Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline ChrisP  
#1 Posted : 07 September 2014 11:38:15(UTC)
ChrisP

I've been connecting an elderly 6041 switchboard using the lights only (not the switching) for a track indicator board. Some of the lights don't work (I've checked the LEDs and they are OK). I wonder if anyone has ever opened up a 6041 to attempt repairs?

I'm a novice at electronics. Any advice much appreciated.

Regards

Chris
Offline Goofy  
#2 Posted : 07 September 2014 11:44:33(UTC)
Goofy

I´m not sure...but don´t you need an external trafo to feed power to the LED´s...?
H0
DCC = Digital Command Control
Offline Renato  
#3 Posted : 07 September 2014 11:58:34(UTC)
Renato

Italy   
Hi Chris,

I have never attempted to repair the 6041 switchboard.

I have two of them with all the outputs for the LEDs functioning.

In any case, what are the output numbers not functioning?

I could open mine and see what is inside and maybe give you some indications (not 100% sure about that...)

Cheers

Renato
Offline ChrisP  
#4 Posted : 07 September 2014 15:24:39(UTC)
ChrisP

Thank you both. I think the power supply is OK - I'm running it from the accessory connections (yellow and brown) on the back of one of the three transformers powering the layout. Position 16 is fine with both red and green functioning and switching. Position 3 is, similarly, OK. 2 shows a constant red but no green and 4, I think, likewise. I've not yet tested the other positions. A friend more knowledgeable than I said he reckoned there would be diodes under the sockets.

It's very kind of you to offer to take the top of one of yours Renato. I hesitate to do so in case I dislodge something I can't then fix.
Offline Purellum  
#5 Posted : 07 September 2014 16:25:27(UTC)
Purellum

Denmark   
Cool