Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline guiverc  
#1 Posted : 10 August 2012 16:04:21(UTC)
guiverc

Australia   
Just starting to rebuild a marklin layout that i've boxed away for 15-20 years.

Marklin steam loco 3106 - how do I get the top off for oiling?
Tiny instructions indicate to use top screw (none) or pry apart top of locomotive (looking at bottom of loco), but I don't want to destroy it, and haven't been able to open it anywhere I try to pry it open with screwdriver.

Any help on how 3106 appreicated.

Also have a 3095 (smaller steam) that's frozen; and I'm no mechanic. Any ideas on how I can "turn over" the engine or suggestions.
I've oiled, left a few days - engine lights on power, and you can hear it reverse on pulse - but guessing its seized as I can't even rotate wheels.
Any suggestions on fixing this "stuck" (due my neglect) likewise appreciated.

With thanks,

Chris g.
Melbourne, Australia.
Offline RayF  
#2 Posted : 10 August 2012 16:36:17(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Hi Chris,

There is a screw on the top of the boiler you have to undo. It is hidden under one of the domes, which you have to lift off.
RayF attached the following image(s):
3106.jpg
Ray
Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by RayF
Offline RayF  
#3 Posted : 10 August 2012 16:41:50(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar