Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Iamnotthecrazyone  
#1 Posted : 07 July 2014 02:30:40(UTC)
Iamnotthecrazyone

Australia   
I am toying with the idea of upgrading my old sony HD camcorder which made me very happy over the many years I had it but there's been so many advances since that may be the time has come.

I would like to know whether the processing of the movies in programs like vegas and in good computers is still problematic and much slower than 1080. Also how many Gb would take to have 1hr of video on the camera card at a middle point compression level?

If anyone here had the knowledge I'll thank you in advance. Alex
Offline Nielsenr  
#2 Posted : 07 July 2014 04:23:20(UTC)
Nielsenr

United States   
I am not an expert on video cameras. However, I often play a game of "if I had a lot of money", what camera would I buy. I came across a Sony FDR-AX100b 4K camera for $2000 US. I am not sure I do enough video recording to warrant this purchase, however I just picked up the Sony 65X850B 4K TV today so I would have something compatible to watch the recorded 4K video on.

I found a review (http://www.smartreview.com/sony...0b-4k-ultra-hd-camcorder) for this camera and it states:

"Compression and Recording: The FDR-AX100/B uses the new highly efficient XAVC-S 4K compression format (60Mbps bit rate) to record 4K @ 30p, or (50Mbps bit rate) to record 1080p video at 60p. The codec is so efficient, that it can hold 1 hour of 4K video on a standard 32GB Class 10 SDHC/SDXC memory card. Most other 4K camcorders require exotic storage or multiple cards to record to. "

So 1 hour of 4K in 32GB ... not bad ... and on a Class 10 memory card. And I like other features of his camera also.