Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Poll Question : What models do you own and do you want more versio
Choice Votes Statistics
  Total 181 100%
Guests can't see poll choices and poll results. Try login or register. Guests can't vote. Try login or register.
3 Pages123>
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline klarinettmeister  
#1 Posted : 15 March 2012 07:35:49(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Hi all!

By request I'm starting a new thread about this wonderful model of the Big Boy by Märklin and the real thing.

There have been many questions by us users about the models that you can't find in the catalogue, google (until now), etc.

Please share informative pictures, videos and experiences.

The first information I can contribute to is about the newest model 37994. I also think some of this applies to 37991, 37992 and 37993. Could somone confirm this as my 91 and 93 are in there boxes?
All functions are separate and can be mapped to whatever button you want. You also can map functions to "drive" and "stop". The smoke generator are. On 94 the smoke generator contacts are connected to AUX3 and can therefore be assigned to another button. On the 91 model this is permanently on. On the 93 I don't remember how the functions are mapped.

If you want to do some service under the engine like oiling it's best to turn it upside by following these steps (I have done this twice)

1. Put the engine on the wooden base and secure it with all the 3 screws.
2. Remove the big foam from the wooden box and turn it upside down.
3. Carefully put the base with the engine upside down in the foam.
4. Carefully unscrew the base and remove the base carefully.

The hardest part is to secure it to the base again as the foam is deeper than the engine. You have to push the base in the foam AND find the holes for the screws and secure the screws. Then it's just to turn the base with the engine carefully out of the foam.

Edited by user 15 March 2012 07:49:01(UTC)  | Reason: poll edited

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by klarinettmeister
Online Ian555  
#2 Posted : 15 March 2012 08:09:12(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

Thanks, this will be a very interesting thread. ThumpUp

Ian.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#3 Posted : 15 March 2012 08:10:22(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,739
Location: New Zealand
I have 37993 and 37994 is on the way!
Offline Tony  
#4 Posted : 15 March 2012 08:40:43(UTC)
Tony


Joined: 18/09/2004(UTC)
Posts: 709
Location: Bahrain (Ex South Africa),
37994 on the way - should get it this weekendBigGrin This is my first HO purchase in many many months.
Regards Tony
Online Ian555  
#5 Posted : 15 March 2012 08:58:30(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Couple of photo's of my Insider 37990 BigBoy.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Ian555
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#6 Posted : 15 March 2012 09:14:22(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,739
Location: New Zealand
And some of 37993.......

UserPostedImage


UserPostedImage


UserPostedImage


UserPostedImage


UserPostedImage
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Bigdaddynz
Offline DamonKelly  
#7 Posted : 15 March 2012 11:11:10(UTC)
DamonKelly

Australia   
Joined: 26/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 1,261
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Here's the real thing:

BB 4023 in Omaha, NE

UserPostedImage
--
Cheers,
Damon
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by DamonKelly
Offline kbvrod  
#8 Posted : 15 March 2012 12:16:56(UTC)
kbvrod

United States   
Joined: 23/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,595
Location: Beverly, MA
Hi all,





BigGrin

Dr D

Edited by moderator 16 March 2012 10:04:23(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 3 users liked this useful post by kbvrod
Online Ian555  
#9 Posted : 15 March 2012 15:56:48(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Little and large.

BigBoy and Limmat.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Offline steventrain  
#10 Posted : 15 March 2012 21:24:10(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,149
Location: Northern Ireland
Nice pictures, Dave.Smile
Largest marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline klarinettmeister  
#11 Posted : 15 March 2012 22:38:35(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Really nice contributions by everyone!

Ian, I noted that there´s a railing that´s loose on your Big Boy on the first pictures. Thanks for the comparison shot!

The videos were great! I´ve shared one of them on my Facebook already. BigGrin
Offline Nielsenr  
#12 Posted : 16 March 2012 03:00:51(UTC)
Nielsenr

United States   
Joined: 06/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 810
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
I have a 37993 and have pre-ordered a 37994. Just waiting for the 37994 to get delivered to the States.

Robert
Offline klarinettmeister  
#13 Posted : 16 March 2012 08:48:17(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Nice Robert. BigGrin

Seems that most people here have the 37993 and also have bought/preordered 37994.
Offline DaveB  
#14 Posted : 16 March 2012 09:25:33(UTC)
DaveB

Australia   
Joined: 07/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 619
Location: Gold Coast, Australia.
UserPostedImage

37992 BigBoy being tweaked with my lokprogrammer.

Edited by user 16 March 2012 10:05:51(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

DaveB attached the following image(s):
37992 Bigboy.jpg
D.A.Banks
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by DaveB
Offline EMD_GP7  
#15 Posted : 16 March 2012 12:37:15(UTC)
EMD_GP7


Joined: 22/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 103
Location: U.K. Midlands
The photos below show some other types of locomotives used alongside "Big Boys" on Sherman Hill, Wyoming which is where the locos worked.
I hope they are of interest to you.

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

The "Big Boy" is No. 4020 and is a brass model by Key Brass and factory painted.
I have Big boys from Trix and Marklin but these are screwed to their "planks" and this loco was easiest to use as a comparison.

The centre loco is a "Veranda Turbine" by Lionel and has sound and DCC control.
These locos were introduced in the 50's and three types were produced and were discontinued when increased oil prices made them uneconomic.
About 50 were built in total in 4,500 and 8500 HP versions.

The Other locos are EMD GP9 A&B "Road switcher" units which became the predominant type of loco used for freight throughout the USA as they could be combined into suitable "Horsepowers" to suit the load and all controlled from one loco.

The VW "Draisine" is included for size comparison and is by Eheim/Brawa.

Regards, Colin.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by EMD_GP7
Online Ian555  
#16 Posted : 16 March 2012 14:14:10(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi Colin,

Wonderful models, thanks for the photo's. ThumpUp

Ian.

Online Ian555  
#17 Posted : 17 March 2012 04:57:18(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Here's my Insider 37990 BigBoy on the layout.

Ian.



thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Online Ian555  
#18 Posted : 17 March 2012 10:59:58(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

e-mail this morning from Lokshop....order status - 37994 - RS - ordered at producer.

Looks like I'm waiting another week.

Ian.

Offline klarinettmeister  
#19 Posted : 22 March 2012 22:44:27(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Ian, what button do you use for the dog sound? BigGrin
Offline dntower85  
#20 Posted : 23 March 2012 02:24:43(UTC)
dntower85

United States   
Joined: 08/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,216
Location: Shady Shores, TX - USA
Here is my 37990 that I just got. Best timing of a new post for me.



DT
Now powered by ECoS II unit#2, RocRail

era - some time in the future when the space time continuum is disrupted and ICE 3 Trains run on the same rails as the Adler and BR18's.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by dntower85
Offline dntower85  
#21 Posted : 23 March 2012 02:33:48(UTC)
dntower85

United States   
Joined: 08/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,216
Location: Shady Shores, TX - USA
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Ian, what button do you use for the dog sound? BigGrin


Yes Ian I tried to find that button too, I think do to the old design using two decoders it must be a combo of two functions just as the whistel changes with f4 pushed.

I hit some random functions and it meowed. :-)

DT
Now powered by ECoS II unit#2, RocRail

era - some time in the future when the space time continuum is disrupted and ICE 3 Trains run on the same rails as the Adler and BR18's.
Offline dntower85  
#22 Posted : 23 March 2012 02:49:40(UTC)
dntower85

United States   
Joined: 08/01/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,216
Location: Shady Shores, TX - USA
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Ian, what button do you use for the dog sound? BigGrin


Yes Ian I tried to find that button too, I think do to the old design using two decoders it must be a combo of two functions just as the whistel changes with f4 pushed.

I hit some random functions and it meowed. :-)

DT
Now powered by ECoS II unit#2, RocRail

era - some time in the future when the space time continuum is disrupted and ICE 3 Trains run on the same rails as the Adler and BR18's.
Online Ian555  
#23 Posted : 23 March 2012 06:40:32(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Ian, what button do you use for the dog sound? BigGrin



Hi David,

I use the woof button. LOL

Ian.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Online Ian555  
#24 Posted : 23 March 2012 06:43:33(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi Darrin,

Enjoyed watching your video. ThumpUp

Ian.

Online Ian555  
#25 Posted : 23 March 2012 06:46:27(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi Darrin,

Sometimes, when I'm in the train room and I am recording, the "woof noise" just automatically starts. Smile

Ian.

Offline john black  
#26 Posted : 01 April 2012 12:08:18(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Congratulations and a big thanks, David - a topic on the BB is overdue for quite some time !!! Cool Cool Cool
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by john black
Offline john black  
#27 Posted : 01 April 2012 13:05:44(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Loverly videos too, friends ... Laugh

Well, I do own just #4012 (M's release #37991 from year 2005) ...
and being restricted to a small layout she'll be my only BB, alas Sad
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
Offline gachar001  
#28 Posted : 02 April 2012 15:55:08(UTC)
gachar001


Joined: 29/04/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,365
Location: Atlanta, GA
Are there any visual differences between the 37993 and 37994?
Gautham
Atlanta, GA USA
Offline H0  
#29 Posted : 02 April 2012 17:33:01(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 9,035
Originally Posted by: gachar001 Go to Quoted Post
Are there any visual differences between the 37993 and 37994?
Yes, besides the smoke deflectors, the coal area of the tender is different (extra frame with 37993 for higher capacity), and something's different at the handrails at the front (maybe used as a cooler?).

Pictures of the older Big Boys:
http://www.marklin-users...klin-Big-Boy-models.aspx

Pictures of the new Big Boy 37994:
http://i3.ytimg.com/vi/rVMGJ9CiOh8/hqdefault.jpg
http://www.xbe.es/trens/oferta/bigboy1.jpg

Edited by user 02 April 2012 17:41:18(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Regards
Tom
---
Happy customer of Roco, Piko, Fleischmann, ESU, Brawa, Liliput, Rivarossi, Lima, ... - and will happily continue to buy locos that run well out of the box. I'm also happy with 95% of my Märklin items, but will avoid a few cost-optimized items made 2011 or later.
thanks 3 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline klarinettmeister  
#30 Posted : 02 April 2012 18:20:39(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Yesterday (I know it was 1st April yesterday) I took my 4 Big Boys out of their boxes and made some pictures and videos. They are now in their boxes, waiting for a layout!

I´ll start sharing the pictures and give some text. And here you´ll see the differences. On all the pictures from the front you´ll see them in the order from right (37990, 37991, 37993, 37994). In the background is the most impressive Walthers Blast Furnace. Enjoy. If you´re interested I´ll post the videos too. On them you´ll see all running with sounds and also one video without sounds so that you can hear the sounds of the motors.

UserPostedImage
37994, 37993, 37991, 37990

UserPostedImage
Let there be light! The 37990 has a front light and also a brighter light beam which is totally useless I think. The 37993 and 37994 have white LEDs.

UserPostedImage
All 4 Big Boys from the side. Note where the smoke deflectors are installed on the 37994. I think I´ve misaligned one pipe on the picture. Need to investigate this... I´ve installed 2*7226 in the 37994.

UserPostedImage
From above.

UserPostedImage
Sorry, I´m a bad photographer...

UserPostedImage
It´s magic.

UserPostedImage
No comments

UserPostedImage
On this picture I´ve circled everything that´s visually new to the 37993 and 37994.

UserPostedImage
The news catolouge says changes on the new tender. Where??? All 4 tenders looks the same to me!

UserPostedImage
The 37994 Big Boy upside-down. Note the new pick-up shoe which looks like it came from an old 3005. The 37994 is much more sensitive on the tracks than the older models. Why change something that´s good??

UserPostedImage
Front truck on 37994.

UserPostedImage
The "newer" type of pick-up shoe. Much more sensitive than the older models!?!

UserPostedImage
The tender of 37994

UserPostedImage
Yes! The problem with the screw to the front truck is back!! The screw is really loose and I suspect the screw loosened up when the loco was running on my oval. It unscrewed totally when I tried to screw it back on the base upside-down. It´s possible to screw it on using a small screw-driver at the same angle as I show you on the picture. You don´t need to remove the motor, just the front decoder and the smoke generator contact holders and use very much light.

UserPostedImage
Very clean!!

UserPostedImage
X4013!!

UserPostedImage
X4006!!
thanks 5 users liked this useful post by klarinettmeister
Offline klarinettmeister  
#31 Posted : 02 April 2012 18:23:52(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Tom, you were faster than me. BigGrin

Now I see the difference on the tender. Look at the picture from behind. On the 37994 it´s perfectly curved at the coal bunker, whereas the others aren´t equally curved. Thanks!
Online Ian555  
#32 Posted : 02 April 2012 18:49:28(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

Wonderful photos, thanks for the time taken to set that all up. ThumpUp

Ian.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Offline H0  
#33 Posted : 02 April 2012 19:07:28(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 9,035
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Tom, you were faster than me. BigGrin
I only searched for pictures - you marked and uploaded pictures.

BTW: another difference: my 37993 came with ESU decoder, the new 37994 comes with Märklin decoder and sounds differently.
I prefer the ESU sound, but some prefer the Märklin sound.
Earlier Big Boys have the pre-mfx Märklin sound which is less dynamic than modern sound decoders.

Some say that some 37993 also came with Märklin decoders.
Regards
Tom
---
Happy customer of Roco, Piko, Fleischmann, ESU, Brawa, Liliput, Rivarossi, Lima, ... - and will happily continue to buy locos that run well out of the box. I'm also happy with 95% of my Märklin items, but will avoid a few cost-optimized items made 2011 or later.
Offline klarinettmeister  
#34 Posted : 02 April 2012 19:24:45(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Who knows... As there are different batches and we know that Märklin don´t inform their costumers of any changes.

I actually prefer the newest one, Märklin. Mostly because of the click-clack sound. But I´m a little worried about the new motor. It will be interesting to follow all the Youtube-videos. Here´s my latest. All sound functions on all the 4 Big Boys at the same time! Now the pipe is fixed. There´s a small hole where the pipe's peg will fit in. If I were to keep only one loco-model it would be one of the Big Boys!

Big Boy test
Offline gachar001  
#35 Posted : 02 April 2012 20:50:19(UTC)
gachar001


Joined: 29/04/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,365
Location: Atlanta, GA
Tom and David,
Thanks for the nice pictures.
Gautham
Atlanta, GA USA
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by gachar001
Offline john black  
#36 Posted : 03 April 2012 16:15:55(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post

The 37994 is much more sensitive on the tracks than the older models.
Why change something that´s good??

True words, David - talk about money ... LOL
BTW - by "more sensitive" do you mean dirt ?

Well, from my ~70 locos my BB (year 2005 #37991 w/ MFX-decoder)
is the one acting extremely picky when it comes to dusty track ThumbDown
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
Offline klarinettmeister  
#37 Posted : 06 April 2012 10:42:41(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Originally Posted by: john black Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post

The 37994 is much more sensitive on the tracks than the older models.
Why change something that´s good??

True words, David - talk about money ... LOL
BTW - by "more sensitive" do you mean dirt ?

Well, from my ~70 locos my BB (year 2005 #37991 w/ MFX-decoder)
is the one acting extremely picky when it comes to dusty track ThumbDown


John, I think it depends on the length of the pick-up shoe. I didn´t measure the pick-up shoes, but I think the new one is shorter. The pick-up shoe on the 37994 is similar to the older ones Märklin have used, like on the 3005.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#38 Posted : 06 April 2012 11:30:37(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,739
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Yes! The problem with the screw to the front truck is back!! The screw is really loose and I suspect the screw loosened up when the loco was running on my oval. It unscrewed totally when I tried to screw it back on the base upside-down. It´s possible to screw it on using a small screw-driver at the same angle as I show you on the picture. You don´t need to remove the motor, just the front decoder and the smoke generator contact holders and use very much light.


Oh dear! I had the same problem with 37993, the screw was floating around inside the box when I got the loco. Hopefully 37994 is better - mine is somewhere between NZ Customs and me!
Offline klarinettmeister  
#39 Posted : 06 April 2012 12:11:47(UTC)
klarinettmeister

Sweden   
Joined: 13/02/2008(UTC)
Posts: 641
Location: Kirseberg
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Yes! The problem with the screw to the front truck is back!! The screw is really loose and I suspect the screw loosened up when the loco was running on my oval. It unscrewed totally when I tried to screw it back on the base upside-down. It´s possible to screw it on using a small screw-driver at the same angle as I show you on the picture. You don´t need to remove the motor, just the front decoder and the smoke generator contact holders and use very much light.


Oh dear! I had the same problem with 37993, the screw was floating around inside the box when I got the loco. Hopefully 37994 is better - mine is somewhere between NZ Customs and me!


Just telling the truth. 37994 has the same problem... After I took the pictures from under the train I was supposed to screw it back on the board. I began in front and I accidently pulled too much. Then the front truck was loose... They should have a better design. Propably this design makes it easier to assemble the loco. The screw is too loose. The screw was loose on arrival on the 37990...
Offline Deborail  
#40 Posted : 06 April 2012 13:22:24(UTC)
Deborail

Oman   
Joined: 06/10/2009(UTC)
Posts: 775
Location: Oman
I have the 22598 BB UP 4011BigGrin - It is a trix version, I got it in 2010 from ETS (Germany), The loco has been my flagship in my layouts in Dubai and Fujairah UAE and now in Thailand. Unfortunately due to transportation, it developed a little jerking problem but I had it fixed and now it runs smoothly as before. What a loco!

UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by user 09 May 2012 14:03:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

George

Given enough time, tasks manage themselves.
Online Ian555  
#41 Posted : 07 April 2012 06:02:49(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

Great video. ThumpUp

Ian.

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Ian555
Online Ian555  
#42 Posted : 20 April 2012 14:36:13(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

e-mail from Lokshop, order for 37994 shipped today. Smile

Ian.

Offline Bigdaddynz  
#43 Posted : 20 April 2012 22:59:06(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,739
Location: New Zealand
Thankfully, there were no loose screws when I received my 37994. Here's a photo I took of it.

UserPostedImage
Online Ian555  
#44 Posted : 21 April 2012 05:17:43(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

Great photo, looking forward to my own one arriving. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Nielsenr  
#45 Posted : 21 April 2012 06:11:54(UTC)
Nielsenr

United States   
Joined: 06/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 810
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Picked up my Big Boy on Wednesday ... awesome looking loco!!

Robert
Online Ian555  
#46 Posted : 21 April 2012 06:23:11(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi Robert,

Smile ThumpUp ThumpUp

Ian.

Online Ian555  
#47 Posted : 24 April 2012 11:59:13(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Arrived this morning, carefully opened the box and all looks well. ThumpUp

Ian.

UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Offline steventrain  
#48 Posted : 24 April 2012 12:02:28(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,149
Location: Northern Ireland
Very lovely, Ian.ThumpUp
Largest marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Online Ian555  
#49 Posted : 24 April 2012 12:07:00(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,554
Location: Scotland
Hi Stephen,

Thanks. ThumpUp

Was a busy morning with parcels Smile , had a boxed 3075 arrive as well.

Ian.

Offline NZMarklinist  
#50 Posted : 26 April 2012 10:01:38(UTC)
NZMarklinist

New Zealand   
Joined: 15/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,308
Location: Auckland NZ
Originally Posted by: Bigdaddynz Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: klarinettmeister Go to Quoted Post
Yes! The problem with the screw to the front truck is back!! The screw is really loose and I suspect the screw loosened up when the loco was running on my oval. It unscrewed totally when I tried to screw it back on the base upside-down. It´s possible to screw it on using a small screw-driver at the same angle as I show you on the picture. You don´t need to remove the motor, just the front decoder and the smoke generator contact holders and use very much light.


Oh dear! I had the same problem with 37993, the screw was floating around inside the box when I got the loco. Hopefully 37994 is better - mine is somewhere between NZ Customs and me!



Hi David & BD,
Mine's on the way from Germany from LS too, as of Monday Morning, I hope you didn't & I don't have a pause and another contribution to HM Customs, Dave ? Cursing

As for this loose screw business, I thought it was the screw holding the front truck or bogie from underneath but David's pic shows him delving into the inards, so what screw is the problem David/Dave ? What do I need to look out for, as if we should need to Glare

Dennis tells me he had a loose screw in the box when he received his 37990, brand new ex factory, a few years ago too Confused

You would think Marklin would have this problem solved by now, does the screw come loose with use on these Locos Confused Cursing


PS; Lovely pics David, Dave and Ian ThumpUp
Glen
Auckland NZ

" Every Marklin layout needs a V200, a Railbus and a Banana car", not to mention a few Black and red Steamers, oh and the odd Elok !

CS1 Reloaded, Touch Cab, C Track Modules, K track layout all under construction. Currently Insider
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
3 Pages123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.919 seconds.