Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline elite194  
#1 Posted : 22 May 2015 14:47:12(UTC)
elite194

United States   
A friend of mine had a Marklin layout built using C Track and the system in the picture below. He called me to install the system and complete the electrical work. I've never worked with AC trains before and I don't really know how to troubleshoot the layout. The first thing I did was install a "K" plug onto the adapter cable which connects between 60065 and 60113. Using my multimeter I confirmed that the output at the plug is 20 volts. Next I connected 1 set of feeder wires to the 60113 and powered it up. the Mobile Station gives the correct readings.

So what my friend had done was send three locomotives to Reynaulds to have DCC installed. These locos are 3085, 3106, 3308. When I placed the 3308 on the track and used the find function, it was detected as DCC. When I tried to move the loco, it had a faint buzzing sound and no movement. The same thing goes for the 3106. The 3085 was detected as DCC and it's functions work and it can make it all the way around the layout, but can't switch direction and doesn't appear to have any speed control plus it stalls about every 8 seconds. Also I tested another locomotive from his other layout and it runs for exactly 8 seconds then the stop light comes on. Each time I turn off the stop light it will go another 8 seconds, it's probably not DCC at all, but it at least confirms that all the track is powered.

There are lots more feeder wires that I'll hookup once I have the system figured out.

What I'd like are some troubleshooting tips. I can post pictures of things that need an expert eye.