Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Drongo  
#1 Posted : 13 June 2022 12:49:08(UTC)
Drongo

Australia   
Joined: 03/06/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,141
Location: Sydney, NSW
I use an EcoS and I want to use an ESU SwitchPilot 3 Servo to control Faller servo motors. I have tried about 15 Faller servo motors and only ONE has worked. I've connected some generic servo motors and all work perfectly. I have written to Faller and their reply was that this is the first time that they have heard of the problem, and suggested that their motors are analogue and this maybe the problem. BUT why did one work ? I've also witten to ESU and I'm still waiting for their reply.

Has anyone experienced this before and if so how did you fix the problem ?

Regards

Greg
Take it easy . . . . or any other way you can get it !!!!
Website - www.simplesite.com/gregstrain
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 13 June 2022 13:45:31(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 6,855
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: Drongo Go to Quoted Post

Has anyone experienced this before and if so how did you fix the problem ?


There was a recent thread on this forum where someone was attempting to use Faller servos with an ESU controller to open the doors on their roundhouse and had the same problem as you (wasn't you in that thread, was it?).
Offline Goofy  
#3 Posted : 13 June 2022 14:39:21(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,553
Did you check after Fallers servo motor power feeder? It might be some difference from other servo motor. ESU servodecoder are better than standard switch decoder which do have only two outputs for the servo motor. Somebody did wrote problems about ESU switch decoder. I recommended you try servo switch decoder instead.
H0
DCC = Digital Command Control
Offline JohnjeanB  
#4 Posted : 13 June 2022 15:06:14(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,080
Location: Paris, France
Hi Greg
I have used ESU SwitchPilot 3 Servo with Faller servo motors and with some coming from China.
I know, it is not helping but all worked perfectly. Only issue on some servos (including one in Märklin 39008 loco with coal consumption) is gear salad.

I should not say this but even when I plug the wrong way, it does not work (of course) but works again when plug-in is corrected.
I cannot think Faller makes its own Servo Motors but rather purchases them in China (2 to 4 Euros apiece).
Servos have a standard pin arrangement
1 Ground
2 VCC (often 5 volts)
3 signal (PWM over a 20 ms period I think)

Operating angle may vary from 90° (very common), 180° and sometimes 210°

On my layout, servos are used for ash removal gear, for Faller car system stops and switches.
Here is the Faller "Schlackgrube" in operation


Sorry not being able to help
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline PMPeter  
#5 Posted : 13 June 2022 16:15:41(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,190
Location: Port Moody, BC
With the ESU Switchpilot Servo 3 and analogue servos you need to follow the instructions in the ESU manual since the decoder is supplied/configured for digital servos. If memory serves me correctly you need to set a CV value to select an analogue servo for correct operation.

Peter
Offline Goofy  
#6 Posted : 14 June 2022 06:20:36(UTC)
Goofy


Joined: 12/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 8,553
Originally Posted by: PMPeter Go to Quoted Post
With the ESU Switchpilot Servo 3 and analogue servos you need to follow the instructions in the ESU manual since the decoder is supplied/configured for digital servos. If memory serves me correctly you need to set a CV value to select an analogue servo for correct operation.

Peter

There is no digital servos. Servo motor are analog and feeds between 5-9 volts. ESU servo decoder feeds only 5 volts output?
H0
DCC = Digital Command Control
Offline Purellum  
#7 Posted : 14 June 2022 08:33:54(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Joined: 08/11/2005(UTC)
Posts: 3,437
Location: Mullerup, 4200 Slagelse


Cool
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post
There is no digital servos.


Wrong.............. BigGrin

https://www.google.com/s...ceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Per.

Cool

If you can dream it, you can do it!

I, the copyright holder of this work, hereby release it into the public domain. This applies worldwide.

In case this is not legally possible:
I grant anyone the right to use this work for any purpose, without any conditions, unless such conditions are required by law.

UserPostedImage
Offline PMPeter  
#8 Posted : 14 June 2022 15:28:55(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,190
Location: Port Moody, BC
Originally Posted by: Goofy Go to Quoted Post

There is no digital servos. Servo motor are analog and feeds between 5-9 volts. ESU servo decoder feeds only 5 volts output?


Read the ESU manual for the Switchpilot Servo 3 decoder before making a statement like this.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PMPeter
Offline PMPeter  
#9 Posted : 14 June 2022 16:16:30(UTC)
PMPeter

Canada   
Joined: 04/04/2013(UTC)
Posts: 1,190
Location: Port Moody, BC
Now that I told Goofy to read the manual, I figured I would get mine out and refer to the CV values. Here is what the manual says:

On page 8 Section 4.5.1 Analog Servos set CV 43 to 3

On page 8 Section 4.5.2 Digital Servos set CV 43 to 4
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by PMPeter
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Similar Topics
digitally controlling turnout servo motors (Digital)
by river6109 05/03/2019 06:24:44(UTC)
ESU servo motors with switch pilot servo module (Digital)
by river6109 27/05/2014 10:39:45(UTC)
Märklin braking module operating ESU servo motors (Digital)
by river6109 18/04/2014 10:14:17(UTC)
ESU switchpilot servo and servo motors (Digital)
by wa6ld 27/07/2008 05:28:14(UTC)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2022, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.576 seconds.