Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline DaleSchultz  
#1 Posted : 12 May 2020 03:31:43(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,358
For many years, the only way to make the content of a RemoteSign screen change, was from another copy of RemoteSign, the DB schedule program, or dedicated software, and from last year, also from RemoteSign Sequencer.

The good news is that you can now get data into RemoteSign Sequencer using a helper program called RSRelay, and this can be done from any program that can launch an external program with a parameter, and that includes TrainController from RailRoad & Co.

Here is an overview: RSRelay

and here is information on how to use it from TrainController:

https://remotesign.mixmox.com/p/calling-rsrelay-from-traincontroller.html

If you know of other layout control programs that can launch an external program, I would be happy to also document how it is done. I suspect other such as JMRI and RocRail can probably also do it too.

Of course actual dedicated support for RemoteSign will make it much easier than preparing scripts, so feel free to ask your software vendor to add RemoteSign support to your software. To that end there is a link you can provide to them also.


Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline Danlake  
#2 Posted : 12 May 2020 11:24:06(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,499
That's very interesting Dale,

I am presently using text variables to use my own little time schedule in Traincontroller.

So in your program how do you update the time table with train having arrived and departed at a station? Assume it would be based on actual activation of contact tracks?

Just curious how it works? Because within Train controller it was somewhat complicated to create the required criteria when to update the text string with present time (e.g. only when this train on that schedule arrives at that particular contact).

Thanks!

Best Regards
Lasse
Digital 11m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS3 60226 / Train Controller Gold 9 with 4D sound. Mainly Danish and German Locomotives.
Offline DaleSchultz  
#3 Posted : 12 May 2020 15:15:42(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,358
Originally Posted by: Danlake Go to Quoted Post
That's very interesting Dale,

I am presently using text variables to use my own little time schedule in Traincontroller.

So in your program how do you update the time table with train having arrived and departed at a station? Assume it would be based on actual activation of contact tracks?


It simply triggers a script in Sequencer. The script can be a single line or something complex. So one script can clear a line and other scripts place content onto teh line.

Originally Posted by: Danlake Go to Quoted Post

Just curious how it works? Because within Train controller it was somewhat complicated to create the required criteria when to update the text string with present time (e.g. only when this train on that schedule arrives at that particular contact).



Within RemoteSign Sequencer, one can use time macros, allowing you to 'soft code' the time from now to 99 minutes in the future.

So say you have a station with 4 platforms, you would create 4 scripts to clear each track (one line of code each). (The sample file is in fact already set up with 5 tracks, so this is already done.)

If you have 5 possible destinations, you could create a script for each track that cycled through the 5 destinations on each subsequent call.

I don't use TC myself so I am not familiar with it much at all. I would like to know if TC can pass those text variable to the external program... if so, I can allow things like train name, and destination to be dynamically passed in.

Direct native support for RemoteSign would be preferable of course, but that is for users to lobby RailRoad & Co to do!
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline DaleSchultz  
#4 Posted : 13 May 2020 15:38:57(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,358
if you can combine your text variables when you call the execute function, then you could build up a script name using train, platform, destination, etc.

Eg ICE12345^01^Hamburg-Altona

Another possible solution would be for me to extend Sequencer that allows you to store text variables.
You could then make say 3 calls, one passing the train name, one teh platform, and the third the destination.
A 4th call tell it to put them all together and display it....

Petitioning Freiwald software to just add direct support would be much better though.
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by DaleSchultz
Offline DaleSchultz  
#5 Posted : 22 May 2020 16:26:26(UTC)
DaleSchultz

United States   
Joined: 10/02/2006(UTC)
Posts: 3,358
If TrainController is able to write text files, then this brand new feature of RemoteSign Sequencer will be able to take advantage of that data.


https://remotesign.mixmox.com/p/data-source.html
Dale
Intellibox + own software, K-Track
My current layout: https://cabin-layout.mixmox.com
Arrival and Departure signs: https://remotesign.mixmox.com
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2020, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.262 seconds.