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Originally Posted by: einotuominen Go to Quoted Post
Hey guys!

The exhibition went great! Locos run 8 hours straight without a single problem!

Lot of nice audience. Will make a video later.

Thank you for all the kind words!

BR,
Eino


I'll keep an eye on your YT for the video. Awesome run time. Judging from what I saw you are using all Marklin track, yes? I started building a layout, trying to finish up the first level before moving onto the 2nd. I'm using strictly Marklin track. Been testing what I've constructed so far and I'm able to run my test trains for many hours without issue. An old steam AZL locomotive often jumps the tracks at the switches, but I really don't intend to use that locomotive on the display. I was asking prior if your two AZL locomotives were powered because I saw a two powered set at a hobby shop I might buy for longer running freight trains (they are actually TypeA+TypeB micro trains -- I prefer AZL over microtrains but I have to settle with what I can get).

With my n scale layout I constructed last year, I'd have to keep a close eye on the layout as things tend to go out of control. Although it's 2-3 trains running on it, various makes and types of locos and "frankenstin" track, jumping, crashing and stalling trains is common. I will work things out long term with it. Marklin z scale track, and sticking with 1 brand, definitely is proving to be smoother runtime experience.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ddurdle
Offline einotuominen  
#14 Posted : 22 May 2024 16:11:53(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Originally Posted by: ddurdle Go to Quoted Post


I'll keep an eye on your YT for the video. Awesome run time. Judging from what I saw you are using all Marklin track, yes? I started building a layout, trying to finish up the first level before moving onto the 2nd. I'm using strictly Marklin track. Been testing what I've constructed so far and I'm able to run my test trains for many hours without issue. An old steam AZL locomotive often jumps the tracks at the switches, but I really don't intend to use that locomotive on the display. I was asking prior if your two AZL locomotives were powered because I saw a two powered set at a hobby shop I might buy for longer running freight trains (they are actually TypeA+TypeB micro trains -- I prefer AZL over microtrains but I have to settle with what I can get).

With my n scale layout I constructed last year, I'd have to keep a close eye on the layout as things tend to go out of control. Although it's 2-3 trains running on it, various makes and types of locos and "frankenstin" track, jumping, crashing and stalling trains is common. I will work things out long term with it. Marklin z scale track, and sticking with 1 brand, definitely is proving to be smoother runtime experience.


Hi!

Turns out that neither I or my wife (yes she went with me) didn't shoot that much usable footage, but here's a short: https://youtube.com/shorts/nWyFUAm_Y-8

Yes I'm using Märklin track exclusively. I am a huge Märklin fan after all and of course have H0 track also.

I'm too afraid to even consider getting a steam loco only to find out that it won't stay on my track. I do have curved gradients that continue with straight level track which is always a point for derailments.

All my locos are powered. No dummies. I try to make a multiple unit train with locos that run roughly the same speed, putting the faster one as lead loco and the other as trailing. Can't wait for AZL SD50, 60, 60M models to be released this summer so I can get two SD60Ms which will run exactly the same speed.

I really like the AZL locos. They have dual flywheel motors, traction tires and ofcourse great pickup as most locos have six axles. The flywheels really contribute on getting the loco over dirty sports without the train stopping. I drive with Rokuhan RC02 pulse width modulated speed controllers which essentially give me a digital loco running characteristics. I hope Märklin will jump that train too and make some new US line models. Although the GP38-2 is made by AZL for Märklin and I guess that would propably be the case in the future too...

I have no experience with MTL locos but I hear there are good and bad ones.

BR,
Eino









thanks 1 user liked this useful post by einotuominen
Offline ddurdle  
#15 Posted : 23 May 2024 20:00:57(UTC)
ddurdle

Canada   
Joined: 17/05/2024(UTC)
Posts: 8
Location: Ontario, Toronto
Originally Posted by: einotuominen Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: ddurdle Go to Quoted Post


I'll keep an eye on your YT for the video. Awesome run time. Judging from what I saw you are using all Marklin track, yes? I started building a layout, trying to finish up the first level before moving onto the 2nd. I'm using strictly Marklin track. Been testing what I've constructed so far and I'm able to run my test trains for many hours without issue. An old steam AZL locomotive often jumps the tracks at the switches, but I really don't intend to use that locomotive on the display. I was asking prior if your two AZL locomotives were powered because I saw a two powered set at a hobby shop I might buy for longer running freight trains (they are actually TypeA+TypeB micro trains -- I prefer AZL over microtrains but I have to settle with what I can get).

With my n scale layout I constructed last year, I'd have to keep a close eye on the layout as things tend to go out of control. Although it's 2-3 trains running on it, various makes and types of locos and "frankenstin" track, jumping, crashing and stalling trains is common. I will work things out long term with it. Marklin z scale track, and sticking with 1 brand, definitely is proving to be smoother runtime experience.


Hi!

Turns out that neither I or my wife (yes she went with me) didn't shoot that much usable footage, but here's a short: https://youtube.com/shorts/nWyFUAm_Y-8

Yes I'm using Märklin track exclusively. I am a huge Märklin fan after all and of course have H0 track also.

I'm too afraid to even consider getting a steam loco only to find out that it won't stay on my track. I do have curved gradients that continue with straight level track which is always a point for derailments.

All my locos are powered. No dummies. I try to make a multiple unit train with locos that run roughly the same speed, putting the faster one as lead loco and the other as trailing. Can't wait for AZL SD50, 60, 60M models to be released this summer so I can get two SD60Ms which will run exactly the same speed.

I really like the AZL locos. They have dual flywheel motors, traction tires and ofcourse great pickup as most locos have six axles. The flywheels really contribute on getting the loco over dirty sports without the train stopping. I drive with Rokuhan RC02 pulse width modulated speed controllers which essentially give me a digital loco running characteristics. I hope Märklin will jump that train too and make some new US line models. Although the GP38-2 is made by AZL for Märklin and I guess that would propably be the case in the future too...

I have no experience with MTL locos but I hear there are good and bad ones.

BR,
Eino





The AZL locos have the least amount of current draw. I suspect they would have no issue with the RC02. Likewise, I can even run mine on a 9V battery. The microtrains and Marklin have more current draw, especially the Marklins. Only the smaller starter kit Marklin locomotives have small current draw to run off a 9V. I think it was the RC02 that I read about cutting out or not handling Marklin locos. I've been actually wanting to buy a RC02 but reading about these prior comments about the current being too small is a concern for me. What is the amp noted on your RC02? I have two of the Marklin power packs, both have 1 amp and can actually successfully drive 3 locomotives concurrently (tested with 1 marklin and two microtrain locomotives concurrently). I only have been able to acquire 2 nonsteam AZL locomotives and haven't done extensive testing with them yet, but they were running awesome during testing. Only the steam AZL had issues.
Offline einotuominen  
#16 Posted : 03 June 2024 06:41:57(UTC)
einotuominen

Finland   
Joined: 19/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 393
Location: Kaarina
Hi,

My RC02 are fixed to the board with double adhesive tape so I can’t get to the bottom to see the specs.

However I have run four AZL locos at the same time.

-Eino
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2024, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.630 seconds.