Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline oranda  
#1 Posted : 21 April 2014 22:04:45(UTC)
oranda

United Kingdom   
I'm new to Märklin and to modelling a digital system.

Last summer I purchased two digital starter sets with digital points and mobile controllers, and have it installed in a layout which I am currently landscaping.

I noticed on the Märklin website that there are some technical data sheets, all written in German, and despite having some knowledge of the language a lot of technical terminology escapes me, and using Google translator is patchy at best.

Does Märklin provide this information in English format or has anyone translated them for the average man in the street to understand. Can anyone suggest any starter books on setting up a Märklin digital setup.

As a subsidiary question should I invest in a Märklin digital or a Uhlenbrock controlled based system. There seems to be few Märklin dealers in the UK but there is a Uhlenbrock dealer locally.

The learning curve is steep but I'm prepared to put some time in reading up how everything fits together.

Thanks in advance for any advice

Offline witzlerh  
#2 Posted : 21 April 2014 22:24:42(UTC)
witzlerh

Canada   
Welcome!
Those start sets should have had a booklet on the basic of simple layouts and to get you going quickly. If you have a german language only booklet, it is not hard as they tend to use as little of the language as possible like IKEA instruction manuals

That being said.

There are some downloads available from Marklin.de that are in english.

Go to maerklin.de then produkte, then tools and downloads. Scroll down to Aktuelle Downloads

The Central Station 2 is located
Anleitung_CS_60214_EN.pdf.

the Mobile Station 2 is locatied
Anleitung_MS_60653_DE_EN.pdf.

the Central Station 1 is
Anleitung_CS_en.pdf.