Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Chad0x78  
#1 Posted : 09 July 2014 00:29:54(UTC)
Chad0x78

United States   
Hi guys, I hope someone can help me with this. I am really new to the hobby and it has grown on me like a fungus! I think I first got into trains about 3 months ago. Anyways I have a little z scale layout made. It is all wired to a Marklin mini-club. I used about 14 switch tracks and 4 or 5 feeder tracks. I have the switch tracks hooked up to 5 switch controller boxes. Please excuse me if my terminology stinks. I hope you guys can still understand what I'm trying to say. So I have a very modest layout.
It is fun to run the trains, even though I just finished building a mountain and could not for about a week. But I only have a DC set up and If I put 2 trains on at the same time they cannot be individually controlled. I do have a second mini-club transformer. And I have insulated rail-joiners. But I don't know how to hook everything up. I would really like to set up blocks but just haven't found anything on youtube the shows anything on the matter. If anyone can help I would be greatly appreciative.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Chad0x78
Offline kbvrod  
#2 Posted : 09 July 2014 00:52:28(UTC)
kbvrod

United States   
Hi Chad and welcome!
You need to feed the blocks with a separate power pack/transformer. Keep this simple for now.You have two loops,one is powered with a pp/transfo,the other is isolated from the second loop,that is handled with the 2nd pp/tranfo.That is the control the loco and the track they are on.

Dr D
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kbvrod
Offline ozzman  
#3 Posted : 09 July 2014 01:35:57(UTC)
ozzman

Australia   
Hello Chad and welcome to this forum!

You might find these links helpful:

http://guidetozscale.com...ml/guide_to_z-scale.html