Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Dreadnought  
#1 Posted : 03 April 2014 17:14:05(UTC)
Dreadnought

Canada   
I am in Basel. I am staying near the Spalentor. In wandering today I found two stores near my hotel.

There are some nice locomotives that tempt me. After all I cannot come home empty handed. Some were Marklin, some really nice ones Hag.

My layout so old M track. It is rough in spots, and passengers complain of bumpy rides. My question simply put is: Would a Hag handle rough track as well as Marklin? So far I have never run anything but Marklin on my layout.

Any advice?
Offline Unholz  
#2 Posted : 03 April 2014 18:19:02(UTC)
Unholz

Switzerland   
Any (traditional) HAG model should run flawlessly on Marklin track (I have been doing so for the past 50 years Wink ).

Perhaps a word of caution if you have a delicate and rather recent model like the new generation Ae 4/7 (catalog number 138) or a GTW railcar set in mind, but anything like an Ae 6/6, Re 4/4 or Re 6/6 should work perfectly also on M track.

If you still have some free time on your hands and want to take a look at more shops in the area, here is my Swiss model train shop list:

http://www.stefanunholz.ch/page3/shops.html

Enjoy your visit!
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Unholz
Offline mike c  
#3 Posted : 03 April 2014 18:30:16(UTC)
mike c

Canada   
Good hunting (Shopping)!

Make sure that you pick up some Basler Laeckerli and Kirschstengli while you are there too!

Regards

Mike C
Offline Dreadnought  
#4 Posted : 03 April 2014 21:02:38(UTC)
Dreadnought

Canada   
Thank you for the prompt replies.

Mike, do those come in HO?LOL