Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Spokanesteve  
#1 Posted : 12 May 2019 23:21:18(UTC)
Spokanesteve

United States   
Joined: 25/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Washington, Spokane
Hello all:

I am working on upgrading some very old Marklin trains.

As part of this project I acquired a MS1 from eBay - 60652. But maybe I have made mistake.....? Confused

The MS1 came with a track connecting piece that the MS1 plugs into.

There is also a power cord.

My question is what type of power needs to be supplied?

I also have a 6646 32VA transformer. The 6646 shows that the "B" output is 5-17/25 VAC and the "L" output is 17 VAC.

Is it possible to use the "L" output of 17 VAC to power the MS1?

I did read the manual on Marklin's site and it doesn't have that specification. I have also done a "search" on the forum. I'm sure this is a simple question for everyone here and I appreciate any help!

Thanks much, Steve.
Offline clapcott  
#2 Posted : 13 May 2019 01:25:26(UTC)
clapcott

New Zealand   
Joined: 12/12/2005(UTC)
Posts: 2,233
Location: Wellington, New_Zealand
Page 10 of the manual does show an image of a transformers specification plate.

16V AC is fine - i.e. use the Brown(0)/Yellow(L) output from your transformer.

When referencing the connection images at the back of the manual (pg 42/43) - a grey transformer is pictured but the meaning is any standard Marklin Transformer delivering 16V. Power should be 32VA+ but even a 10VA transformer will work for 1/2 basic locomotives.

An alternative (as seen in the manual) is a Black DC power supply.
Ref 66181
https://static.maerklin....ed085c62a01434542110.pdf

At the time the MS1 was being sold this option provided 18VA and came with/for the MS1 1.2 Amp variant
The 1.9 Amp variant needed 32VA (for full capacity) - i.e. a transformer was the solution at the time.

A modern 32VA 36VA DC power supply is an option

I suggest you check the INFO section of the MS1 when you have it powered up and look for this 1.2 or 1.9 reference.

Edited by user 13 May 2019 22:45:46(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Peter
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by clapcott
Offline Spokanesteve  
#3 Posted : 13 May 2019 02:00:50(UTC)
Spokanesteve

United States   
Joined: 25/04/2019(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Washington, Spokane
Thank you very much for the clarification! I really appreciate it. Steve.
Offline H0  
#4 Posted : 13 May 2019 19:15:07(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 13,473
Location: DE-NW
Originally Posted by: clapcott Go to Quoted Post
A modern 32VA DC power supply is an option
For full capacity I'd go for a 2 A DC power supply - like the 36 VA supplies offered by Märklin and Roco and others.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
UserPostedImage
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by H0
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.302 seconds.