Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline 4matic  
#1 Posted : 17 April 2010 17:05:53(UTC)
4matic


Joined: 16/04/2010(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: uae
Newbie here just joined yesterday...

On setting up my layout I rather ignorantly powered the track with 60052 transformer, while it was having the starter set 18va (23vdc) transfomer connected with the MS 60652 hooked up.The MS blinked a few times and then this horrible burning smell.Opened up the MS found one IC burnt to a crisp. I have now ordered a new MS 60653 and digital control box 60113. Question:,.. 1. So the 60052 (17VAC output) transformer can only be used to power accessories?
2. Do I still use the feeder track 24088 to connect the new transformer and MS?

Thanks.
4matic

Offline steventrain  
#2 Posted : 17 April 2010 18:20:32(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,293
Location: Northern Ireland
The new MS2 can use with 60113 and 60052 transformer.

You don't need the 24088 feeder track as I test new MS2 on 24088 but not working.


Largest Marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/M-tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50, E103, E120/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline Ian555  
#3 Posted : 17 April 2010 21:06:19(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,645
Location: Scotland
Hi 4matic,

Welcome to the forum.

My own MS stopped working (blank screen) 2 weeks ago.
Will be buying a MS2 as a replacement.

Ian.
Offline 4matic  
#4 Posted : 17 April 2010 22:24:32(UTC)
4matic


Joined: 16/04/2010(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: uae
Thanks Guys. Steventrain does that mean the track can be powered by both or either one only? So did my MS burn out due to what I did or there might have been something else wrong? Sorry for al the questions just want to make sure I don't mess up again.
Online RayF  
#5 Posted : 17 April 2010 23:14:17(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,735
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
4matic wrote:
Thanks Guys. Steventrain does that mean the track can be powered by both or either one only? So did my MS burn out due to what I did or there might have been something else wrong? Sorry for al the questions just want to make sure I don't mess up again.


The MS can be powered by either transformer. What you did wrong was to connect the transformer to the track directly while you had the MS connected to the track as well. This would put the full output of the transformer on the output side of the MS, which it is not designed to take.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline 4matic  
#6 Posted : 18 April 2010 13:40:39(UTC)
4matic


Joined: 16/04/2010(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: uae
Thanks Ray,understand now.Expensive mistake.
Offline 4matic  
#7 Posted : 18 April 2010 14:12:52(UTC)
4matic


Joined: 16/04/2010(UTC)
Posts: 29
Location: uae
RayPayas wrote:
4matic wrote:
Thanks Guys. Steventrain does that mean the track can be powered by both or either one only? So did my MS burn out due to what I did or there might have been something else wrong? Sorry for al the questions just want to make sure I don't mess up again.


The MS can be powered by either transformer. What you did wrong was to connect the transformer to the track directly while you had the MS connected to the track as well. This would put the full output of the transformer on the output side of the MS, which it is not designed to take.


This poses another question... I use the 60052 to operate the signals and the track current when the sgnal is green is supplied by the 60052. How will this affect now? I use the 72750 Signal Control Box.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.106 seconds.