Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline sapa  
#1 Posted : 14 December 2014 14:44:52(UTC)
sapa

Sweden   
Hello!

I am completely new to this hobby (and electronics in general). Therefore I am experiencing a bit of frustration when I'm trying to start up my newly acquired Märklin Z set. I have many questions but the first obstacle experienced is causing me a lot of trouble, I simply don't get how to connect this stuff.

Here is a picture to show You what my problem is. Can someone please help me how to connect this. I am sorry for probably asking for help to a very banal and easy "problem".

UserPostedImage

Big thanks in advance! I am so eager to start this hobby.
Offline SteamNut  
#2 Posted : 14 December 2014 15:12:35(UTC)
SteamNut

United States   
Welcome to the form where there is no dumb question. I do not have the same transformer for my HO set but try pushing in the connectors on the transformer. You will see that they spring back and forth. Next take a screwdriver and disconnect the "banana" plugs from your wires and put the wirers into the connectors matching the colors on your wires. Push in the connector first before you do this and make sure there is a bare wire showing as the insulation from the wire will not make a proper connection. The colors correspond as such: Brown earth (Ground) Yellow constant voltage as for lights and Red variable voltage to run loks - Fred
Offline sapa  
#3 Posted : 14 December 2014 15:18:25(UTC)
sapa

Sweden   
Originally Posted by: SteamNut Go to Quoted Post