Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

5 Pages<12345>
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Chris6382chris  
#101 Posted : 05 July 2012 00:51:42(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Originally Posted by: Caralain Go to Quoted Post
Hi Chris:

You made two beautiful videos of your new layout. It is not only interesting to watch, but also it is well filmed. Congratulations and thank you for sharing with us.

I have a question: is your layout entirely digital, or do you have same analog sections? I am asking because you showed a few locomotives from the sixties or so, like the DB green shunter. As for your two cranes, you did a wonderful job in restoring them. They really add something to your layout.

Please keep making more videos!

Regards,

Pierre


Pierre:

Thanks for the kind words. My videos are still a work in progress but I appreciate the compliments. With regard to your question about my layout, it is all digital. I have converted all of my locomotives. I used a combination of ESU Lokpilot and LokSound decoders and permanent magnets. I find that the existing motors work really well with the ESU decoders and I don't need to upgrade to the 5 pole motors (just my opinion).

With regard to the cranes, one was like new out of the box, even though it was 40 plus years old. The other one was bought on eBay and was a wreck that had to be taken completely apart, cleaned, unbent, restrung, rewired in some parts and repainted. I am very pleased with the results. The only thing I haven't done is replace the piece that connects the crane arm to the cab, you can't see it but it is actually a piece of coat hanger that I painted and and bent so that it works just as the original. One of these days I plan on buying a replacement part for it.

Chris
Offline Chris6382chris  
#102 Posted : 05 July 2012 20:46:37(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Hey I finally made it to the multi page club on this forum. Two pages, yes! Woot Thanks everyone.
Offline GTSE800  
#103 Posted : 05 July 2012 23:37:45(UTC)
GTSE800


Joined: 07/03/2006(UTC)
Posts: 74
Location: RI
Thats a good idea on the oil tanks, I think they look good ........
GTSE800
Offline Chris6382chris  
#104 Posted : 06 July 2012 01:56:57(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Originally Posted by: GTSE800 Go to Quoted Post
Thats a good idea on the oil tanks, I think they look good ........


Thanks, I can get each PVC coupling for about $3 at Home Depot and they have a bunch of different diameters. I simply sand down the edges and paint with flat black or with flat white and then cut the tops, paint them and glue them in place and I am all set. Instant tank farm.

Chris
Offline RayF  
#105 Posted : 06 July 2012 07:54:47(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,850
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Great video, Chris!
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#106 Posted : 06 July 2012 08:14:42(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,725
Location: Scotland
Hi Chris,

Great video, thanks for showing the cranes in operation. ThumpUp

Ian.


Offline Chris6382chris  
#107 Posted : 06 July 2012 17:32:17(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks Ray and Ian.

With regard to the cranes, I must say when I have visitors they love them, the kids can play with them and the adults are amazed that they run. They have turned out to be a real crowd pleaser and alot of fun.

Chris
Offline pab  
#108 Posted : 06 July 2012 18:55:07(UTC)
pab

Netherlands   
Joined: 03/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,421
Very nice video with those cranes in action and the trains running.
Offline Chris6382chris  
#109 Posted : 08 July 2012 03:22:27(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks for the compliment Piet. Today I did some work on the lights for the town and the station area. I put up some street lights as well as put lights in some of the buildings. I still have more work to do but it is progressing and I am pleased with the outcome so far.

Here is a picture of the town at night.

Chris

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

Edited by user 08 July 2012 03:37:05(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Chris6382chris
Offline foumaro  
#110 Posted : 08 July 2012 03:52:02(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,637
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
Very nice result,congratulations.
Offline Ian555  
#111 Posted : 08 July 2012 05:23:15(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,725
Location: Scotland
Hi Chris,

Looks great. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline utkan  
#112 Posted : 08 July 2012 11:10:13(UTC)
utkan

Turkey   
Joined: 13/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,250
Location: Istanbul,
Both the video and the night shots are very cool,Chris....ThumpUp ThumpUp
UserPostedImage

The world is analog!
Offline pab  
#113 Posted : 08 July 2012 13:12:28(UTC)
pab

Netherlands   
Joined: 03/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,421
Nice scene.

Maybe the lights in the picture are a little bit too much.

I saw you used an exposure time of 0,8 sec and an aperture of 2,8.
To create a more nightly atmosphere you could use a smaller aperture (like 16 or higher) and a longer exposure time.
Shut of the lights after 2 or 3 seconds (maybe less). I thinks the outcome may surprise you.
Offline Loadmaster  
#114 Posted : 08 July 2012 13:51:22(UTC)
Loadmaster

United States   
Joined: 03/02/2010(UTC)
Posts: 872
Location: So Cal
Chris,

Have you thought about installing a riastat (sp) which would give you the adjustability of light intensity.

Rob
HOac and Z scale running SBB/BLS Era IV-VUserPostedImage
Offline Chris6382chris  
#115 Posted : 08 July 2012 14:31:12(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks for the comments. After I installed everything that is something I am considering, installing a rheostat to drop the voltage on the street lamps a bit. All my lights are run off of an older big blue Marklin 30 VA transformer. To be honest I am just happy to have lights. Piet, as far as exposures and timing for my camera I have no Idea how to do that, I will check into that, thanks for the suggestion.

Chris
Offline Shintaro  
#116 Posted : 09 July 2012 09:33:32(UTC)
Shintaro

Australia   
Joined: 23/09/2011(UTC)
Posts: 226
Location: Campbelltown
Hi.

Why not plug the active (yellow) into the Bahn (red) socket instead, that will make the transformator act as a rheostat (trimpot, or variable resistor - depending on where you are). And leave the Ground (Brown) as is. Just an idea.

Cheers.

Edited by user 10 July 2012 09:28:11(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Offline RayF  
#117 Posted : 09 July 2012 09:56:33(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,850
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Nice street shots!
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Chris6382chris  
#118 Posted : 09 July 2012 13:58:54(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks for the comments and suggestions. I could plug the lights in to the post for the track and use that to turn the voltage down but that would reduce the lighting on everything and I like some of the lights bright. ThumpUp I think I will put something in between the street lights and the wire bus and turn the lights down that way. We shall see, right now I am just happy to have lights. Woot
Offline Loadmaster  
#119 Posted : 09 July 2012 14:03:06(UTC)
Loadmaster

United States   
Joined: 03/02/2010(UTC)
Posts: 872
Location: So Cal
Let me know how you proceed.
HOac and Z scale running SBB/BLS Era IV-VUserPostedImage
Offline LMS800  
#120 Posted : 09 July 2012 18:05:13(UTC)
LMS800

Germany   
Joined: 02/05/2012(UTC)
Posts: 135
Originally Posted by: Chris6382chris Go to Quoted Post
Thanks for the comments. After I installed everything that is something I am considering, installing a rheostat to drop the voltage on the street lamps a bit. All my lights are run off of an older big blue Marklin 30 VA transformer. To be honest I am just happy to have lights. Piet, as far as exposures and timing for my camera I have no Idea how to do that, I will check into that, thanks for the suggestion.

Chris


Hi Chris,
I use the Märklin transformer as a rheostat for dimming the light. I connect the light with B on the transformer (normally current for the tracks) and dim the lights.

Wolf
Offline Joe Meiring  
#121 Posted : 09 July 2012 18:26:45(UTC)
Joe Meiring

South Africa   
Joined: 27/12/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,092
Location: Fish Hoek, Cape Town
WoW!!...Thanks Chris, simply an awesome layout....well done
Joe
Offline Chris6382chris  
#122 Posted : 10 July 2012 16:06:11(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks Joe and Wolf for the comments. I just ordered some very small fiber optics cable and some modified blue LEDs, so the next step for the town scene is to light up all of the headlights and then I want to make either an accident scene or fire scene with my emergency vehicles and I will light up the emergency lights. I tried this on the last layout and wasn't completely happy so I am hoping to do a better job this time.

Chris
Offline Chris6382chris  
#123 Posted : 14 July 2012 05:22:58(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Finished some decoder conversions today on engines I just bought off of eBay. I took a quick video of them running through the passenger station on my layout. You will see two V200's and one BR 212. One of the V200's has sound. All the decoders are ESU and I kept the 3 pole motors in each of the engines, the only change was to use LEDs for lighting and to add the permanent magnet. I hope you like.

Chris

Video of BR 212 and V200s on my layout
Offline Ian555  
#124 Posted : 14 July 2012 05:39:38(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,725
Location: Scotland
Hi Chris,

Enjoyed watching the video. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline DV  
#125 Posted : 14 July 2012 06:07:01(UTC)
DV

Australia   
Joined: 28/11/2009(UTC)
Posts: 626
Location: Mount Barker, South Australia
Originally Posted by: Chris6382chris Go to Quoted Post
Finished some decoder conversions today on engines I just bought off of eBay. I took a quick video of them running through the passenger station on my layout. You will see two V200's and one BR 212. One of the V200's has sound. All the decoders are ESU and I kept the 3 pole motors in each of the engines, the only change was to use LEDs for lighting and to add the permanent magnet. I hope you like.

Chris



Very nice looking V200's Chris.

Welcome to the V200 (and their offsprings) ClubThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp

Hope you have many years of enjoyment out of them, I know I have out of mineWink Wink Wink Wink
Dusan V
'I find your lack of faith (in Märklin) disturbing'
Offline Chris6382chris  
#126 Posted : 14 July 2012 14:21:56(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Originally Posted by: DV Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: Chris6382chris Go to Quoted Post
Finished some decoder conversions today on engines I just bought off of eBay. I took a quick video of them running through the passenger station on my layout. You will see two V200's and one BR 212. One of the V200's has sound. All the decoders are ESU and I kept the 3 pole motors in each of the engines, the only change was to use LEDs for lighting and to add the permanent magnet. I hope you like.

Chris



Very nice looking V200's Chris.

Welcome to the V200 (and their offsprings) ClubThumpUp ThumpUp ThumpUp

Hope you have many years of enjoyment out of them, I know I have out of mineWink Wink Wink Wink


Thanks Dusan, I must say that after buying two of them and seeing them run on my layout I am happy to have joined the club. Next on my list is a Blue and Cream one, I will be looking on eBay.

Thanks Ian.

Offline Chris6382chris  
#127 Posted : 25 July 2012 02:16:17(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Here is another video of the layout. I have added catenary to the layout and added another engine, a BR 216, to my roster. You will also see in the middle of the video the lighting of my emergency vehicles. I ended up making a simple circuit I found on the internet that gave me a great flash rate and found some perfectly sized LEDs for the blue emergency lights.

Chris

Link to the YouTube Video
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by Chris6382chris
Offline Ian555  
#128 Posted : 25 July 2012 06:15:55(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,725
Location: Scotland
Hi Chris,

Great video. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline RayF  
#129 Posted : 25 July 2012 09:54:05(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,850
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Great video Chris! ThumpUp

I have to say I'm a much bigger fan of the V160 family of locos than of the V200s. I'll probably get hate mail now for saying that! Anyway, I like your new 216!

Your LED flashing lights are brilliant too!

Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline petestra  
#130 Posted : 25 July 2012 10:28:44(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,240
Location: washington,dc
Excellent video and trains, Chris. PeterThumpUp Smile
Offline Chris6382chris  
#131 Posted : 25 July 2012 17:20:02(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks for the comments. I am adding a few additional pictures showing some engines and the catenary in place. For those who are zealots about catenary, I am not running my trains on them and I did indeed bend the catenary to match the curves, I was going for the overall look and feel of an electified line. My biggest desire was to have it up on the routes where I plan to run my electrics, I am pleased with how it turned out. ThumpUp

I hope everyone likes.

Chris

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage


thanks 3 users liked this useful post by Chris6382chris
Offline petestra  
#132 Posted : 25 July 2012 20:28:22(UTC)
petestra

United States   
Joined: 26/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4,240
Location: washington,dc
Great pics, Chris. PeterThumpUp
Offline RayF  
#133 Posted : 25 July 2012 21:46:31(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,850
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Nice photos!
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline hennabm  
#134 Posted : 26 July 2012 21:38:39(UTC)
hennabm

Scotland   
Joined: 22/09/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,569
Location: Edinburgh,
Hi Chris

nice pictures of the E loks where they should be - under catenary.ThumpUp

Mike
1957 - 1985 era
What's digital?
Offline Ian555  
#135 Posted : 27 July 2012 05:27:52(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,725
Location: Scotland
Hi Chris,

Great photo's of your layout. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline steventrain  
#136 Posted : 27 July 2012 05:42:06(UTC)
steventrain

United Kingdom   
Joined: 21/10/2004(UTC)
Posts: 27,437
Location: Northern Ireland
Excellent pictures.ThumpUp
Largest Marklinist Layout with Centrail station 2/Mobile station 2/60174 boosters/C-Tracks/K-Tracks/M-tracks/Favorites class BR01, BR23, BR50, E103, E120/Insider Club membership since 2004.
Offline kimballthurlow  
#137 Posted : 27 July 2012 06:53:17(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,191
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Hi Chris,

Bewdy, mate! The catenary certainly looks the part.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
Offline Chris6382chris  
#138 Posted : 27 July 2012 13:48:04(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks everyone. Things are coming along pretty well. BigGrin
Offline river6109  
#139 Posted : 27 July 2012 14:44:44(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,777
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Good stuff, Chris.

John
http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Johnvr  
#140 Posted : 31 July 2012 06:20:22(UTC)
Johnvr

South Africa   
Joined: 03/10/2010(UTC)
Posts: 815
Location: Cape Town, South Africa
Chris,

Well done on those conversions, and the layout looks great, what a difference the catenary system makes !

Regards,BigGrin
John
Offline Chris6382chris  
#141 Posted : 31 July 2012 17:36:21(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
To John and John thanks for the comments. I agree the catenary adds so much to the look.

Chris
Offline kweekalot  
#142 Posted : 31 July 2012 18:41:02(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Joined: 27/06/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,592
Location: Holland
Hi Chris,

You have a beautiful layout !!
I wish I had a bit more space for a bigger layout than the one I have now.

Marco
Offline Chris6382chris  
#143 Posted : 25 October 2012 07:23:30(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
Thanks Marco. Sorry it took me so long to respond. I just posted a new video on youtube, the link is below. I think the room was a little dark so things could look a bit better. Anyway, you can see a few of my engines traveling through my station area. Since the last time I posted about my layout I have added several engines, including a Blue E 41, and a BR 50. Both have ESU LokPilot 4 chips with the original 3 pole motors in them. In addition you will see a BR 212, V200, BR 23, an Italian Steam Engine, a BR 38 as well as my green E 41.

YouTube Video of trains running on the layout

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Chris6382chris
Offline Ian555  
#144 Posted : 25 October 2012 07:50:31(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,725
Location: Scotland
Hi Chris,

Thanks for the video and the update on your new Loco's. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline river6109  
#145 Posted : 25 October 2012 09:36:10(UTC)
river6109

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2009(UTC)
Posts: 10,777
Location: On 1965 Märklin Boulevard just around from Roco Square
Chris,

enjoyed the video can we have more in future ?

John
http://www.youtube.com/river6109
http://www.youtube.com/6109river
5 years in Destruction mode
50 years in Repairing mode
Offline Chris6382chris  
#146 Posted : 25 October 2012 13:56:35(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 976
Location: Wine Country, CA
No problem John. I haven't been updating as much as I should have in the past but I will be catching up as winter approaches. I also have to improve upon my video skills. More video's will be coming.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by Chris6382chris
Offline RayF  
#147 Posted : 25 October 2012 18:04:36(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,850
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Great video, Chris! ThumpUp

I really enjoyed watching your locos doing their stuff!

Maybe next time you could try with the light on? BigGrin
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline utkan  
#148 Posted : 27 October 2012 20:17:00(UTC)
utkan

Turkey   
Joined: 13/07/2009(UTC)
Posts: 14,250
Location: Istanbul,
Hi Chris,

Another enjoyable video.....ThumpUp ThumpUp

Cheers,

mehmet
UserPostedImage

The world is analog!
Offline Christoffer  
#149 Posted : 09 November 2012 04:33:19(UTC)
Christoffer

Norway   
Joined: 23/12/2010(UTC)
Posts: 714
Hello Chris! Smile


Very nice layout you have created here ThumpUp ThumpUp Keep up your good work, hope to see more in the future ThumpUp
Offline pab  
#150 Posted : 09 November 2012 20:40:21(UTC)
pab

Netherlands   
Joined: 03/11/2007(UTC)
Posts: 2,421
Very nice video of the station area.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
5 Pages<12345>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 2.268 seconds.