Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline grdnsal  
#1 Posted : 16 September 2013 22:01:56(UTC)
grdnsal

United States   
Ok I am really new to marklin….my adult neighbor had marklin when I was a kid and I was amazed buy his layout. Now that I am pushing retirement and not working as many hours I want a marklin layout too. So I bought an actual marklin z-gauge layout with track online (ebay), the blue transformer and a Marklin 8800 mini-club Locomotive Engine 89-006. But I think I may have messed it up already…the wheels won’t turn.
I could have wired it wrong. I don’t have any kind of directions or wiring digram.javascript:insertsmiley('Confused%20','/forum/Images/Emoticons/msp_confused.gif')
My layout has 2 brown wires and two red wires…I put the brown wires into one connector and the two reds into the other connector on the transformer but the engine didn’t move just got warm…I put a 9v battery on the wheels and no movement. It also has 2 blue wires and one yellow wire…I think are for the switches…but I am not sure.
So before I buy another engine and burn it up can anyone tell me how to wire it and tell me what I need to do to get everything working? javascript:insertsmiley('Cursing%20','/forum/Images/Emoticons/msp_cursing.gif')
Thanks!
Offline H0  
#2 Posted : 16 September 2013 22:09:05(UTC)
H0

Hi!
Welcome to the forum!

Märklin mini-club needs a DC controller. I don't think Märklin ever made blue ones.

I suspect your blue transformer is for H0 gauge (16 V AC). Mini-club locos won't run with that one (they will get warm or hot and may even get damaged).

What does the small print on your transformer say? Is there a ref. number? What specs are given for PRI and SEK?
Regards
Tom
---