Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Cargodog  
#1 Posted : 29 December 2014 23:31:00(UTC)
Cargodog

Denmark   
Hi,

I'm new to this forum, so please forgive me if this question is posted in the wrong section, or if my questions have been answered elsewhere. I've searched through the forum, but didn't find what I'm looking for.

So, here's the lay of the land. I'm new to this digital MRR world, but not to MRR in general. I've just had a short break from this hobby for 25 years.

I've got loads of old M track, including switches, slip switches, turntables, etc. I also have 6 analogue trains (2x old steamer, 2x diesel loco, 1x Crocodile, 1x Zeppelin) that I'd really like to convert to digital. It'd be easier to buy new digital versions, but my old ones has a lot of sentimental value.

That was the background info. Now for the questions.

1) Would it be possible for someone in here to make a list of things I'd need to upgrade my track system to digital?

2) Could someone make a list of things I need to upgrade my analogue trains?

3) is it possible to digitally control my switches, and turntable, or would I need to still use the old analogue control boxes?

4) Further down the road, would it be possible to install signals that the individual trains would actually adhere to so the trains can run autonomously? Or would they just be for "show"?

Surfing the good ol' interweb, trying research my needs, I've stumbled across a lot of acronyms like mfx, mfx+, dcc, dc, cs1, cs2, ms1, ms2, ESU etc.

I've gotten more confused by my research, and I can't figure out if some of the stuff is outdated, or if there are different standards. If there are different standards, I'd obviously need to settle on one standard, and convert all to that standard.