Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

5 Pages123>»
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ian555  
#1 Posted : 11 March 2012 15:39:53(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

So, I know more and more of us are going digital, but what about those who love their analog Loco's and run them on their layout.

As you know, at the moment I run both analog and digital Loco's on my layout (at the same time) and my new layout will be no different, with 3 seperate small layouts to run my analog Loco's on, alongside the digital sections of the layout.

Right, so the question is....How many analog Loco's do you have.

I did a head count this morning and was pleasantly surprised to find I have 54......8 of which are BR23's. Smile

This is not being run as a competition to see who has the most, more to gauge the interest there is, in still owning Analog Loco's.

Ian.



Offline aos  
#2 Posted : 11 March 2012 16:54:59(UTC)
aos

Scotland   
Joined: 03/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 397
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Ian, I have one left as I have converted or sold all the others. The remaining one is a 3111 brown Belgian loco, which I believe was a limited edition. I shall be putting it up for sale on Ebay soon. Like all my previous stuff that I sold, it is in 100% mint condition as it has hardly ever been used. Alan
Offline Ian555  
#3 Posted : 11 March 2012 17:43:53(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Alan,

I'm sure it will go to a good home.

Ian.

Offline Western Pacific  
#4 Posted : 11 March 2012 17:48:06(UTC)
Western Pacific

Sweden   
Joined: 19/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 770
Location: Lidingö, Sweden
Given that I plan on only having digital control on my new layout, my first response is that there are far too many analogue loks. But more correctly it is about 65 out of close to 250 loks and this counting Märklin only. So converting them, or at least many of them will create a big hole in my wallet. Blushing

If I would count other brands as well, then total number of loks exceeds 350, but given that the majority of these 100 non-Märklin loks are Roco and thus most of them are digital and I may sell the ones which are not.
Offline Ian555  
#5 Posted : 11 March 2012 18:01:33(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Per,

That's one expense I won't have, I do not intend to convert any of them.

Are you still buying analog Loco's with a view of converting them to digital.

Thanks for your input.

Ian.

Offline RayF  
#6 Posted : 11 March 2012 18:08:38(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,736
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
I have kept 5 of my locos in original analogue condition.

CM800 Br89
3005 Br23
3001 E63
Primex 2702 E44
Primex 2760 0-6-0 steamer

Of these I might yet convert the Primex 2760.

Of the total of 97 locos in my collection, about 35 were originally analogue. The rest were either delta or digital from new.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#7 Posted : 11 March 2012 18:26:54(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

I had noticed that some of your recent loco purchases are analog, and you then convert them.

Ian.

Offline RayF  
#8 Posted : 11 March 2012 19:27:31(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,736
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Ray,

I had noticed that some of your recent loco purchases are analog, and you then convert them.

Ian.



That's right, Ian. My preference is to run locos in digital mode. Some of the older locos which I've wanted for years get converted as soon as I get them. However, there are some locos on my wish list which I don't intend to convert, such as the 3048 I would like to get this year, and the Berlin S-Bahn train which I want to get in the future.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Soest  
#9 Posted : 11 March 2012 19:34:38(UTC)
Soest


Joined: 04/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 141
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
I just bought two analogue locomotives so I seem to be bucking the trend. This is what I have:

3003
3015
30159
3027
3029
3048
3109
3179

I have an analogue layout, separate from my digital layout and they are platooned there.
Why do grown men play with trains?
Their wives insist they are insane
But their dreams they won't let down the drain
'Cause there ain't no thing so hard to lose as those disappearing railway blues.
Offline Ian555  
#10 Posted : 11 March 2012 19:46:02(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Michael,

I also, am still buying Analog Loco's/Sets.

Ian.



Offline foumaro  
#11 Posted : 11 March 2012 19:52:55(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,588
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
I have 19 analog models and i will keep them in this condition.I want to fix an analog layout in the future to run these nice classics.
Offline hennabm  
#12 Posted : 11 March 2012 20:13:36(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,563
Location: Edinburgh,
Hi Ian

all my loks are analog and will remain so as my layout will be purely analog BigGrin

So far I have 20 loks Cool but ebay is my weaknessBlushing

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline steventrain  
#13 Posted : 11 March 2012 20:34:00(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,294
Location: Northern Ireland
I have about 30% of Analog locos, 70% was digital/delta.
Largest Marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/M-tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50, E103, E120/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline Ian555  
#14 Posted : 11 March 2012 20:36:12(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Panayotis,

Thanks for your input. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#15 Posted : 11 March 2012 20:37:50(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Mike,

Thanks, have you got a BR23 yet.

Ian.



Offline hennabm  
#16 Posted : 11 March 2012 20:39:13(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,563
Location: Edinburgh,
Hi Ian

No BR23 yetBlushing It is on my shopping list and I have been watching one or two recently on ebay.de

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline kbvrod  
#17 Posted : 11 March 2012 22:14:12(UTC)
kbvrod

United States   
Joined: 23/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,596
Location: Beverly, MA
Hi all,
AC or DC?LOL

Dr D
Offline Yumgui  
#18 Posted : 11 March 2012 22:20:24(UTC)
Yumgui

United States   
Joined: 20/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,644
Location: Paris, France
Ian,

I'd say 60% analog, 40% digital ... that's with roughly 75 locos (probably closer to 100 ... ) including 2 analog BR53s, until I get my inventory up to date ...

And yeah kbv, that's AC, with only about half dozen DC ... ^^ ! ThumpUp

Yum Tongue

Edited by user 11 March 2012 22:51:19(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If your M track is rusted ... DON'T throw it out !
Working on : http://www.arep.fr/en/#/welcome
Inspired by : http://www.nakedmarklin.com/ ... I am not alone in this universe, phew.
Offline hennabm  
#19 Posted : 11 March 2012 22:28:55(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,563
Location: Edinburgh,
Originally Posted by: kbvrod Go to Quoted Post
Hi all,
AC or DC?LOL

Dr D


All AC ThumpUp

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline Western Pacific  
#20 Posted : 11 March 2012 22:31:15(UTC)
Western Pacific

Sweden   
Joined: 19/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 770
Location: Lidingö, Sweden
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Per,

That's one expense I won't have, I do not intend to convert any of them.

Are you still buying analog Loco's with a view of converting them to digital.

Thanks for your input.

Ian.



I don't remember when I decided I'd only buy digital loks from that date and I've followed that principle. This means, no I'm not buying analogue anymore.

However, now afterwards knowing what has been presented later, high efficiency 5-pole motors with permanent magnets, some of my early digital purchases could just as well have been analogue. But instead I'll have to stick to my new principle first convert all analogue that I want to convert, then turn to delta loks - I have a few of those, that were only released as such - and finally select the few digital loks that I want to upgrade with 5-pole rotor and mfx/M4 decoders (or possibly DCC).

So one part of my hobby will be to bring out the soldering iron and install decoders. Being an electrical engineer, who so far in his career hasn't touched hardware, not written a single line of software, but still played important roles in developing GSM and 3G cellular standards as well as specifying and marketing equipment for mobile telecom systems, I feel this type of contact with hardware quite relaxing and different from doing work in front of the computer screen or in meetings.
Offline RayF  
#21 Posted : 11 March 2012 22:43:55(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,736
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: kbvrod Go to Quoted Post
Hi all,
AC or DC?LOL

Dr D


3 rail or 2 rail? LOLLOL
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by RayF
Offline kimballthurlow  
#22 Posted : 11 March 2012 22:44:42(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,183
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi,
I purchased all my Marklin after 2005, new, and digital. NO analogue at all.

I do however have analogue brass locomotives (US prototype), and 50 year old Hornby Dublo analogue.
I enjoy both of these sets of models for what they are. They will remain analogue.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
Offline JKJ  
#23 Posted : 11 March 2012 23:55:44(UTC)
JKJ

Norway   
Joined: 12/05/2010(UTC)
Posts: 122
Location: Bergen, Norway
Hi,

9 of my 17 locomotives are analogue.
I might convert some of them to digital in the future. I decided to switch to digital about one year ago, and since then, I have only bought digital locos.

Brg
John Kristian


Offline CCS800KrokHunter3  
#24 Posted : 12 March 2012 02:26:18(UTC)
CCS800KrokHunter3

United States   
Joined: 03/04/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,401
100% analog....had a digital one once but didn't know what to do with it / how to operate it so I sold it. BigGrin

Paul
Offline river6109  
#25 Posted : 12 March 2012 02:38:03(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,766
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Ian,

I think I have 6 analog locos left.

1 x = 3060 (F7), 2 x 3029, 1 x 3000 (BR 89), 1 x 3472 (SNCF Sedco), 1 x 33321 (OeBB 1020).

there are 6 conversion sets on its way but they don't match above locos.
One day I'll go through them all and find out which one is analog.

John

http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Ian555  
#26 Posted : 12 March 2012 07:05:34(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Thanks for the fantastic feedback to that question.....How many analog Loco's do you have.

Today, can we move the goal posts slightly and ask....Do you still buy analog Loco's??

The reason for this question is that recently there has been a sharp increase in the price of 60's/70's Loco's on e-bay, and I was wondering if there is an under lying trend to this.

For myself, I am still buying analog Loco's (3085 this weekend).

Ian.

Offline foumaro  
#27 Posted : 12 March 2012 07:26:23(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,588
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
I had a list of must have analog models.I bought most of them on ebay.de.I have some more to buy so if i will find the money i will
try to buy them.I bought 3005,3023,3047,3048,3000,3001,3002,3034,3039,3062,3181,3129,3021,3022,3127,3111,all with boxes
and papers,and i want to have the other 3062 new haven(i have the rio grande),3060,3038,3159,3050.I love the top quality of
these models and this is the reason i want to have them.
Offline Ian555  
#28 Posted : 12 March 2012 07:30:54(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Panayotis,

Wonderful collection of analog Loco's. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline RayF  
#29 Posted : 12 March 2012 09:01:20(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,736
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
I still buy analogue models, but mainly with a view to converting them to digital.

Some of the models from the '70s and '80s were excellent, and easily and cheaply converted to a great digital loco. The last loco I bought, 3033 Br114, cost me less than €120 including the cost of the 60760 decoder kit.

However, as I posted earlier, I do keep some analogue, and this year I want to get a nice 3048 for my small analogue collection.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#30 Posted : 12 March 2012 09:45:12(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,868
Location: New Zealand
My 3000 and 3005 are both still analog. The 3000 will stay analog, but I'm undecided about the 3005.

I have a 3065 and 3131 V100's, and a 3021, all of which will be converted to digital.

And, I have just scored an SK800, which will definitely stay analog (pictures will follow, when I get it).

Edited by user 13 March 2012 08:41:17(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Ian555  
#31 Posted : 12 March 2012 10:02:37(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

I agree, some of the old Loco's (if not all Smile ) are best left just as they are.

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#32 Posted : 12 March 2012 10:05:20(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Dave,

Looking forward to photo's of your SK800. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline river6109  
#33 Posted : 12 March 2012 11:22:07(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,766
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Ian,

Naturally prices will go up for locos in good condition, with papers and the original box.

However there is quite a price difference between 50 and 60 stuff or earlier models such as the F800, SK 800, SE 800, SEW 800 SEW H 800 and CCS 800 and others.
Going into the 60's and 70's and later there has been the odd loco which fetched bigger amounts.

So one has to be aware and include the possible price these locos can sell for.

I've said it before and say it again to buy locos for an investment is a waste of money from these later years and anybody does buy them for what they are is a complete different option.

I did convert a 3025 to digital (6080 decoder) but the spareparts had been kept and when I sold it everything was put back to its original condition.

My personal opinion is, there is a limit to what year you can start converting locos and the locos I've mentioned above are excluded and others I haven't mentioned from that era and before.

Also some of the models if not all did come in a different upgraded version, if you like, e.g. SET 800, 3027, 3047 and I have converted them into digital.
Some of the SK 800 I've seen has been more or less bejond repair (Zinkpest) and to repair them professionally most probably cost you more than one in a good condition.

John
http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Ian555  
#34 Posted : 12 March 2012 11:58:11(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi John,

No, I wasn't thinking of them as an investment ( I do that in bricks and mortar.) and was not comparing them to the earlier 50's loco's.

The price increase was really just from when I got "back in" to Märklin, say 3 years ago, when a nice 2-10-0 Loco would cost £75, to now costing £175.

Like you said, nearly everything goes up in price.

Ian.

Offline BrandonVA  
#35 Posted : 12 March 2012 12:44:27(UTC)
BrandonVA

United States   
Joined: 09/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 2,044
Location: VA
I have 11 analog locos, but my total collection is "only" 18 locos, and the remaining delta/digital locs are run in analog mode. Everyone enjoys the hobby differently, I have decided I don't really have any interest in going digital. My current plan is to continue collecting as many "classic" analog locos as I can over the next few years to grab up good copies that have not yet been converted. I like to have the locos in their original configuration from the factory. My particular area of interest at the moment is not super rare, locos made from the mid 70s-early 90s. I have a limited budget at the moment, and I find I can enjoy a very nice copy of many analog locos for $100-200 USD via eBay, while most brand new digital models cost much more.

I do not mean any offense to those who do conversions, certainly do what makes you happy!
Offline keigwin  
#36 Posted : 12 March 2012 12:54:29(UTC)
keigwin

United States   
Joined: 07/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 43
Location: Boston, MA
I now have 27 locos, all Marklin, all digital.
All Marklin Digital Era II - V with CS2 60214
Offline NZMarklinist  
#37 Posted : 12 March 2012 12:57:17(UTC)
NZMarklinist

New Zealand   
Joined: 15/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,328
Location: Auckland NZ
Hi All,
I purchased all the Loks I have after 2005 as well. The two MFX ones that were part of the Starter Set I bought in 2004 got sold back in 2006 when I replaced with same set incl with CS1. That all got sold too, back when I used to have guilt feelings about too much Marklin. Blushing
You'll all be pleased to know that I've got over that now BigGrin LOL
The only analogue Lok I've bought was my 3077 Zeplin Rail Car which has had extensive Digital modifications, and right now is having further up grades Wink

Edit; How could I have forgotten my 3016 Rail Bus and two 4016 Trailers. I bought them, unused on ebay in 2005, with the intention of converting them, and may still do. However when the 39980 came out in '06 I shelved them, still unused, but have still kept them as a momento of my childhood Marklin days Blushing BigGrin

Edited by user 12 March 2012 13:43:25(UTC)  | Reason: typo

Glen
Auckland NZ

" Every Marklin layout needs a V200, a Railbus and a Banana car", not to mention a few Black and red Steamers, oh and the odd Elok !

CS1 Reloaded, Touch Cab, C Track Modules, K track layout all under construction. Currently Insider
Offline Ian555  
#38 Posted : 12 March 2012 13:54:14(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Brandon,

Sounds like a good plan. ThumpUp

Ian.



Offline Ian555  
#39 Posted : 12 March 2012 13:57:13(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Mark,

And a BigBoy. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#40 Posted : 12 March 2012 14:01:47(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi Glen,

I to have a 3016 Railbus with only one trailer, and a "few" banana wagons. ThumpUp ThumpUp

Like you say "every layout should have one." Smile

Ian.


Offline Johnvr  
#41 Posted : 12 March 2012 20:24:48(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 817
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Hi all,

I always had all analog locos from the time I started with Marklin in 1967 until 2005.
For me, it was fun designing signalling systems and track control to allow several trains to run around layouts, switching turnouts and creating reverse loops with signals.

Then, in 2005, I purchased a Delta Starter Set to see what multi-train control was like (ICE-2 starter set).
Since then, I have been converting my analog locos to digital, and purchasing digital loks.
If you have an interest in electronics, then it is actually quite rewarding to install decoders into old trains.
I have about 20 loks running on delta/digital, and 5 loks remaining on analog (Tank locos and Railbus)
These remaining analog ones will be for my grand-children to play with one day !

I have heaps of M-Track, literally heaps !
But have been buying C-Track recently because I enjoy the geometry of C-Track. No more little tiddly bits !

To be honest, I prefer the old trains (Class 01, Class 23, Class 24, Crocodiles, Ae6/6, etc) from the 1970s to the new ones and I am delighted to see these old loks running around with digital control which conversions I have done myself !!

Regards, BigGrin
John


Offline kbvrod  
#42 Posted : 12 March 2012 20:42:02(UTC)
kbvrod

United States   
Joined: 23/08/2006(UTC)
Posts: 2,596
Location: Beverly, MA
Hi Ray,all,

Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: kbvrod Go to Quoted Post
Hi all, AC or DC?LOL Dr D
3 rail or 2 rail? LOLLOL


Since you asked,.....Flapper

I do have M starter sets,which will forever be analog,......and a coffee table layout to showcase them.

BR 52 Güzhold,.....
BR 55 Fleischmann,TCS M-1 installed
BR 56 Fleischmann ECS M-1,.....been busy LOL
BR 57 Roco,plug-in decoder,.......been busy Blushing
Piko Kö, *cough* hard wire job.
BR 98 Fleischmann,plug-in Zimo,......don't ask!!!Cursing LOL

Dr D
Offline mike c  
#43 Posted : 12 March 2012 22:29:55(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Joined: 28/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 5,014
Location: Montreal, QC
I don't exactly understand what some of the posts are trying to say.

For example, CCS800KrokHunter3 said
Originally Posted by: CCS800KrokHunter3 Go to Quoted Post
100% analog....had a digital one once but didn't know what to do with it / how to operate it so I sold it.


Most digital models (and all AC digital models for Maerklin) can also be used on analog layouts. This may require adjustment of dip switches (on older Maerklin digital or delta models), but most modern models can simply be placed on the track and operated right out of the box.

Secondly, for anybody who has older analog loks, Maerklin released a number of upgrade kits which allow the modeller to replace certain parts and install a digital decoder, meaning that your old classics can easily be upgraded for operation on digital layouts as well as also on classic analog tracks, so I cannot understand why people would sell rather than convert (or have converted).

I, personally, have a good number of models that are analog. I should have bought the digital models at the time, but I only went digital after 2001, so many of my Hag models (for example) are analog. I guess that I will have to plan on having them converted at some point. My Maerklin collection has been updated. I managed to replace most of my delta Re 4/4II with swapped chassis from more recent models. My Ae 6/6 are all digital with the exception of my 3337. I may convert that one at some point. Same for my Re 460. I still have a few delta loks, which can be used on digital as is, but may convert those as well.

My Roco loks with the exception of one Re 4/4IV are already digital ready, so that is not an issue.

My priority for the moment is the conversion of my Hag Re 460s. The SOB Re 4/4 is also a priority. The Re 4/4IIs, Re 6/6s and Ae 6/6s are less urgent as I already have digital models of those lok types.

I guess that my next decision will be digital vs digital with sound and once I have made that decision, I should start by converting a few of my advertising and special livery Hag loks to digital so that I can move on to the next topic... Should I stay with my 6021s or should I move to CS2 or ECOS type controller?

It seems that this issue opens up a whole can of worms and a flood of other issues. Has that held any of you back in your decision to convert/upgrade from analog?

Regards

Mike C
Offline 5HorizonsRR  
#44 Posted : 12 March 2012 23:06:05(UTC)
5HorizonsRR

United States   
Joined: 05/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,120
Location: San Francisco, California
All- a reply and a note/suggestion BigGrin

- only about 5 analogue locos here: 3038, 3018, 3030, 3066 and 3046. All sort of came to me, otherwise I'm new and digital.

Now a suggestion:

when building your layouts, fully isolate one loop of track. (meaning hot and ground) Then place a pair of toggle switches in the wiring to that loop. Toggles flipped one way connect to the rest of the layout (digital) and toggles the other way connect to a good old Marklin trafo. Then you can run digital or analogue on the one loop, and for fun add a few old school 7039 signals and you can run a few trains without crashing. Laugh BigGrin
FS + SBB Era 2-5 and Vintage Marklin
Offline Frankenbahner  
#45 Posted : 12 March 2012 23:27:38(UTC)
Frankenbahner

Germany   
Joined: 15/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 598
Location: Nuremberg, Bavaria
Most of my H0 gauge stuff has been digitalized. A few analog locos remain, however, only to await their digitalization.

My streetcars are still analog.

About two weeks ago, I got some N gauge stuff - Minitrix, Fleischmann, Arnold, Kato - as a gift. Meanwhile, I added a Arnold V 100 to the consist, so I have five locos, and four railcars in N gauge now. They are all analog, and I'm not planning to change this.

H0 gauge streetcars, and N gauge, however, run with DC. It just must be said that analog DC is more comfortable to handle than analog AC: no reversing unit, no flashing lights.... (because of this reason, before digital age, many Märkliners ran their Märklin stuff with 3-rail DC).

Regards,
Florian


H0 3-rail AC with DCC, MM and mfx, 2-rail DC streetcars, and N gauge
Offline BR01097  
#46 Posted : 13 March 2012 00:04:21(UTC)
BR01097

United States   
Joined: 17/11/2010(UTC)
Posts: 221
Location: Denver, Colo. USA
Of the eighty-five in the roster, all are analog but a total of eight: five have DELTA decoders and 3 have a digital chip. The DELTA system limits the number of locomotives that can be used on a given layout. Those that share the same call number are isolated electrically on a siding until rotated in. I can see the benefits of digital operation, but its drawbacks become equally apparent when functions on locomotives fail or they refuse to move. There are no plans to convert any analog locomotives to digital.

Edited by moderator 16 March 2012 11:13:35(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified


____________________________________________________________________________

Collector of Märklin fine-quality trains since 1966.




Offline Piggy  
#47 Posted : 13 March 2012 00:05:14(UTC)
Piggy

Australia   
Joined: 08/05/2009(UTC)
Posts: 590
Location: Sydney
I have 30 locos, 28 digital and 2 analogue waiting to be converted. When I got back to the hobby some years ago I decided to go digital, and converted the 6 locos I had at the time. For me it is part of the hobby converting my locos. I don't own any old rare locos that would loose value by converting. I must admit sometimes I thinking about having a separate small analogue M track layout.
Regards
Kenneth

CS1 update - K & C tracks - German Era 3B & 4, with some Swiss and Austrian visitors. - My Layout
Offline rbw993  
#48 Posted : 13 March 2012 00:52:07(UTC)
rbw993

United States   
Joined: 18/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 231
I have one, Z scale all HO are digital.
I have some in other scales that aren't Marklin but that doesn't count, right?

Roger
Offline seatrains  
#49 Posted : 13 March 2012 04:06:14(UTC)
seatrains

United States   
Joined: 22/11/2006(UTC)
Posts: 532
Location: Seattle, WA
All but 2, so roughly 18 analog and 2 digital. Stuck in the stone age...here in tech town, Seattle...
Thom
European Train Enthusiast - Pacific Northwest Chapter
4th Division, Pacific Northwest Region, National Model Railroaders Association
Offline Ian555  
#50 Posted : 13 March 2012 07:02:39(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi John,

I've only seen a couple of old converted Loco's running (thanks Alan) and they do run very smoothly.

Ian.

Users browsing this topic
Guest
5 Pages123>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 3.162 seconds.