Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline IsItDigitalAlready?  
#1 Posted : 01 March 2015 18:44:56(UTC)
IsItDigitalAlready?

United States   
I have four locos of 1980s-90s vintage with AC motors. All have three-pole motors: three have round/barrel commutators, and one has a flat commutator (model numbers 3065, 3153, 3342, 3357).

Although I plan to sent them to a shop to have the conversion done, I would just like to know what is involved in the conversion, not a step-by- step "how-to," what problems you may have had, and what your results were.

To me it sounds simple: change out the motor for a 5-pole fixed magnet "high-efficiency" motor, remove reversing switch, hook up decoder to motor, lights, accessory (uncoupler, e.g.), tie everything down neatly, and that's it. How accurate it that?

Full disclosure - absolute newbie to digital - I last ran marklin in the 80s, and it was all AC (I still have nightmares about all the wires, THE WIRES...).

Bob
Cold Springs (Reno), in far Western Nevada
It's all Gordon's fault!
Offline biedmatt  
#2 Posted : 01 March 2015 18:59:30(UTC)
biedmatt

United States   
That is about all there is to it. If you are good with a soldering iron, you can do it yourself.

Edit: Keep it neat and organized.
https://www.marklin-user...nections.aspx#post479799
Matt
Era 3
DB lokos, coaches and freight cars from across Europe
But I do have the obligatory (six) SBB Krocs
ECoS 50200, all FX and MFX decoders replaced with ESU V4s, operated in DCC-RailCom+ with ABC brake control.
With the exception of the passenger wagens with Marklin current conducting couplers, all close couplers have been replaced with Roco 40397.
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by biedmatt
Offline amartinezv  
#3 Posted : 01 March 2015 19:56:28(UTC)
amartinezv

Spain