Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Sal  
#1 Posted : 28 September 2022 00:32:20(UTC)
Sal

United States   
Joined: 27/09/2022(UTC)
Posts: 1
Location: Texas, Garland
Hello all - just registered for this site. I did not know it existed. Also - just fell in love with Orient Express passenger cars - awesome! I am a collector and have several Marklin Orient Express passenger cars - also the Kaiser Wilheim sets. They are all three rail. Dumb question of the day - how / can I convert these cars from AC to DC - is it possible? I don't have a layout yet - any help would be appreciated.

FYI - I looked here on this site and on the internet but most comments related to engines.

Thank you so much in advance.

Sal from Texas
Offline ocram63_uk  
#2 Posted : 28 September 2022 09:17:53(UTC)
ocram63_uk

United Kingdom   
Joined: 07/01/2015(UTC)
Posts: 608
Location: England, Suffolk
the only way is to replace the AC axles with DC ones. doable and with a cost depending on how many axles you have to buy. I think Marklin sells DC axles for his coaches.
Offline rhfil  
#3 Posted : 28 September 2022 16:00:33(UTC)
rhfil

United States   
Joined: 05/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 235
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE, Somersworth
The above is correct. But I am not sure why you would go through that just to avoid the ac layout unless you have specific dc engines in mind. If you get an ac layout you can run ac or dc cars on it just not dc engines.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by rhfil
Offline river6109  
#4 Posted : 29 September 2022 04:23:48(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,058
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: rhfil Go to Quoted Post
The above is correct. But I am not sure why you would go through that just to avoid the ac layout unless you have specific dc engines in mind. If you get an ac layout you can run ac or dc cars on it just not dc engines.

Although, if you have detection modules DC wheel on your carriages won't help you detect a train

https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline rhfil  
#5 Posted : 29 September 2022 14:03:45(UTC)
rhfil

United States   
Joined: 05/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 235
Location: NEW HAMPSHIRE, Somersworth
The only detection module that does not detect dc is the contact track. And if you have an ac engine it will detect that just not the dc cars. The circuit track and reed contact track work with both.
Offline David Dewar  
#6 Posted : 29 September 2022 16:01:58(UTC)
David Dewar

Scotland   
Joined: 01/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 7,113
Location: Scotland
Main consideration would be do you want to run aMarklin layout using their control and track. You can then decide how to run your coaches are are fine on a Marklin layout.
Take care I like Marklin and will defend the worlds greatest model rail manufacturer.
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.498 seconds.