Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

55 Pages123>»
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Ian555  
#1 Posted : 16 October 2011 04:00:38(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Welcome to Baden-Württemberg PartIII.

Firstly, I must thank all the forum members and our guests, for the amazing support in BW PartII through out this last year.

Who would have believed, in a period of 52 weeks, that Baden-Württemberg PartII would have over 1.75M views, and this just shows what a great forum we have and I must thank Juhan for making this all possible.

A Big Thankyou....to everyone.

Ian.

UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by user 21 October 2011 10:53:34(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Ian555  
#2 Posted : 16 October 2011 04:32:49(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Here's a great way to get Baden-Württemberg PartIII started, I'm going to be building a NEW LAYOUT.

The idea for this started way back in February, hence the reason that work stopped on the cabin layout, and we had plans to build another garage close to where the new extension was being built.

So, we contacted our local planning department with our idea's and it went from there.

We obtained our Planning Permission back in July, and our Building Warrant was granted nearly 3 weeks ago.

I hope the following photo's will give some idea of what the new building will look like.

It's what we call a one and a half storey building, and is of the same design as the house and our garage/granny flat.

Anyway, getting to the important stuff, this gives me a 60 square meter room upstairs for the layout and a Märklin workshop/storeroom and small kitchen area and also a very handy toilet and whb all downstairs.

This still leaves parking for 2 goodsized (American) cars in the garage spaces.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Edited by user 16 October 2011 04:45:10(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline Ian555  
#3 Posted : 16 October 2011 05:44:37(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Here's a couple of photo's of what the inside of the new garage will look like.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Offline utkan  
#4 Posted : 16 October 2011 06:07:25(UTC)
utkan

Turkey   
Joined: 13/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,250
Location: Istanbul,
What can I say,Ian...just Drool Drool Drool

Cheers,

mehmet
UserPostedImage

The world is analog!
Offline Ian555  
#5 Posted : 16 October 2011 06:41:01(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi mehmet,

Thanks. ThumpUp

Will be well into next year before I start laying track.Smile

Ian.

Offline steventrain  
#6 Posted : 16 October 2011 06:44:12(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,441
Location: Northern Ireland
It is a huge room for layout.OhMyGod

What long by wide feets is the new layout? Have you moved layout to new room from hut?
Largest Marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/M-tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50, E103, E120/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#7 Posted : 16 October 2011 06:46:50(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,957
Location: New Zealand
Hi Ian, that's the stuff dreams are made of!


What are you going to do with the cabin layout?
Offline Bigdaddynz  
#8 Posted : 16 October 2011 06:48:21(UTC)
Bigdaddynz

New Zealand   
Joined: 17/09/2006(UTC)
Posts: 13,957
Location: New Zealand
Originally Posted by: steventrain Go to Quoted Post
What long by wide feets is the new layout?



9.0m x 6.8m overall (from measurement on the plan).
Offline Nielsenr  
#9 Posted : 16 October 2011 07:20:34(UTC)
Nielsenr

United States   
Joined: 06/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 817
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Looks awesome!! Are you going to have a helix to bring trains from the garage up to the train room?? LOL!!

Robert
Offline utkan  
#10 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:09:44(UTC)
utkan

Turkey   
Joined: 13/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,250
Location: Istanbul,
I know how this story ends up...The whole family moves to the Present Train Hut to live...The rest becomes for trainsCursing Flapper BigGrin
UserPostedImage

The world is analog!
Offline Ian555  
#11 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:16:41(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Stephen,

I had to convert it from meters but roughly the room is 30 feet long by 21 feet wide.

The garage will be built starting early (March) next year.

I will be running the cabin layout right thro' until next winter.

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#12 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:20:34(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi David,

It's still a good bit in the future and I will cover my proposed plans for the new layout shortly, but most of my M track will be used in my new Versteckte Station.

Ian.

Offline RayF  
#13 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:28:29(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,856
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Great news, Ian!

I look forward to seeing your plans for the new layout, It sounds like you might already have an idea of what the track layout will be.

There are so many questions on my mind! Are you going to use all M track again? Will you be going for a massive hidden station like the old one, with a helix for access? Are you going for split analogue/digital operation again? Will you finish the scenery this time? (sorry) BigGrin

Can't wait!
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#14 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:36:43(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Robert,

I will have 2 Helix on the layout, 1 will be on my new C and K track layout and the other on my M track (center stud) layout.

Very roughly the new layout will be split into 4 sections on the main level......

20 sq.m new C and K track.

6 sq.m center stud M track.

6 sq.m solid center rail M track.

5 sq.m "16 sleeper" solid center rail M track.



The lower level, I've put a lot of thought into and plan on having 600mm of free access space (which is 700mm between tracks) and this level will be split into 3 sections.

Hidden station for the C and K track layout.

Hidden station for the M center stud track layout.

O gauge layout.

Plenty more on all this later.

Ian.
Offline Ian555  
#15 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:41:15(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi mehmet,

Smile

Ian.

Offline ac jacko  
#16 Posted : 16 October 2011 08:41:53(UTC)
ac jacko


Joined: 09/04/2010(UTC)
Posts: 834
Location: Gawler South Australia
Will you putting in a lift in for the latter years Ian as srairs will have an impact eventually
Offline hennabm  
#17 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:25:48(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,571
Location: Edinburgh,
Ian
the cat is now out of the bag.Laugh

Good luck with the building and I hope the weather isn't too severe to stifle the building works.ThumpUp

Look forward to watching the progress on this one.Smile

PS any thoughts on dates for another Scottish meeting?

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline Ian555  
#18 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:37:42(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

As you know, there will be NO computer diagrams of the layout I'm afraid Smile , so will a simple sketch do.

After running the trains in the cabin layout for the last couple of years or so, my main design consideration for the new layout will be ACCESS.....to all and every part of it.

My Münstertal layout will be built into the new layout as well, this will give me 4 different layouts on the main level.

The framework will be built in the middle of the room, this will give me access to all 4 sides, the max width of any section will be 2200mm and the framework will roughly be a U shape.

Simple sketch to follow.

Ian.



Offline aos  
#19 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:39:48(UTC)
aos

Scotland   
Joined: 03/08/2008(UTC)
Posts: 398
Location: Livingston, Scotland
Ian,

Just in case it is not big enough, I hear Livingston Development Corporation have some newly built office blocks available ;-)

Congratulations on the new venture. Alan
Offline RayF  
#20 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:41:08(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,856
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Ray,

As you know, there will be NO computer diagrams of the layout I'm afraid Smile , so will a simple sketch do.

After running the trains in the cabin layout for the last couple of years or so, my main design consideration for the new layout will be ACCESS.....to all and every part of it.

My Münstertal layout will be built into the new layout as well, this will give me 4 different layouts on the main level.

The framework will be built in the middle of the room, this will give me access to all 4 sides, the max width of any section will be 2200mm and the framework will roughly be a U shape.

Simple sketch to follow.

Ian.





Hi Ian,

A simple sketch would be great. The best layouts I've seen have been sketched on a paper napkin or the back of a cigarette packet! BigGrin
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#21 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:45:03(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Dale,

The latest building Regulations state,

You must provide wheel chair access to the property,

The stair shall be suitable for a stairlift to be installed.

Looks like I'm sorted......Wink Smile ThumpUp

Although I'd better go and check how B1 will get up there.Woot

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#22 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:50:38(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Mike,

Thanks for keeping this under wraps. ThumpUp

If the weather turns like last year then we won't start until next March.

As for another meeting, I enjoy them so much, lets not leave it too long. ThumpUp (weather permitting)

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#23 Posted : 16 October 2011 09:53:01(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Alan,

Thanks. ThumpUp

I've still not got any smoke fluid. ThumbDown

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#24 Posted : 16 October 2011 10:09:52(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

Here's some simple sketches of the new layout, but of course there is plenty of time to change things around.

As you can see, the main section (A) will be all new C and some K track and will be using R4 and R5 curves etc and will also have a double line that will run right round the layout.

B, C, and D are my M track stud center rail and solid center rail with D being built above and between the 2 of them and this is built using my "16 sleeper 1930's track"

From the rear of the layout there is an access walkway which will involve a "duck under" to get to it.

Really interested on your initial thoughts on the idea's.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Offline Ian555  
#25 Posted : 16 October 2011 11:18:36(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Some photo's of where the new Train Room will sit in the garden.

We had the top soil dug up and formed into a big pile, ready for being planted out.

When we start the build, I'll again show this as a topic in NMR......The New Train Room.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
Offline Ian555  
#26 Posted : 16 October 2011 11:42:32(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Here's a short video of the digger at work at the site of the new Train Room.

Ian.



Offline pab  
#27 Posted : 16 October 2011 12:05:48(UTC)
pab

Netherlands   
Joined: 03/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,421
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Ray,

Here's some simple sketches of the new layout, but of course there is plenty of time to change things around.

As you can see, the main section (A) will be all new C and some K track and will be using R4 and R5 curves etc and will also have a double line that will run right round the layout.

B, C, and D are my M track stud center rail and solid center rail with D being built above and between the 2 of them and this is built using my "16 sleeper 1930's track"

From the rear of the layout there is an access walkway which will involve a "duck under" to get to it.

Really interested on your initial thoughts on the idea's.

Ian.








Maybe you should consider a dogbone type of lay-out for the A section. With one loop on one level and a second on a lower level with a shadow station. Or with two lower levels and two shadow station. You still can have a double line running around most of the visible level. The advantage is when a train dispairs to the right it will come back from the right and not running around in circles.
Offline hennabm  
#28 Posted : 16 October 2011 12:48:38(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,571
Location: Edinburgh,
Ian
Looks like you didn't have to dig too deep to find the hard. Are you using a concrete folat as the base or are the founds to be dug out yet?

When I built my garage in Inverness the digger had to go down about 5ft before he found the hard. I then had about 16 tonnes of fill to bring it up to the level I needed.

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline Ian555  
#29 Posted : 16 October 2011 12:52:53(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Piet,

Thanks, will look into that idea. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#30 Posted : 16 October 2011 13:02:58(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Mike,

It will be a strip foundation, what you see is just the top soil removed, what happens next is the surveyor gets the garage sitting in position, square to the end of the house etc and then marks out the founds on top of the yellow clay that is showing.

Then the strip found is dug out and down till we reach blue clay, which on our site is only about 6oomm down from the yellow clay.

This will all depend on what the weather has in store for us, as you should really dig out the founds and pour the concrete all in the one day.

Did you have any joy with the photo's from Saturday 1-10-11.

Ian.
Offline Ian555  
#31 Posted : 16 October 2011 13:29:40(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Last year when Baden-Württemberg PartII started I bought myself a BR10 37084 Loco.ThumpUp

For the start of PartIII, I have ordered Set 31806 from Lokshop and it will not be delivered till some time in November, but worth the wait.Smile

Ian.
Offline petestra  
#32 Posted : 16 October 2011 14:29:40(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,240
Location: washington,dc
Hi Ian. This is a super way to get the world out of the world-wide recession!
Everyone build a train room extension! PeterWoot
Offline Ian555  
#33 Posted : 16 October 2011 15:02:28(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Peter,

Do you think that will work. Smile

Ian.

Offline Darren W  
#34 Posted : 16 October 2011 15:43:36(UTC)
Darren W

Canada   
Joined: 01/01/2007(UTC)
Posts: 617
Location: British Columbia
Hi Ian,
What a great fantastic plan for the garage/layout room. I will do my best to help part 3 get to the 2 million mark.BigGrin Did the C-track in your My World set influence your decision to get C-track? Building a model train layout for me is about the journey and not the destination. Like many people say a layout is never finished and always can be tinkered and changed. My wife has threatened that if I don't show some progress with the stuff I have there will be no new purchases. I'm motivated now.Scared

Cheers
Darren
Offline Ian555  
#35 Posted : 16 October 2011 19:54:47(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Darren,

Thanks, I'm looking forward to making a start to the new Train Room. ThumpUp

I reckon there will always be plenty of M tracks on the layout. Smile

Ian.

Offline Yumgui  
#36 Posted : 16 October 2011 21:27:54(UTC)
Yumgui

United States   
Joined: 20/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,644
Location: Paris, France
Jeez Ian,

Could you give us all some time to catch up ?

Your building rate is great to see ... but is albeit far more than I and/or most can muster !

Quite amazing ThumpUp

Keep it coming plz ...

Yum Tongue
If your M track is rusted ... DON'T throw it out !
Working on : http://www.arep.fr/en/#/welcome
Inspired by : http://www.nakedmarklin.com/ ... I am not alone in this universe, phew.
Offline DV  
#37 Posted : 16 October 2011 21:32:10(UTC)
DV

Australia   
Joined: 28/11/2009(UTC)
Posts: 626
Location: Mount Barker, South Australia
Ian,

what can I say (that hasn't been said by others).Drool You really give inspiration to others to just go for it!BigGrin

Looks to me as though another trip to Scotland is in the pipeline in the near future.RollEyes

Will the entrance fee still be the same? 1.2 kg of ............Wink Wink

fee.

By the way, have you run out yet?Confused

Do you require anymore?Confused

No probs in providing you with your magic elixir.LOL LOL

All the best with your new project.ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp
Dusan V
'I find your lack of faith (in Märklin) disturbing'
Offline ricky  
#38 Posted : 17 October 2011 02:38:34(UTC)
ricky


Joined: 07/06/2011(UTC)
Posts: 313
Location: California
OhMyGod OhMyGod OhMyGod Drool Drool Drool ThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp

Cheers,
Ricky Smile [speechless!!!]
Offline Shintaro  
#39 Posted : 17 October 2011 04:48:51(UTC)
Shintaro

Australia   
Joined: 23/09/2011(UTC)
Posts: 226
Location: Campbelltown
Why not post him some "Smiths" 'Vegemite Chips'.
They're damn addictive!!
The newspaper article, and a picture!
Offline Ian555  
#40 Posted : 17 October 2011 05:08:42(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Yum,

Thanks. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#41 Posted : 17 October 2011 05:15:46(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Dusan,

You would be more than welcome for another visit, and the entrance fee has been held at the same price for 2012.Smile

Will have a blether soon. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#42 Posted : 17 October 2011 05:28:43(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Ricky,

As Peter said, I'm doing my bit for the world recession. Smile

Truth be told, this is an excellent time for this type of project...

Suppliers are very keen to sell materials and tradesmen are looking for the work.

Ian.



Offline Ian555  
#43 Posted : 17 October 2011 05:31:09(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Shintaro,

Chips with anything sounds good. Wink Smile

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#44 Posted : 17 October 2011 05:35:15(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

Here's a video of 9 Loco's running on the layout.

We have, 3 analog, 5 digital and 1 battery powered.

Ian.




thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Ian555
Offline nevw  
#45 Posted : 17 October 2011 06:04:50(UTC)
nevw

Australia   
Joined: 27/08/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,631
Location: Strathpine QLD
Pure Majik.

Making me think about getting up off my backside and doing the wiring and setting up to run 6.

NN
wearing the Pink Pinny, which is hard to see and now have a new shiny tin Hip that is badly in Need of Repair
Junior member of the Banana Club, a reformist and an old Goat with a Bad memory, loafing around
Offline river6109  
#46 Posted : 17 October 2011 06:17:43(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,777
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Ian,

As above.

John
http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Ian555  
#47 Posted : 17 October 2011 06:36:31(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Nev,

It's great fun when you get that number of Loco's running (and very loud), because you just can't keep an eye on all of them, they disappear into a tunnel and you hope they reappear at the other end.

I reckon on getting 12 Loco's running all at the one time, but would be very tricky to get all set up, so maybe I'll get B1 to give me a helping hand. Smile

Thanks again.

Ian.

Offline Ian555  
#48 Posted : 17 October 2011 06:42:18(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi John,

Thanks. ThumpUp

I hope your expert advice on track design will again be available when I start the new layout. Wink ThumpUp

Thanks again.

Ian.

Offline finwen  
#49 Posted : 17 October 2011 07:43:46(UTC)
finwen


Joined: 19/06/2011(UTC)
Posts: 103
Location: Sweden
A new house for the 29200 train set and the smurf :)

Looks like a nice building and lots of place for a nice layout. Will be interesting to follow your layout and constructions ideas later.

I will hopefully get a train room to next year. I am highest bidder now on a house with some place over for that :)
Going from a 3 room apartment to a hopefully house with 260m2 of area (with the basement) will allow some more trains.....

Offline Ian555  
#50 Posted : 17 October 2011 07:51:52(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,728
Location: Scotland
Hi Robert,

Good luck with the house purchase. ThumpUp

Over here in Scotland we do not build houses with a basement (water table to high ?), but a 260sq m house would be considered to be a large house....plenty room for trains.

Ian.



Users browsing this topic
Guest
55 Pages123>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 2.411 seconds.