Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline db ice3  
#1 Posted : 25 December 2014 09:13:33(UTC)
db ice3

hello everyone

( im fairly new to marklin so apologies for my ignorance and many questions as i try to learn about it )

im reading about points/switches and electric control of them.

theres a viessman motor with a built in decoder - 4554 which seems to need the case filing to make it fit some marklin points.

theres another viessman motor 4558 - i dont know anything about this - could someone explain?

then theres the marklin point motor - in 2 versions both with built in motor and some with and some without dcc decoder.

this is all very confusing.

iv read one review ( and i can see where the guy is coming from ) - he likes to have separate motor and a points decoder in case 1 part fails then you dont need to replace an entire motor-decoder unit, just the failed part.

i have 6 points so far and id like to equip them with motors and control them from my central station.

what do you experienced users recommend?

many thanks and kind regards
Offline Drongo  
#2 Posted : 25 December 2014 11:05:51(UTC)
Drongo

Australia   
Originally Posted by: db ice3 Go to Quoted Post
hello everyone

( im fairly new to marklin so apologies for my ignorance and many questions as i try to learn about it )

im reading about points/switches and electric control of them.

theres a viessman motor with a built in decoder - 4554 which seems to need the case filing to make it fit some marklin points.

theres another viessman motor 4558 - i dont know anything about this - could someone explain?

then theres the marklin point motor - in 2 versions both with built in motor and some with and some without dcc decoder.

this is all very confusing.