Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Artologic  
#1 Posted : 04 July 2012 10:20:36(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
Hey Everyone,

Time to time I m watching movies on youtube with old rolling stock. What I notice in general is that these loco s nearly always run to hard (rocket speeds Scared Scared Scared ). Now I m starting to wonder if I m the only one (or one of the few) that runs them at a "nice speed", in which you can easily recognize what loco is running? Or is there another reason to this (loco s not getting uphill or so lol)

Your opinions please RollEyes

Kristof
Offline Iamnotthecrazyone  
#2 Posted : 04 July 2012 10:32:22(UTC)
Iamnotthecrazyone

Australia   
Joined: 22/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 873
I try to run them at a prototipical speed but when I was a kid the one I had for express trains used to go quite fast, probably still proper scale speed for a express and the shunters not that fast. So I suppose even when I was a kid I used reasonable speeds.
Offline RayF  
#3 Posted : 04 July 2012 11:27:52(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Kristoff, I agree with you.

Most videos you see on youtube (or on this forum) of analogue Marklin trains show them going round at very fast speeds.

My own experience is that it is actually difficult to run the old analogue trains slowly, but many "marklinists" seem to enjoy running them at full speed, which is the other extreme.

On the Marklin speed dials, my preferred setting for most trains is around 100. a setting of 50 is usually too little to get the trains moving successfully, and 150+ looks ridiculously fast.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#4 Posted : 04 July 2012 12:02:09(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Kristof,

It's very important where the camera is located relative to the travelling Loco, the closer to the camera the faster it appears to be travelling.

It's a speed versus distance thing....Smile , which I used to understand, but thankfully have long since forgotten.

My attempt at travelling slowly.

Ian.

Edited by user 04 July 2012 12:28:36(UTC)  | Reason: Remove info.

Offline Ian555  
#5 Posted : 04 July 2012 12:26:21(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi all,

And as a comparison, a digital Loco (BR45) travelling slowly.

Ian.



Offline CCS800KrokHunter3  
#6 Posted : 04 July 2012 12:32:09(UTC)
CCS800KrokHunter3

United States   
Joined: 03/04/2007(UTC)
Posts: 1,400
There are kind of two sides to the running speed in my opinion. If a locomotive can run very slowly on a low voltage then usually it means that the loco is in good condition mechanically: the gears move easily even if you rolled the train on your desk. However, some locos that run slowly are also the bad ones because they have an electrical short which drops down the voltage to near none and they just limp along or they have a problem in the gears which provides a lot of resistance. Some people bump up the voltage to overcome this resistance and then the train goes fast and has the appearance of being well serviced (but also produces a lot of sparks!). Then again it is possible to run a well serviced loco at high speeds with a minimal amount of electricity.

So it's up to you -- but in general the vintage trains were run quite fast because generally they were "well serviced" (they were brand new) so there was very little inhibiting them. Then again it's hard to say because a lot of the video I have seen from the 30s and 40s was sped up because of the film they used.

Paul
Offline H0  
#7 Posted : 04 July 2012 17:54:51(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 8,903
Hi all!
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
On the Marklin speed dials, my preferred setting for most trains is around 100. a setting of 50 is usually too little to get the trains moving successfully, and 150+ looks ridiculously fast.
I presume you're referring to the new grey transformers (scale goes up to 250). On my old blue transformer, the maximum is at 160. I don't know if Märklin used other speed ranges on other transformers.
My fastest loco in the ’70s was a Primex 141 - it fell off the track at a setting of 130+ (on a scale of 160). That must have been around 300 km/h scale speed - about three times the prototypical speed.

Regards
Tom
---
Happy customer of Roco, Piko, Fleischmann, ESU, Brawa, Liliput, Rivarossi, Lima, ... - and will happily continue to buy locos that run well out of the box. I'm also happy with 95% of my Märklin items, but will avoid a few cost-optimized items made 2011 or later.
Offline RayF  
#8 Posted : 04 July 2012 18:22:27(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Hi all!
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post
On the Marklin speed dials, my preferred setting for most trains is around 100. a setting of 50 is usually too little to get the trains moving successfully, and 150+ looks ridiculously fast.
I presume you're referring to the new grey transformers (scale goes up to 250). On my old blue transformer, the maximum is at 160. I don't know if Märklin used other speed ranges on other transformers.
My fastest loco in the ’70s was a Primex 141 - it fell off the track at a setting of 130+ (on a scale of 160). That must have been around 300 km/h scale speed - about three times the prototypical speed.



I was refering to my old 278A blue transformer. It has markings up to 200 and then a bit more before it gets to 0 again.

UserPostedImage
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Marty  
#9 Posted : 04 July 2012 18:46:48(UTC)
Marty

United States   
Joined: 28/05/2008(UTC)
Posts: 254
Location: USA
I have wondered about this as well. I sometimes think the engineers at Märklin had to come up with a compromise with gear ratios in order to please everyone: Kids naturally like speed - the faster the better. Add a few coaches with interior lighting, and the top speed is less. Add some inclines to the layout, and the top speed is reduced even more.

I have had vistors to my layout who imediately ask "Why is the train running so slowly?" when the speed is prototypical for the area modelled. I think the average person can't visualize what a prototypical speed should be.

Even on professional show layouts, I sometimes think the speeds are a bit too fast. But that may be what the public demands... Browse around on Youtube at any of the big show layouts (Loxx, MiWuLa, Schwarzwald Modellbahn Hausach) and see what you think.

Edited by user 07 July 2012 23:31:46(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Marty
Offline Artologic  
#10 Posted : 05 July 2012 07:49:24(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
Hey everyone,

Thanks for the replies. Here myself I manage quite fine to run them at decent speeds (mostly 3/8 to 1/2 of the knob is enough), they run fine (without short circuit I guess) the moment I turn on the power. I remember there was a higher voltage in our railroad club as well when going uphill, maybe that s a workaround for the slowing down? I don t measure speed of any of my loco s, as long as it looks like it s somewhat normal...

@Ian: I think the reason why your digital loco runs better at slow speeds is because there is still a part of the electronics at work and the 5 pole motor. Also your analog loco looks to me like a worst case scenario? Not to be a criticus, but the analog loc has 4 wheels, where your digital loco has 22 if I m correct? I used a br81 tank loco and the v60 to see how smooth it got (after a warming up round) and they didn t stutter, even not on minimum.

@Marty: I think it s not always a question about what the public wants. It s still (most of the part) to show what you achieved and to show how you enjoy your hobby. Isn t it then also normal you run the way you like it the best? But that s my opinion of course.

@CCS800KrokHunter3: Maybe there are differences in the different classes of vintage trains as well, for example maybe vintage trains of the 40's have different gearing and motors then the ones from the 60's? I don t know, but maybe it explains the differences?

@RayF: Fun little transformator, is there any reason for the 0 at the end?
Offline RayF  
#11 Posted : 05 July 2012 07:59:57(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Artologic Go to Quoted Post
Hey everyone,

....

@RayF: Fun little transformator, is there any reason for the 0 at the end?


Hi Kristof,

I have no idea why they made it that way. The end of the scale actually cuts power to the track, hence '0', so if you are trying to run as fact as possible sometimes you go a bit too far and it stops!

In this type of transformer the reversing is done by pushing down on the red knob, so it's different in that way too.

This is my original transformer, bought by my father in 1958 for my brother and myself for Christmas 1958 together with a starter set consisting of a 3000 loco and 3 4000 coaches. I was only a few weeks old that Christmas, but I ended up being more interested in trains than my brother and eventually kept all our train stuff.

Edited by user 08 July 2012 07:01:33(UTC)  | Reason: corrected number of coaches

Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#12 Posted : 05 July 2012 08:31:14(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray and Kristof,

I still use that transformer, got it for Christmas 1959 when I was only a few years old. Wink Smile

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Offline Artologic  
#13 Posted : 05 July 2012 09:45:30(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
@ RayF: I always liked the principal of pushing the button better than the click left... Here the transformer (currently used for a floor layout) always moves... Do you still have the loco and carrages too?

@ Ian: Seems like those transformers are holding out really well :-). Is that one on the left also push to reverse? Nice vintage stuff, in front too, do you have a number on the 2second wagon from the left on the front row? I like it :-). That ipod touch, is that analog as well LOL

Kristof
Offline Ian555  
#14 Posted : 05 July 2012 10:54:22(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Kristof,

The larger transformer is from the early '60's and you move the control knob to the side to reverse the Loco's.

The ipod touch was a Christmas present last year (52 years later) and I use that along with my CS2 on my digital section of the layout.

I've no information on that wagon, bought it with no box, will take a better photo of it and I'm sure a forum member will give us it's number etc.

Ian.

Offline RayF  
#15 Posted : 05 July 2012 12:19:45(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Artologic Go to Quoted Post


@ RayF: I always liked the principal of pushing the button better than the click left... Here the transformer (currently used for a floor layout) always moves... Do you still have the loco and carrages too?

Kristof


I still have the loco and 2 of the 3 coaches. Unfortunately I lost the roofs and also at some point I decided to repaint them. so I no longer use them on the layout. I replaced them with two 4039 coaches, which are the modern replacements. I keep meaning to get a couple of 4000s from eabay so that I can make up my original train, but haven't got round to it yet.

UserPostedImage
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Artologic  
#16 Posted : 05 July 2012 13:34:10(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
@Ian: I have seen some friend of mine doing just the same with an ipod, looked pretty neat! I m looking forward for the picture :-)

@Ray: Those coaches are nice too. Too bad your other coaches were a "loss". I have a list like yours, stuff I have to do once too hahaha. You have the bagage too I presume?

Kristof
Offline Ian555  
#17 Posted : 05 July 2012 15:24:45(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Kristof,

Photo of the wagon.

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Offline RayF  
#18 Posted : 05 July 2012 16:05:52(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Artologic Go to Quoted Post



@Ray: Those coaches are nice too. Too bad your other coaches were a "loss". I have a list like yours, stuff I have to do once too hahaha. You have the bagage too I presume?

Kristof


Yes, I have two of each, normal and baggage coaches

They look really good for being such cheap coaches. I might be tempted to also buy the red and cream ones. I've seen them in a shop I visit occasionally.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Artologic  
#19 Posted : 05 July 2012 18:16:05(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
@Ian: thanks for the picture, doesn t it say "4511" on the numberboard?

@Ray: I like them too, but I m hunting for the red ones, once in a package with a start set with a br86... They are always fun to have...

Kristof

Offline Ian555  
#20 Posted : 05 July 2012 18:37:04(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Kristof,

Yes that's right, it has 4511 on the number board.

Ian.

Offline Artologic  
#21 Posted : 08 July 2012 00:15:22(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
Hey Ian,

Thanks!

Kristof
Offline Ian555  
#22 Posted : 08 July 2012 04:40:45(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Kristof,

Here's another 4511 wagon I have,

Ian.


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


Offline RayF  
#23 Posted : 08 July 2012 06:59:44(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Hi Ian,

That's an unusual one. It seems to be a 4511 with the lettering from the 4510 wine car!

UserPostedImage
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline RayF  
#24 Posted : 08 July 2012 07:04:06(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
This thread has awakened some old memories, and has prompted me to go ahead with my desire to re-live my childhood train memories.

Last night I found some nice 4000 coaches on ebay and bought three of them. I'll post pictures of how my original train looked when they get here.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#25 Posted : 08 July 2012 08:20:10(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

Steady, you'll be buying 3600 track next. Smile ThumpUp

Couple of photo's of an early wine van 4510.

Ian


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us


UserPostedImage

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Offline RayF  
#26 Posted : 08 July 2012 08:31:01(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Ray,

Steady, you'll be buying 3600 track next. Smile ThumpUp


Ian




I still have lots of 3600 track from my old M track layout.

UserPostedImage

UserPostedImage
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#27 Posted : 08 July 2012 09:09:35(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

I don't think I've seen any photo's of your old layout, have I.

Ian.

Offline Artologic  
#28 Posted : 08 July 2012 12:58:21(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
Hey Ian & Ray,

Seems like this is getting more interesting than just the running speeds, I love it. I think the second one 4511 isn t an original (bordeaux is not hanging straight), but still you got a unique piece there :-). I really love the stuff I have been seeing here...

@Ray: That last v216, is it still delta and how does your one run?

Kristof
Offline RayF  
#29 Posted : 08 July 2012 17:54:27(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Artologic Go to Quoted Post
Hey Ian & Ray,

Seems like this is getting more interesting than just the running speeds, I love it. I think the second one 4511 isn t an original (bordeaux is not hanging straight), but still you got a unique piece there :-). I really love the stuff I have been seeing here...

@Ray: That last v216, is it still delta and how does your one run?

Kristof


Hi Kristof. I replaced the original delta with a 60760 conversion kit, so it now has a 5 pole motor. The running is excellent!

Unfortunately I blew one of the light outputs when I first assembled the loco after the conversion, so it only has lights in one direction. I've been meaning to swap the decoder for one installed in one of my locos with no lights, but I haven't got around to it yet.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline RayF  
#30 Posted : 08 July 2012 18:03:30(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Ray,

I don't think I've seen any photo's of your old layout, have I.

Ian.



Hi Ian,

Here is the original photo thread of my layout. At least the first page is from my old M track layout.

http://www.marklin-users...s-from-Ray-s-layout.aspx
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline Ian555  
#31 Posted : 08 July 2012 18:16:19(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi Ray,

Thanks for the link. ThumpUp

Ian.

Alot of member's on your first page I've never heard of.

Offline RayF  
#32 Posted : 08 July 2012 19:03:21(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi Ray,

Thanks for the link. ThumpUp

Ian.

Alot of member's on your first page I've never heard of.



Yes, a lot of members we haven't heard from for a few years.
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline john black  
#33 Posted : 15 July 2012 10:09:53(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Yeah ... and a time when Chris and Ira were with us, still ... RIP, friends Sad
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
Offline john black  
#34 Posted : 15 July 2012 10:16:38(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Re that high top speed on old classic marklins - never had a problem with this.
Brings back childhood memories. And then I do have a throttle, after all ... Laugh
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
Offline Ian555  
#35 Posted : 15 July 2012 10:50:04(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Originally Posted by: john black Go to Quoted Post
Yeah ... and a time when Chris and Ira were with us, still ... RIP, friends Sad



Hi John,

Sad new's.

Ian.


Offline Ian555  
#36 Posted : 15 July 2012 10:52:57(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi John,

I agree, who would want to see these "old girls" moving slowly, leave that to those digital guys. Smile ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline john black  
#37 Posted : 15 July 2012 11:03:31(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
LaughThumpUp
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
Offline john black  
#38 Posted : 15 July 2012 11:16:21(UTC)
john black

United States   
Joined: 21/04/2004(UTC)
Posts: 12,139
Location: New York, NY
Old heavy metal locos roaming the Rio Grande Valley w/ classic tinplate coaches & cars rattling over worn M-track,
the air in the desert night is damp and filled with clouds of Eau d' Marklin - what can one ask more ... LaughCoolSneaky
I hope no one visits a poor Southener's layout in Brooklyn. Intruders beware of Gators.
AT&SF, D&RGW, T&P, SP, WP, UP, BN, NYC, ARR, epI-III - analog & digital Marklin Classics only.
CU#6021 FX-MOTOROLA DIGITAL SYSTEM. Fast as lightning and no trouble. What else ...
Outlaw Member of BIG JUHAN's OUTSIDER CLUB. With the most members, worldwide
UserPostedImage
Offline Artologic  
#39 Posted : 15 July 2012 20:29:54(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
Originally Posted by: Ian555 Go to Quoted Post
Hi John,

I agree, who would want to see these "old girls" moving slowly, leave that to those digital guys. Smile ThumpUp

Ian.



Looks like tastes differ LOL LOL . Still I run them at regular speeds, not a crawl (except when shunting :-) ).

@Ray:

Thanks for the info ThumpUp ThumpUp

Kristof
Offline smurfillo  
#40 Posted : 18 July 2012 09:39:50(UTC)
smurfillo


Joined: 12/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 58
Location: Spain
I think that you have seen some video upload by me. BigGrin


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=...76WeI&feature=relmfu

In this video the locos were running 110 -120. You can see the transformers !!

Like John Black brings back childhood memories...The 160 wasn't enough!! BigGrin
Offline Ian555  
#41 Posted : 18 July 2012 10:02:52(UTC)
Ian555

Scotland   
Joined: 04/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 18,506
Location: Scotland
Hi smurfillo,

Great looking layout system. ThumpUp

Ian.

Offline Artologic  
#42 Posted : 24 July 2012 20:04:24(UTC)
Artologic

Belgium   
Joined: 21/08/2010(UTC)
Posts: 356
Hey Smurfillo,

Now I have seen them, nice stuff :-)

Kristof
Offline kweekalot  
#43 Posted : 24 July 2012 21:14:49(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Joined: 27/06/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,484
Location: Holland
Hi Smurfillo,

It is indeed a nice movie.
I like your mix of different types of track, I don't see that so often.

Marco
Offline smurfillo  
#44 Posted : 25 July 2012 10:35:13(UTC)
smurfillo


Joined: 12/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 58
Location: Spain
Originally Posted by: kweekalot Go to Quoted Post
Hi Smurfillo,

It is indeed a nice movie.
I like your mix of different types of track, I don't see that so often.

Marco



I'm waiting for a new "old 3600" layout bought in ebay (2.45 x 1.00) the "pre-war 00" layout will disappear and I'll rebuild the digital layout .
Offline RayF  
#45 Posted : 25 July 2012 14:58:33(UTC)
RayF

Gibraltar   
Joined: 14/03/2005(UTC)
Posts: 11,507
Location: Gibraltar, Europe
Nice trains, Smurfillo, but why the excessive speed?

I agree with the original poster on this thread. There is no need to run trains at breakneck speeds all the time.

When I run my trains I sometimes have an express train running at a reasonably fast pace, overtaking a goods or local passenger train travelling at a more sedate speed on an adjacent track. I think this looks much more realistic and is also kinder on the nerves! BigGrin

Take it easy, slow down, and enjoy life more!

On the other hand, it's your railway, and you can run it as you please! ThumpUp

I have come to the conclusion after being a member of this forum for so long, that there are as many ways to enjoy the hobby as there are members!
Ray

Mostly Marklin.Selection of different eras and European railways
Small C track layout, control by MS2, 100+ trains but run 4-5 at a time.
Offline kweekalot  
#46 Posted : 25 July 2012 16:50:02(UTC)
kweekalot

Netherlands   
Joined: 27/06/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,484
Location: Holland
Originally Posted by: RayF Go to Quoted Post

I have come to the conclusion after being a member of this forum for so long, that there are as many ways to enjoy the hobby as there are members!


Very well said and absolutely right !!

marco
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 1.770 seconds.