Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Christo Swanepoel  
#1 Posted : 25 April 2022 19:16:22(UTC)
Christo Swanepoel

South Africa   
Joined: 14/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 8
Location: North-West, Brits
Good evening all,
I have a Marklin CS2 cenral control and want to interface with a computer program for track diagram and automation..

What is the best and easiest to use

Thanks

Christo
Offline thomasm  
#2 Posted : 26 April 2022 09:00:40(UTC)
thomasm

Norway   
Joined: 14/05/2013(UTC)
Posts: 76
Hi,
I don't know what you will find easy to use, but you can use windigipet, traincontroller or rocrail

Windigipet have a demo-edition which lets you try the the full version with some restrictions. My experience is the demo version is sufficient for a small test-track and it doesn't cost a dime.
I do not have any experience with traincontroller and rocrail.


.thomas
Märklinist, hobbyist and collector. || Trains are meant to be driven.
Offline pmgsr  
#3 Posted : 26 April 2022 10:24:24(UTC)
pmgsr


Joined: 01/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 200
Location: Lisbon, Lisbon

I'm finding Rocrail quite good. I'm from IT and I think that's an advantage for using Rocrail but i guess that with some work it's preatty good for the price (free or 12 euros a year for support and some goodies).
The way they support Blocks and all that is around blocks is quite good (routes, schedules, etc).
I suppose you know that for running a computer program in full automatic mode you'll need quite a number os sensors (like contact tracks).

Pedro.
Pedro Rosa.
Linda-a-Velha / Lisbon, Portugal.
My Layout (Marklin, C-Track, Digital)
Offline JohnjeanB  
#4 Posted : 26 April 2022 12:20:06(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,290
Location: Paris, France
Hi Christo
I am a huge fan of Rocrail. Better than words here are videos of its possibilities

- steam locos in depot


- Classification (Hump) yard


- car system operation


The track layout may look like this
Rocrail.png

Rocrail is built by a team of specialist. It is only based on contributions (No obligation to pay anything but the moral obligation to help when you want of the amount you want).
Rocrail has a forum in English, French, German, Dutch and Italian.
Rocrail has more than 20 languages , an online contextual help in your language
Rocrail can drive more than 30 different control stations

BTW: I am not related in any way with Rocrail, just a satisfied user
I hope this helps
Jean


My layout videos
latest vid
marshalling yard
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Offline David Dewar  
#5 Posted : 26 April 2022 23:41:15(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 7,114
Location: Scotland
You get a track diagram and automation with your CS2. Depends on the size of your layout and if you are more into computer software than driving the trains yourself. My CS3 takes trains anywhere I want without having to control them but for most of the locos I prefer to drive them.
You will get help here with software and from what I have read you may need it but Jean is very knowledgeable on Rocrail.

Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by David Dewar
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#6 Posted : 27 April 2022 08:12:59(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 18,459
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: thomasm Go to Quoted Post

....but you can use windigipet, traincontroller or rocrail


There is also iTrain

thanks 4 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Mark5  
#7 Posted : 28 April 2022 07:30:26(UTC)
Mark5

Canada   
Joined: 29/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,244
Location: Montreal, Canada
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post

Rocrail is built by a team of specialist. It is only based on contributions (No obligation to pay anything but the moral obligation to help when you want of the amount you want).
Rocrail has a forum in English, French, German, Dutch and Italian.
Rocrail has more than 20 languages , an online contextual help in your language
Rocrail can drive more than 30 different control stations

BTW: I am not related in any way with Rocrail, just a satisfied user
I hope this helps
Jean


Really looking forward to doing a bit of sequencing with Rocrail and a CS3 and understanding their differences. Picked up the CS3 book today and looks very well laid out and clearly written. Got my homework cut out for me! I will show a few pics of my test layouts and rat's nest of control boxes as it progresses.

BTW I did manage to DL Rocrail to PC but seem not to get how to do so with Mac yet. I may try on a linux machine.

Cheers
Mark

Edited by user 16 November 2022 05:15:09(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

DB DR FS NS SNCF c. 1955-65, fan of V200, electrics and steam, so hard to narrow down...
...signaling systems, yard traffic and shunting, Sommerfeldt catenary,
and station architecture (esp. stations from 1920-70).
In process: a new modular layout, track planning and drawing benchwork.
Email anytime or chat live: https://discord.gg/jAEKyTWQPQ
Offline Mark5  
#8 Posted : 16 November 2022 05:32:51(UTC)
Mark5

Canada   
Joined: 29/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,244
Location: Montreal, Canada
Originally Posted by: Mark5 Go to Quoted Post
.....
BTW I did manage to DL Rocrail to PC but seem not to get how to do so with Mac yet. I may try on a linux machine.


Update on simple work around to open Rocrail on Mac. Probably in their notes somewhere too, but thought I would add it here. Apple doesnt like to open apps that are from unidentified develops. This method on the apple support page makes it possible in a couple of easy clicks.
https://support.apple.co...ed-developer-mh40616/mac

Rocrail can now function on my mac but have to find out how to link to my CS3 now.
Next station...
DB DR FS NS SNCF c. 1955-65, fan of V200, electrics and steam, so hard to narrow down...
...signaling systems, yard traffic and shunting, Sommerfeldt catenary,
and station architecture (esp. stations from 1920-70).
In process: a new modular layout, track planning and drawing benchwork.
Email anytime or chat live: https://discord.gg/jAEKyTWQPQ
Offline JohnjeanB  
#9 Posted : 16 November 2022 11:41:43(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,290
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: Mark5 Go to Quoted Post
Rocrail can now function on my mac but have to find out how to link to my CS3 now.
Next station...

Here are the parameters I use when linked directly using an Internet cable (RJ45) straight or crossover does not matter

CS3 IP Manuel
IP 192.168.000.23
IP Mask 255.255.255.000
IP-Gateway 192.168.000.001
DNS Server 192.168.000.001
CS3 CAN Broadcast
Address 192.168.000.255

Rocrail /rocrail/eigenschaften/Zentrale  Adresse 192.168.000.23
PC IPV4 Eigenschaften
Use following address
IP 192.168.000.101
IP Mask 255.255.255.000
Default Gateway 192.168.000.001

Use folgende DNS Adresse
192.168.000.001

Note: using a Router or WiFi Router can keep the same values BUT the first line becomes
CS3 IP Auto (DHCP)

Note: It works perfectly well without a router. A WiFi Router allows to use the old apps "Mobile Station" and "Main Station" for iOS devices

Note: these values were initially attributed by my WiFi Router so they comply with international rules and standards (won't be contradicted by the later addition of a router).

I hope this helps

Jean

Edited by user 17 November 2022 13:20:56(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

My layout videos
latest vid
marshalling yard
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by JohnjeanB
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.533 seconds.