Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

6 Pages«<456
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#251 Posted : 21 April 2013 10:49:22(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Thanks Ian.

On Friday night we had a running session on our H0 modules at the MMRC club. I had my 377994 Big Boy there, so I took a small video of it. This is the first time I've had it out on the tracks.

The other train you see is an Alaska F7 with 2 'A' units and a 'B' units, pulling a silo car train. The F7 and the silo train belong to 2 separate club members.
thanks 8 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline kweekalot  
#252 Posted : 21 April 2013 14:00:44(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Joined: 27/06/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,565
Location: Holland
Hi Dave,
I can't watch your vid, it shows 'private' / black screen. Confused

Marco
Offline foumaro  
#253 Posted : 21 April 2013 18:10:51(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,602
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
?Crying ?
Offline RayF  
#254 Posted : 21 April 2013 19:58:56(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,770
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Hi David,

You have to change your youtube settings so we can see it.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#255 Posted : 21 April 2013 20:28:26(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Not sure what happened there, all previous videos I uploaded with Picassa were OK. This one for some reason set itself to Private viewing only! Confused

Anyway, I've changed the settings, so you should be able to view it now.

BTW, those are R1 curves that the BB is running on!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline kweekalot  
#256 Posted : 21 April 2013 20:41:17(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Joined: 27/06/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,565
Location: Holland
Hi Dave,
Wow, that is a long loco !! Scared
First time I see a Big Boy in action.
Thanks for sharing.

Marco
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kweekalot
Offline ozzman  
#257 Posted : 21 April 2013 20:47:58(UTC)
ozzman

Australia   
Joined: 23/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,883
Location: Sydney, Australia
Thanks for the video.

"BTW, those are R1 curves that the BB is running on!" Just goes to show how good Marklin's engineering is.
Gary
Z Scale
"Never let the prototype get in the way of a good layout"
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ozzman
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#258 Posted : 12 May 2013 05:01:22(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
I took a small video this afternoon of the first train to run over the new bridge on the layout. Please excuse the mess on parts of the layout, and the bright afternoon sun coming through the window. There's one or two slight dead spots i need to sort out as well, so you might see the loco jerk a bit in places. The loco is the Marklin 30210 V200 with 6 tinplate coaches.
thanks 22 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#259 Posted : 12 May 2013 06:27:45(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
The first dead spot you see in the video, going down the ramp to underneath the layout, I found to be on the first piece of track on the boundary of where the boosted section starts, and the piece happened to be a feeder track piece. Whoever thought you'd get a dead spot on a feeder track piece!?? I replaced the piece of track, and now all is good in that area!
Offline Ian555  
#260 Posted : 12 May 2013 07:04:24(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,670
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

Great video, really lets us have a look round your layout. ThumpUp

Ian.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Offline river6109  
#261 Posted : 12 May 2013 07:24:08(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,766
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Dave,

Enjoyed the video, I didn't realize how big your layout is.
thanks for sharing

John
http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by river6109
Offline steventrain  
#262 Posted : 12 May 2013 08:42:27(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,306
Location: Northern Ireland
Excellent video, David.Smile

I see two controllers - ECOS and CS2.
Largest Marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/M-tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50, E103, E120/Insider Club membership since 2004.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by steventrain
Offline petestra  
#263 Posted : 12 May 2013 10:08:43(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,210
Location: washington,dc
Very nice video, David. I really like the layout too. PeterThumpUp Smile
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by petestra
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#264 Posted : 12 May 2013 10:26:52(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: steventrain Go to Quoted Post
I see two controllers - ECOS and CS2.


Yes, CS2 with booster was powering the layout, although I do use the Ecos from time to time. I was using an Ecos power supply to power the CS2 booster. I also use either one to power my 1 Gauge Carpetbahn from time to time.

Also not on view is a 6021 and a CS1 (let alone MS1 and MS2).

I've just had to spend a bit of time troubleshooting the layout, as the first time I used it after not having done much with it over the summer months, I discovered there was a short somewhere. That's why you see some track disassembled - I had to break sections up in order to discover where the short was. It turned out that it was one of the turntable spokes - the one the turntable is set on in the video.

The helix / spiral you see is a branch line which will eventually lead to a village situated at about 120mm above the bridge line. You can see the entry line with passing bay running under the Bietschtal bridge. The bridge line is 180mm above the main level, and the lower level is 230mm below the main level. That makes a total of 530mm from the lowest to the highest levels.

Edited by user 12 May 2013 10:56:15(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline kweekalot  
#265 Posted : 12 May 2013 19:21:16(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Joined: 27/06/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,565
Location: Holland
Hi Dave,
Great video !! ThumpUp
It is the first time I see your entire layout this way.
I really like it.

Marco
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kweekalot
Offline Yumgui  
#266 Posted : 12 May 2013 19:30:25(UTC)
Yumgui

United States   
Joined: 20/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,644
Location: Paris, France
Originally Posted by: river6109 Go to Quoted Post
Dave,
Enjoyed the video, I didn't realize how big your layout is.
thanks for sharing
John

Dito ! Really nice to see all that running space ...

Y Drool

If your M track is rusted ... DON'T throw it out !
Working on : http://www.arep.fr/en/#/welcome
Inspired by : http://www.nakedmarklin.com/ ... I am not alone in this universe, phew.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Yumgui
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#267 Posted : 12 May 2013 20:38:18(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: kweekalot Go to Quoted Post
Great video !! ThumpUp
It is the first time I see your entire layout this way.
I really like it.


Thanks all.

That's one of the reasons I made the video (apart from showing off the first train to run across the bridge!). It's one thing to look at a bunch of pictures and a trackplan, but there's nothing like a video with trains running on a layout to get a sense of scale of the layout.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Janne75  
#268 Posted : 12 May 2013 20:50:03(UTC)
Janne75

Finland   
Joined: 23/03/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,879
Location: Finland
Thanks from video and good overview tour of your layout. Good alterations and enough track lenght! ThumpUp You can run a very long distance before the loco is back again at the starting point. It looks also good with long trains and it is always nice when locos have to climb the hills. You have very much layout area, if you are going to make scenery there also?

I will make scenery only to top part of my small layout (kind of U-shape in a room of around 3x3 meters only). Bottom level will be without scenery = only tracks. Actually my "bridge table" will get scenery and also tunnel entrances to below top level layout. I have the bottom level only 15-20 cm below top level so it can not be seen easily. It will only be used to turn locos direction, some train storage and to do some optical tricks when trains dissapear and suddenly comes visible from different place and/or direction. My layouts top and bottom levels are not yet connected together.

Regards,
Janne
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#269 Posted : 12 May 2013 22:59:39(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Hi Janne, yes there will be scenery at some time, but for now my focus is to complete the wiring of turnouts / signals and sensors. There are 3 stations on the layout, I have the Kibri Bonn for the M track station area, the Vollmer Baden Baden for the station area on the other side of the bridge, and the Vollmer Moritzburg for the alpine village.

UserPostedImage

Kibri Bonn Bahnhof

UserPostedImage

Vollmer Baden Baden Bahnhof

UserPostedImage

Vollmer Moritzburg Bahnhof

Now of course, these stations aren't anywhere near each other in real life, but I like the buildings, it's my layout and I can put whatever buildings wherever I like! So, maybe not one for the purists, but there you go!
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Janne75  
#270 Posted : 13 May 2013 08:19:28(UTC)
Janne75

Finland   
Joined: 23/03/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,879
Location: Finland
Really beautiful stations. This hobby must not be taken too seriously and everyone can make their own layout just like they want. I have no any real places or buildings at my layout. I have not even space for such great looking stations. Thanks for sharing these pictures ThumpUp .

Janne
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Janne75
Offline kimballthurlow  
#271 Posted : 13 May 2013 21:45:23(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,183
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi David,

Thanks for the latest video. I like your layout very much, it really is an achievement.
(Lots of work too Blink ).

It has so much track, and places of interest for a train watcher.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kimballthurlow
Offline Danlake  
#272 Posted : 14 May 2013 09:29:02(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 718
Hi David,

Great to see a video of your layout. Excellent track plan and layingThumpUp

Look forward to see more as the layout progressBigGrin

Brgds - Lasse
Digital 8m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS2 60214 / Train Controller Gold
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Danlake
Offline GlennM  
#273 Posted : 14 May 2013 16:30:32(UTC)
GlennM

United Kingdom   
Joined: 09/05/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,468
Location: Somewhere Near Manchester, England
David,

Great video, and the layout is really coming together and looking good. ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp

I hope you will continue post lots more pics over the coming weeks, as I am always looking for ideas, and enjoy seeing the final layouts come together.

BR

Glenn
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by GlennM
Offline Christoffer  
#274 Posted : 21 May 2013 19:56:08(UTC)
Christoffer

Norway   
Joined: 23/12/2010(UTC)
Posts: 714
Hello David,

Thanks for the video, very nice to see your layout ThumpUp

Christoffer
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Christoffer
Offline kariosls37  
#275 Posted : 22 May 2013 00:42:50(UTC)
kariosls37

New Zealand   
Joined: 02/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,066
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Good to see some progress on the layout.

And never let the prototype get in the way of a good layoutSneaky
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kariosls37
Offline mattj70  
#276 Posted : 22 May 2013 00:47:31(UTC)
mattj70


Joined: 19/03/2010(UTC)
Posts: 478
Location: Port Richey FL
Looks great like all the activity on the rails!
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by mattj70
Offline old toot  
#277 Posted : 22 May 2013 21:46:08(UTC)
old toot

New Zealand   
Joined: 09/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 488
Location: christchurch, canterbury
Hi David

well its coming on and gives you some long runs the big bridge is always
a great looker eh , are you going to drop to the lower level below the bridge
to create a deep valley effect Love the noise of the M track and we have plenty of
extra M second hand here if you needs some extra including I have got all the little
section peices arrived in recently and all in very good condition almost mint
well enjoy the winter as Ken Ring says we are in for three months of snow so should
be good for train building BigGrin BigGrin BigGrin
and see you guys in November and the Club Modules are coming on down here also
we have about 10 units including three corner modules all being done in K track and
really looks cool and will be on show at the chch show this year
Good to see the big boy and all the smoke, we have done about three Brosigs lately for upgrades
and they all have had double 7226 smoke installed and the smoke they chunder out is really cool
as dusan has on his club videos shows
well must get back to it all the best David and have fun
bryan old toot
were we pickit, packit and postit
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by old toot
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#278 Posted : 24 May 2013 21:53:42(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: old toot Go to Quoted Post
.......are you going to drop to the lower level below the bridge to create a deep valley effect


Thanks Bryan. As there is a branch line running under the bridge, and other track running on the lower level underneath that, there won't be any deep valleys.

Offline christos563  
#279 Posted : 09 August 2013 19:19:59(UTC)
christos563

Greece   
Joined: 16/05/2012(UTC)
Posts: 102
Location: thessaloniki
Originally Posted by: laalves Go to Quoted Post
Superb.... the classic Märklin look and feel, combined with today's technology!

Great job!

Luís


Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Well, I've been blathering on on this forum for a few months now, so I figured it is time to post a bit of info about my layout, such as it is.

Firstly, I'll start off with a track plan.......made from good old M Track.

UserPostedImage

Anyone ever seen this before, and can you tell me where?

Size is 3.4m at the top, 2.4m on the right hand side, 1.5m on the left, and the bridge approach end is 1.2m




..... AND BOTH THE PLANS ARE OUTSTANDING OVER THE CENTURY. AND VERY NICE. !!
CHRISTOS563.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by christos563
Offline petestra  
#280 Posted : 09 August 2013 22:38:14(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,210
Location: washington,dc
This is a classic Märklin catalog layout. Just wonderful, Christos.

PeterThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp Smile
Offline Johnvr  
#281 Posted : 10 August 2013 06:09:00(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 815
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Hi David,

I really enjoyed watching the video of the train across the bridge !
Your layout extensions are very interesting, and the running time around the layout will be increased dramatically !
(don't know why I missed this in May ?!?)

Regards,BigGrin
John
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Johnvr
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#282 Posted : 10 August 2013 06:20:12(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Thanks all.

I've more or less finished wiring up the Schattenbahnhof, just need to test the sensors - all the dead sections are working ok.

I'm working on lengthening the rear incline to make it a lesser gradient (currently about 5%) - the test will be a V200 with seven 24cm tinplate coaches - currently it struggles with that many coaches, and I don't want to pull the guts out of my locos.
Offline tayloma  
#283 Posted : 12 February 2014 13:00:43(UTC)
tayloma

South Africa   
Joined: 03/07/2002(UTC)
Posts: 152
Location: Boksburg East, Gauteng
Hi all

This plan is from the 1971 Marklin catalogue

Regards

Mark
Regards

Mark
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#284 Posted : 12 February 2014 20:11:23(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Yes it is. You'll see on the first page of this thread that I've posted some images from the 1971 catalog of this layout.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#285 Posted : 12 February 2014 20:16:02(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
I'm working on lengthening the rear incline to make it a lesser gradient.......


I ended up putting about another metre length into the incline (total rise is 230mm over about 5 metre length), which makes it a lot easier on locos pulling longer trains up the incline.

During my Summer holidays (well it was raining on the days I did it) I built a display case on one wall in the train room.

Edit: the Display case has 2 shelves 3.5 metres long for H0 trains and 1 shelf 3.5 metres long for Gauge 1 trains.

Edited by user 12 February 2014 23:21:15(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Bigdaddynz attached the following image(s):
IMG_0798s.jpg
thanks 11 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline Martin T  
#286 Posted : 13 February 2014 10:08:52(UTC)
Martin T

Sweden   
Joined: 02/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 546
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Very nice display!
Drool

I realize now (too late) I should have built a bigger display, like yours.
The number of locos and cars are growing much faster than what I ever could imagine when I planned my train room.
Smile
Regards / Martin T
Click your way over to me in Marbrodal in Sweden: http://www.xn--mrklintg-0zaq.se/index_e.html
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Martin T
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#287 Posted : 13 February 2014 10:54:37(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,893
Location: New Zealand
Thanks Martin. The alcove in which I built the display case is formed because a steel beam goes through the train room (above the display case) which holds the upper level of the house up.

So, it made a rather convenient place to put a display case.

I intend to wire up the tracks on each level with feeder wires, so that I can plug a mobile station in and drive locos from one end to the other - access to the case is really only available from one end, once the layout is completed.
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Users browsing this topic
Guest
6 Pages«<456
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.747 seconds.