Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ajith  
#1 Posted : 14 March 2020 05:59:02(UTC)
Ajith

United Arab Emirates   
Dear Friends,

Good Morning. Everyone.

I am a novice here. So my question may be nieve BigGrin

I have been doing n gauge railroading for a while using Z21 DCC controller. Mainly Trix and Fleischmann locos with sound etc ..

Recently purchased a Marlkin HO set, Marklin "Bavarian Freight Train" Train Set (Sound Decoder) Marklin 26603. Wanting to get into HO and have the stream in my layout. Below is the product I purchased..

https://www.reynaulds.co...ducts/Marklin/26603.aspx

Upon receiving I found out it lis a 3 rail AC system. This is something I missed out while purchasing. I live in Dubai and there is no train stop here Huh

My question is, do I need a 3 rail AC system or I can run it in my normal HO, 2 rail DCC system ?

Thanks a lot everyone.

Cheers,

Ajith
Offline thing fish  
#2 Posted : 14 March 2020 06:24:49(UTC)
thing fish

Turkey   
Originally Posted by: Ajith Go to Quoted Post
... do I need a 3 rail AC system or I can run it in my normal HO, 2 rail DCC system ?

Hi,

Short answer is "no", you cannot run a 3 rail loco on 2 rail system, and 3 rail locos are not easy to convert to 2 rail either. But depending on the decoder specs (others will clarify this I guess) you can use your existing DCC controller on your 3 rail layout. I would consider this as an exciting step into the world of HO and 3 rail.

If you have more questions, just fire away.

Cem.

Offline PeFu  
#3 Posted : 14 March 2020 07:06:37(UTC)
PeFu

Sweden   
Originally Posted by: thing fish Go to Quoted Post
... do I need a 3 rail AC system or I can run it in my normal HO, 2 rail DCC system ?