Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline charles Sharpe  
#1 Posted : 03 January 2019 10:04:30(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421

Just before Christmas the wife and I had a few days in Munich it was very nice. Anyway I bought a look Re 620
X rail number 37326. The man in the Marklin store put it on there small layout and tested all the functions for me and let it run for 10 mins just to make sure all was well. The function that I am not able to get to work is the squealing brakes and I know they work, it says in the manual function F5 well on my CS2 with the most updated software F5 is the uncoupling sound. I have tried every function the the icon of and on and still not working any idea what I am doing wrong.
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline river6109  
#2 Posted : 03 January 2019 10:17:10(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 12,445
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Originally Posted by: charles Sharpe Go to Quoted Post

Just before Christmas the wife and I had a few days in Munich it was very nice. Anyway I bought a look Re 620
X rail number 37326. The man in the Marklin store put it on there small layout and tested all the functions for me and let it run for 10 mins just to make sure all was well. The function that I am not able to get to work is the squealing brakes and I know they work, it says in the manual function F5 well on my CS2 with the most updated software F5 is the uncoupling sound. I have tried every function the the icon of and on and still not working any idea what I am doing wrong.


I don't know your set up but I would check all your functions and see which one is not working, on the other hand some decoders have the brake squealing automatic but you have to program the timer. looking at the Märklin website it should be function 4, suppose you have to leave the function on and run your loco until it stops, some decoders you have to turn off: direct control (F8)

John
https://www.youtube.com/river6109
https://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline charles Sharpe  
#3 Posted : 03 January 2019 13:29:39(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421


Hello John

All the functions are working, could you point me in which section on the Marklin site because its like going to the dark side and China has got there first.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline xxup  
#4 Posted : 03 January 2019 13:40:04(UTC)
xxup

Australia   
Joined: 15/03/2003(UTC)
Posts: 8,902
Location: Australia
To get squealing brakes to work, you ensure that the function is off (activating the function turns off the sound). The run the loco at a moderate 50% throttle speed for a few seconds and then very quickly move the throttle to zero and you will hear the squealing brakes as the loco comes to a stop...
Adrian
UserPostedImage
Australia flag by abFlags.com
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by xxup
Offline charles Sharpe  
#5 Posted : 03 January 2019 18:37:50(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
Originally Posted by: xxup Go to Quoted Post
To get squealing brakes to work, you ensure that the function is off (activating the function turns off the sound). The run the loco at a moderate 50% throttle speed for a few seconds and then very quickly move the throttle to zero and you will hear the squealing brakes as the loco comes to a stop...


That’s what I thought as I do with my other locos.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline charles Sharpe  
#6 Posted : 07 January 2019 06:49:58(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
I am still having problems getting the squealing brakes to work on my new loco. I spent 2 hours yesterday trying everything and still no luck and as I said it did work in the Marklin shop. It has this cab view on it is it possible that there is something set wrong in there.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline Dave Banks  
#7 Posted : 07 January 2019 08:08:30(UTC)
Dave Banks

Australia   
Joined: 08/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 854
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
Hello Charles, so you are not getting this result: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7wHeHIDy4ng

This occurs @ the 2.30 / 6.02 mark on the you tube clip.
D.A.Banks
Offline charles Sharpe  
#8 Posted : 07 January 2019 16:43:18(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
Hello David No nothing at all, What I haven't tried is to log it into one of my MS2 and run it with that and not the CS2

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline JohnjeanB  
#9 Posted : 07 January 2019 17:15:03(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 469
Location: Paris, France
Hi Charles

Generally for the brakes sound to be heard you must:
- be in digital
- set the brake delay to not a too small value (20 to 40 is usually good)
- leave "Direct Control" OFF (i.e.:do not suppress inertia simulation)
- leave the control "Squealing brake off" INACTIVE (or OFF)
- the loco must be travelling at minimum 50% of maximum speed
- set the speed control to zero (slow down is not enough)
When all this is done you usually hear the squealing sound
Bonne chance

Jean
My lay-out videos
General operation
Loco change
Offline charles Sharpe  
#10 Posted : 08 January 2019 19:52:00(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Charles

Generally for the brakes sound to be heard you must:
- be in digital
- set the brake delay to not a too small value (20 to 40 is usually good)
- leave "Direct Control" OFF (i.e.:do not suppress inertia simulation)
- leave the control "Squealing brake off" INACTIVE (or OFF)
- the loco must be travelling at minimum 50% of maximum speed
- set the speed control to zero (slow down is not enough)
When all this is done you usually hear the squealing sound
Bonne chance

Jean


At a lose on what to do know, I have deleted it from the CS II and put it back in still nothing also tried it with the MS II. The brake delay is set to 35 but not sure what you mean by Direct Control off.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline JohnjeanB  
#11 Posted : 08 January 2019 20:45:51(UTC)
JohnjeanB

France   
Joined: 04/02/2011(UTC)
Posts: 469
Location: Paris, France
Hi Charles
It means inertia is not inhibited
Cheers
Jean
My lay-out videos
General operation
Loco change
Offline charles Sharpe  
#12 Posted : 08 January 2019 21:11:45(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Charles
It means inertia is not inhibited
Cheers
Jean


Sorry still don’t know what you mean.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline kiwiAlan  
#13 Posted : 08 January 2019 23:39:00(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4,295
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: charles Sharpe Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: JohnjeanB Go to Quoted Post
Hi Charles
It means inertia is not inhibited
Cheers
Jean


Sorry still don’t know what you mean.

Charles


He means the function with the tortoise icon should be off, i.e. shunting mode or ABV is off.


Offline charles Sharpe  
#14 Posted : 09 January 2019 06:56:22(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421



Many thanks I have got it now never did know what that icon was. All icons were off when I had a another try yesterday still no luck

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline mike c  
#15 Posted : 09 January 2019 15:51:25(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 6,249
Location: Montreal, QC
37326 Question

The model came out of the box for the first time and was placed on the track.
1st test:
Quick test with 6021:

F0: Lights on/off
F1: Swiss taillight vs Dual Red lights
F2: Sound on/off
F3: The Lok is horny
F4: High Beams on/off

Question: What would the normal taillight functions of a SBB Re 6/6 (620) be? Have there been any changes to the standard since 2000?
I could see a Re 420 pushing a NPZ push-pull with two reds at the rear, but would a Re 6/6 have a similar function?

Has dual red replaced the single red for solo operation?

At least this different function can be used to justify having both the Roco and Maerklin models of this lok!

Thanks and regards

Mike C
Offline fusionfaded  
#16 Posted : 09 January 2019 22:24:06(UTC)
fusionfaded

Switzerland   
Joined: 04/01/2018(UTC)
Posts: 31
Originally Posted by: mike c Go to Quoted Post
37326 Question
Question: What would the normal tail light functions of a SBB Re 6/6 (620) be? Have there been any changes to the standard since 2000?
I could see a Re 420 pushing a NPZ push-pull with two reds at the rear, but would a Re 6/6 have a similar function?

Has dual red replaced the single red for solo operation?


I don't have any first hand knowledge about it, but a SBB guy I know told me about it when he saw my 37326. Apparently the single red light at the rear is the "normal" rear light, but you can manually turn on both red lamps. The first would be way more common, albeit some drivers actually do the two reds at the rear. Both are allowed by the Rail Operating Regulations.

A quick google search seems to suggest that the single red is more prevalent, the later mostly seems to be a thing with model trains.
Offline charles Sharpe  
#17 Posted : 15 January 2019 06:07:41(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
I am unable to find an icon in the data base for this loco. X Rail 37326. The software on my CS 2 is the most up to date.

Charles
CHARLES SHARPE
Offline TEEWolf  
#18 Posted : 16 January 2019 02:27:13(UTC)
TEEWolf

Germany   
Joined: 01/06/2016(UTC)
Posts: 1,614
Location: Bavaria
Originally Posted by: charles Sharpe Go to Quoted Post
I am still having problems getting the squealing brakes to work on my new loco. I spent 2 hours yesterday trying everything and still no luck and as I said it did work in the Marklin shop. It has this cab view on it is it possible that there is something set wrong in there.

Charles


Hello Charles,

have you looked into the manual?

https://static.maerklin....c787cb44a11539853813.pdf

It says F5 for squealing brakes off.

F 15 switches it on, but !!! only in the mode "world of operations" (is this what you mean by "cab view on"?) AND you never shall move and/or switch (they say mapping) it to another function key! Why? No idea what Märklin had done there again.

Regards

TEEWolf
CS 3 is a controller system from Märklin - not a central station.
Offline charles Sharpe  
#19 Posted : 17 January 2019 04:39:53(UTC)
charles Sharpe


Joined: 21/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,421
Originally Posted by: TEEWolf Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: charles Sharpe Go to Quoted Post
I am still having problems getting the squealing brakes to work on my new loco. I spent 2 hours yesterday trying everything and still no luck and as I said it did work in the Marklin shop. It has this cab view on it is it possible that there is something set wrong in there.

Charles


Hello Charles,

have you looked into the manual?

https://static.maerklin....c787cb44a11539853813.pdf

It says F5 for squealing brakes off.

F 15 switches it on, but !!! only in the mode "world of operations" (is this what you mean by "cab view on"?) AND you never shall move and/or switch (they say mapping) it to another function key! Why? No idea what Märklin had done there again.

Regards

TEEWolf


Hello TeeWolf
My train friend came over yesterday to see me and he said the same as you had I read the instruction book, I said yes but only to to the bit that said F5 stops the the brake sound so I thought if the light isn't on F5 then it would work. So like you he said try F15 and it works well pleased thank you for your help on this.

Charles.
CHARLES SHARPE
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by charles Sharpe
Users browsing this topic
OceanSpiders 2.0
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

| Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2019, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.608 seconds.