Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline GlennM  
#1 Posted : 18 August 2014 15:35:25(UTC)
GlennM

United Kingdom   
I am not sure if this topic has been raised before, I did search on HAG conversion and got over 20 pages of results.

I have seen some nice older HAG models which are pristine condition but are two rail analog DC, and I have no knowledge whatsoever about this brand and the technicalities of running it on 3 rail, although through this Forum I see a lot of people have HAG conversions, and so;

a) Is the conversion to 3 rail analog a simple process;
b) Is the conversion to 3 rail digital (for use with Märklin CS) a simple process, and does this require changing motors etc, and is it possible to have digital sound as well?

Finally, if I am not confident enough at the moment to undertake the conversion, can anyone recommend a dealer or individual in Europe who can undertake the conversion preferably to digital on my behalf?

Thanks for your help

Best Regards

Glenn
Don't look back, your not heading that way.
Offline Oliver SBB-CFF-FFS  
#2 Posted : 18 August 2014 16:56:36(UTC)
Oliver SBB-CFF-FFS

Sweden   
Hi Glenn,

I think that the easiest way to convert would be using a lokpilot with the same motor that is currently in the loco. I know it will not always be the case but there should be a DC motor in there that should run well with a lokpilot. You could of course go full sound and add swiss light changeover etc. It all depends on which loco and what it is equipped with today and/or how much time you want to put into it.