Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline 5HorizonsRR  
#1 Posted : 13 June 2018 15:32:10(UTC)
5HorizonsRR

United States   
Hi everyone,

I just dove into a project I've been saying I'd start for 10 years, and hit a bit of a roadblock. I purchased the Liliput Swiss Express Steurwagon with lights as the DC model, because it was on sale for $35 vs ~$125 for the AC variant. I now need to convert it to AC, which I thought would be easy but have encountered a few hurdles. Most notably that it had no instruction pamphlet which could have unlocked secrets.

Does anyone have this model in AC or DC? It appears the AC variant came with an ESU accessory decoder, I suspect because the lighting changeover in DC analogue is polarity activated. This alteration I can easily handle via installation of a 21pin decoder.

The challenge list:

- with decoder installed, I think the project is only a simple matter of a pickup shoe, and the power leads in. For the pickup shoe, does anyone have an image of an AC car showing the shoe and its mounting? (I didn't see any via google) I'm assuming its a simple screw in job.

- The bigger challenge: running power in without frying the PC board. The current system uses copper tabs from the wheels, which touch two pads directly on the PC board. No problem to alter the tabs and use them for the (-) polarity, but then I'm hesitant to use the AC center rail feed to the "line in" for (+). Do any electronic experts think feeding AC or AC digital in to the board will fry the circuitry assuming there is an AC-safe ESU decoder controlling it?

Happy to post images tonight if it helps, and thanks in advance!
SBB Era 2-5
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by 5HorizonsRR
Offline mario54i  
#2 Posted : 13 June 2018 18:30:13(UTC)
mario54i

Italy