Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Christo Swanepoel  
#1 Posted : 19 July 2021 12:12:02(UTC)
Christo Swanepoel

South Africa   
Joined: 14/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: North-West, Brits
Good Morning ,

I bought a steam locomotive 3085 with a 8 dip switch decoder. What is the settings. I have treid a couple of combination but the CS 2 does not register or read it.

Please help

20210719_115851.jpg20210719_115839.jpg
Offline JohnjeanB  
#2 Posted : 19 July 2021 12:35:50(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,731
Location: Paris, France
Hi Christo
Welcome to the forum. Plenty of helping friends!
The switch settings can be found bei Märklin here at the end of document https://www.maerklin.de/fileadmi...faq/Technik-Tipp-303.pdf
Attention: change the setting only while power is OFF
Also both the CS2 and CS3 help you with switch positions
Cheers
Jean
My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline H0  
#3 Posted : 19 July 2021 13:26:05(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,254
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: Christo Swanepoel Go to Quoted Post
What is the settings. I have treid a couple of combination but the CS 2 does not register or read it.
The decoder will not work if red and brown are swapped in the track connection.
Red goes to B (centre rail) and Brown goes to 0 (outer rail).
The CS2 cannot read this decoder. Set an address using the DIP switches, then register the loco manually with the correct address using the MM protocol.
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
Offline JohnjeanB  
#4 Posted : 19 July 2021 14:24:07(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,731
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: Christo Swanepoel Go to Quoted Post
I have treid a couple of combination but the CS 2 does not register or read it.

The CS2 or CS3 CANNOT register any non-MFX decoder. It is a one-way communication (so the CS2 cannot read it).
So you need to set the desired address and separately set on your CS2 a new loco with the SAME address and with MM2 protocol
Jean

My layout videos
latest vid
hump yard
Offline ktsolias  
#5 Posted : 19 July 2021 14:38:15(UTC)
ktsolias

Greece   
Joined: 01/05/2016(UTC)
Posts: 540
Location: Athens
The address set on this decoder is 21.

So set manually the address MM 21 on the CS2 or 3

Costas
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ktsolias
Offline mike c  
#6 Posted : 19 July 2021 16:26:38(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,207
Location: Montreal, QC
Originally Posted by: ktsolias Go to Quoted Post
The address set on this decoder is 21.

So set manually the address MM 21 on the CS2 or 3

Costas


A 3085 is an analog locomotive. If somebody installed a 6080 decoder in this model, there is no factory address that can apply. There may have been a recommended address, but there is no guarantee that that address was selected.
The MS or CS contain a database for delta and digital models which will have the default digital address for that model.
As the older decoders could be used in digital operation, but the settings had to be shut off to operate in analog, you cannot determine remotely the address. you have to physically look at the DIP switches and consult the list to determine the address.

Regards

Mike C
Offline H0  
#7 Posted : 19 July 2021 17:22:22(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 14,254
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: mike c Go to Quoted Post
A 3085 is an analog locomotive. If somebody installed a 6080 decoder in this model, there is no factory address that can apply. There may have been a recommended address, but there is no guarantee that that address was selected.
There is a photo in the first post that allows deciphering the current address (current as of taking the picture). No crystal ball needed.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline Christo Swanepoel  
#8 Posted : 19 July 2021 19:50:45(UTC)
Christo Swanepoel

South Africa   
Joined: 14/07/2021(UTC)
Posts: 3
Location: North-West, Brits
Originally Posted by: Christo Swanepoel Go to Quoted Post
Good Morning ,

I bought a steam locomotive 3085 with a 8 dip switch decoder. What is the settings. I have treid a couple of combination but the CS 2 does not register or read it.

Please help

20210719_115851.jpg20210719_115839.jpg



Good Evening All,

Thank you for the guidance and advice as Marklin Digital is new to me , Always just had analogue DC layouts. I am sure i will have a lot of other questions as I progress with my layout.

I will follow the steps and let you know if it worked.

Thanks

Christo
Offline mike c  
#9 Posted : 20 July 2021 02:27:54(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 7,207
Location: Montreal, QC
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: mike c Go to Quoted Post
A 3085 is an analog locomotive. If somebody installed a 6080 decoder in this model, there is no factory address that can apply. There may have been a recommended address, but there is no guarantee that that address was selected.
There is a photo in the first post that allows deciphering the current address (current as of taking the picture). No crystal ball needed.



I did not pay too much attention to the photo because it was in Australian mode...

Regards

Mike C

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by mike c
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2021, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.440 seconds.