Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Online marklinist5999  
#1 Posted : 18 April 2021 13:34:10(UTC)
marklinist5999

United States   
Hi all, I aquired this loc back in the early new millenium at a substantial discount of $348 US. The original price was $438. It was in a shops display case brand new. I think someone ordered it, and was disapointed with the lame whistle and declined their purchase. This was not a Marklin shop, nor a European model store, just a regular American type hobby shop with American models, RC, kits, etc. It was a small chain of stores which all closed during the recession. So, if I want to upgrade it's decoder to a 60977 with full mfx sound, will I need resistors for the led lights? I do have a multimeter. I have never done this before though. I know I will need a heat sink, wire shrink tube, etc. I sure don't want to toast a $90 to $100 decoder. I presume I wil have to gut the old one and start new. It has the small non dip switch Loksound or Uhlenbrock decoder, and classic 5 pole h.e. motor. It also has cab lighting. Both cab lights activate together. With a new 60977, will I be able to make them switch on seperately?
It's a robust heavy model worthy of the upgrade.
If successful, in the future, I might consider the same for my 37352 br 152 museum loc, and Starlight Express br 101. I don't know if I can use this same decoder 60977 for a C sine equipped Taurus, or the first br 103 with a C sine- single row of vents, no piezo pantographs. These have a large board decoder with integral control for the motors.
Offline kiwiAlan  
#2 Posted : 18 April 2021 14:28:05(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Is 35737 the correct model number? The 35xx series had 5 pole motors and I didn't think they had sound at all.