Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline JoeB  
#1 Posted : 25 October 2014 23:56:57(UTC)
JoeB

United States   
Hello, I am a newbie to Marklin and have some questions. I have the first phase of my track complete and looking to add signals and such. Looking to add the 74470 turnout lanterns to my turnouts which have the turnout mechanism and 74461 decoder. I was reading is a previous discussion from 2011 that the brown and yellow wire can be connected directly to the C-track for power, is this the case or is there a different way these need to be connected? Unfortunately the instructions with the lanterns or the Marklin wiring architecture does not help me much for this.

Also, what voltage do the LED street lights (72813 for example) operate at. I was looking to use a 120V to 3.3V 2.5Amp plug-in transformer for this, have had success with this transformer for other LED modeling projects.

Lastly if anyone knows a good location for help with Marklin wiring that would be great. I saw they are supposed to have a new wiring book out this year but not sure if it has been released yet.

Thanks for any help.
Offline Graham HO  
#2 Posted : 26 October 2014 01:44:26(UTC)
Graham HO

New Zealand   
Remember to fit a Current Limiting Resistor (820 Ohms) into the Yellow wire output before attaching to your LED Lights for test purposes. It could be that some on-line research will help you establish an optimum value Resistor for your 3.3 VDC output - it must be DC otherwise you will also need to include a small rectifier (polarity applies) into the supply wire to prevent 'flicker' in the LED. The output of your transformer should support about 300 - 500mA - each LED will draw about 10 - 15 mA. Be aware of polarity on the LED feed wire - positive supply to the Anode - negative to the Cathode, Good Luck.