Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline biedmatt  
#1 Posted : 24 March 2015 23:15:15(UTC)
biedmatt

United States   
I had been looking at a 3025 Triebwagen on eBay.de for a long time now. There was one in particular that had extremely nice paint. It did not have any of the damage to the silver paint on the roof from the perimeter cut out used inside the blue boxes. All the others had damage to the silver paint at one end or another and one side or the other. But, the old floppy sliders always made me worry it would be a third rail short circuit nightmare, so I always resisted. Until three weeks ago. I had finished lighting my passenger wagens and needed a project, this seemed like the time to try a 3025. So I made an offer and the seller accepted. Two weeks later it was in my hands.

I am a digital operator. I no longer have an old transformer nor any quick and simple way to add one to the layout. This was going to be converted like all the other lokos I own. So I photo documented Marklin's wiring and de-soldered all the electrical connections to the lights and sliders and lifted out the wiring intact, complete with e-unit and field magnet. I placed it in a ziploc bag and stored it all away. Being basically a 3015 motor, I had to make another permanent magnet as I did with my old Krocs.
https://www.marklin-user...ocodiles.aspx#post401606

Next I disassembled everything to clean it up from both grime and dirt that accumulated over the past 50+ years. Here I have a powered bogie apart, cleaned and ready to assemble.
UserPostedImage

An assembled power bogie and the motor, cleaned up and with the homemade permanent magnet.
UserPostedImage

The first segment back together and testing the motor rotation to determine which brush is positive for forward operation.
UserPostedImage