Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Poll Question : What models do you own and do you want more versio
Choice Votes Statistics
  Total 204 100%
Guests can't see poll choices and poll results. Try login or register. Guests can't vote. Try login or register.
4 Pages«<234
Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline foumaro  
#151 Posted : 02 October 2014 12:20:48(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,829
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
Originally Posted by: Moritz-BR365 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: foumaro Go to Quoted Post
I won an auction before a few days, so i add my self to the poll off the Big Boy owners.

What did You pay? I have a 37991 for sale!


The 37991 is very similar,maybe i will try to get the 37992 version in the future.BigGrin
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by foumaro
Offline ice 1  
#152 Posted : 31 December 2014 15:44:12(UTC)
ice 1


Joined: 30/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 110
Location: IRELAND
Hi all Happy New Year
I bought 37991 as an investment like a fool as i didnt think every week Marklin would be bringing out a different version.
So now i plan to run it on my new layout ive stopped collecting insider models as they also get brought out again in different versions.
I must say it annoyed me to think they want to put in a less powerful motor and you pay the same high price.
Looking at it in my display case i cant say it looks well 39050 and 39010 looks better.
But then again what one doent like someone else does.
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by ice 1
Offline kiwiAlan  
#153 Posted : 31 December 2014 17:12:15(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 800
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: ice 1 Go to Quoted Post
Hi all Happy New Year
I bought 37991 as an investment like a fool as i didnt think every week Marklin would be bringing out a different version.
So now i plan to run it on my new layout ive stopped collecting insider models as they also get brought out again in different versions.
I must say it annoyed me to think they want to put in a less powerful motor and you pay the same high price.
Looking at it in my display case i cant say it looks well 39050 and 39010 looks better.
But then again what one doent like someone else does.


I'm afraid that buying any model train as an investment is a fools errand. The only thing that makes them an investment is a perceived value later on when people find they cannot find one and will offer over the odds at places like eBay. See for example the recent 'World Cup' loco, but how long the prices will sit at 3-4x the original purchase price remains to be seen.

The Big Boy was always going to be produced in multiple versions. There were twenty five prototypes, so there are a reasonable number of road numbers for Marklin to amortize the tooling and development costs over a reasonable number of years of production. This has been shown in the number of start sets and individual locomotives they have produced since the original Insider version came out.

However where the Insider locos may be different from the normal production is in detailing - the insider loco may have more detailing and/or features than later production ones. Also an Insider loco tends to be the first of a series of production versions of a new tooling, so some Insider members will by the locos for this reason - to be first on the block with the new item.

However I am wondering how Marklin are going to amortize the tooling and development costs of the Br05 003 cab forward - there was only ever one of these on the track, so producing it with different road numbers is not an option.

I see it appearing in a display cabinet set, with one each of Br05 001, 002 and 003 - I regard this as almost a certainty.

They may also do a 'streamlined Br05' set with the streamlined Br05 001 and cab forward Br05 003.

They could also do a 'before and after' set with the cab forward, and then in 'normal' configuration, both numbered Br05 003.

It could also appear in a start set with some coaches and another loco of the time with some goods wagons, for an Era II Mega Start Set.

I don't see it being issued as an individual loco in the normal program - although it might appear in a Carl Bellingrodt style display case series, although I don't know what series it could fit. Have Marklin finished the 'Berlin Manufacturers' series yet? Would this loco fit that series?

thanks 2 users liked this useful post by kiwiAlan
Offline M-Classics  
#154 Posted : 31 December 2014 19:33:32(UTC)
M-Classics

Luxembourg   
Joined: 24/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 178
Location: LUXEMBOURG
Hi Alan,

Apparently the Br05 Cab Forward also existed in a grey livery during WWII, and another potential version might be the black/light grey photography livery in which steam engines were photographed immediately after production at the time, so Märklin can make a couple of other versions later.

New versions of the Big Boy are bound to appear as well. It's one of the few newer engines doesn't lose a lot of its value a few years after you buy it. I used to have three Big Boys (37993, 37994, and 37995), and I personally think it's the best-designed locomotive Märklin has introduced in the last 15 years. Recently I sold two of my Big Boys at a good price, mainly due to lack of space and because I don't collect US models any more, but I regret selling the 37993 with the ESU sound decoder, as it's the best Big Boy Märklin has made: white LEDs, 'Glockenanker' motor with bell-shaped armatures, ESU sound decoder!

I've sold a large part of my collection, but the 37993 is the only item that I wish I still had ...

Best regards, Mark
MÄRKLIN 4ever!! (*)

(*) This signature refers to vintage items.
thanks 4 users liked this useful post by M-Classics
Offline ice 1  
#155 Posted : 08 January 2015 13:13:04(UTC)
ice 1


Joined: 30/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 110
Location: IRELAND
Hi
I would just like to know what type of Motor is in the new Big Boy due to be released this year ref 37996 i think
Answer in simple English please is it the good powerful motor or a cheap one.
Would like to run 37991 on a layout im planning but then tunnel Entrances will need to be higher and then im sure that will look strange etc might sell it off what a waste of money it was wished i got more HAG RE460s
Offline H0  
#156 Posted : 08 January 2015 13:42:36(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 9,917
Originally Posted by: ice 1 Go to Quoted Post
Answer in simple English please is it the good powerful motor or a cheap one.
Märklin won't tell, so we can only speculate.
I guess it will be the same type of motor they used for Big Boy 37994. Powerful? Yes. Good? I don't know. Cheap? Cheaper than a motor with bell-shaped armature.
Big Boys up to 37993 had motors with bell-shaped armatures - more quiet than 37994.

Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
Offline ice 1  
#157 Posted : 08 January 2015 14:25:14(UTC)
ice 1


Joined: 30/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 110
Location: IRELAND
Thanks
My 37991 must have a good motor then never ran it got it in 06 i think.
Might try and find a photo of the motor i am not going to try and disassemble my own to look at its motor
Ive just noticed rust on the handrails 2 small spots at the very front of my loco the handrails on each side right in front of the boiler anyone else experienced this part number 101 on my parts sheet but the handrails dont seem to come seperate its down as lok vorbau well its them handrails.
Should i put the oil i use for my locos on the effected areas well ive just done that so no point asking now.
I also found the same type of rust on one buffer on the Marklin Class 103 39579 it left a rust mark also on the piece of cardboard the buffers were resting against but it seemed to rub off the affected area of the buffer.

Edited by user 08 January 2015 14:52:20(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

thanks 1 user liked this useful post by ice 1
Offline M-Classics  
#158 Posted : 08 January 2015 18:11:54(UTC)
M-Classics

Luxembourg   
Joined: 24/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 178
Location: LUXEMBOURG
Originally Posted by: ice 1 Go to Quoted Post
Thanks
My 37991 must have a good motor then never ran it got it in 06 i think.
Might try and find a photo of the motor i am not going to try and disassemble my own to look at its motor
Ive just noticed rust on the handrails 2 small spots at the very front of my loco the handrails on each side right in front of the boiler anyone else experienced this part number 101 on my parts sheet but the handrails dont seem to come seperate its down as lok vorbau well its them handrails.
Should i put the oil i use for my locos on the effected areas well ive just done that so no point asking now.
I also found the same type of rust on one buffer on the Marklin Class 103 39579 it left a rust mark also on the piece of cardboard the buffers were resting against but it seemed to rub off the affected area of the buffer.


Hi,

Your 37991 definitely has the 'Glockenanker' motor with bell-shaped armatures. The 37994 and 37995 have cheaper DC can motors that you cannot service and that do not last as long as a motor with bell-shaped armatures. Big Boys with DC motors run less well. The difference is obvious, as I noticed when I tested my 39993, 37994 and 37995.

Märklin still wants to keep customers in the dark about motors, but that has already backfired. (Sales were down once again in 2014 according to a short interview with Mr Sieber in the Junuary 2015 issue of Modellbahnillustrierte). I don't mind having some models with DC motors (even three-pole ones), but I'd like be be told which motor is inside the mocomotives I buy.

The Big Boy is the best model that Märklin has made in the last 15 years, so they should use a good motor with bell-shaped armatures again.

Best regards,
Mark
MÄRKLIN 4ever!! (*)

(*) This signature refers to vintage items.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by M-Classics
Offline ice 1  
#159 Posted : 08 January 2015 18:22:45(UTC)
ice 1


Joined: 30/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 110
Location: IRELAND
Yes a simple answer is dont buy thats true there up on €800 and they want cut costs to make even more money id prefer a good motor and charge more if necessary.
So has anyone else seen small specs of rust on the handrails of there Big Boy models have a close inspection especially if your model is in a display cabinet wont spot it unless you look at it close up
I might put some oil on all the other handrails lightly of course cause once it comes it comes.
Offline M-Classics  
#160 Posted : 08 January 2015 18:33:21(UTC)
M-Classics

Luxembourg   
Joined: 24/09/2014(UTC)
Posts: 178
Location: LUXEMBOURG
Originally Posted by: ice 1 Go to Quoted Post
Yes a simple answer is dont buy thats true there up on €800 and they want cut costs to make even more money id prefer a good motor and charge more if necessary.
So has anyone else seen small specs of rust on the handrails of there Big Boy models have a close inspection especially if your model is in a display cabinet wont spot it unless you look at it close up
I might put some oil on all the other handrails lightly of course cause once it comes it comes.


Hi,

Do you live in the West of Ireland, where humidity is high? That might explain the corrosion, especially if the locomotives are stored in a basement. I haven't had any corrosion on newer Märklin models, and my collection is stored in dry, heated rooms.
Edit: I remember reading somewhere that the salt in the sea air may cause corrosion on metals, so if you live next to the sea, that might be the explanation.

The 37993 is the best Big Boy, but not all of them have the good ESU sound decoder. I've sold mine, but I regret it!!

Best regards, Mark

Edited by user 08 January 2015 19:16:38(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

MÄRKLIN 4ever!! (*)

(*) This signature refers to vintage items.
Offline kimballthurlow  
#161 Posted : 08 January 2015 21:14:14(UTC)
kimballthurlow

Australia   
Joined: 18/03/2007(UTC)
Posts: 4,584
Location: Brisbane, Australia
I live in the sub-tropics, and any blackened metal parts on my Marklin locos show rust after a few years.
My Insider 39050 (05 002) has rusty piping on top of the boiler.

I have old metal frame Fleischmann wagons from the 1950s, and the same rusting occurs.
They don't look any worse than the later stuff.

It is surface only, so I do not worry about it.
Oiling may help, it certainly will not harm the metal.

regards
Kimball
HO Scale - Märklin (ep III, C Track, digital) - 2 rail (USA and Australia) - 3 rail (English Hornby Dublo) - a few old O gauge.
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by kimballthurlow
Offline foumaro  
#162 Posted : 09 January 2015 02:53:57(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,829
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
Originally Posted by: M-Classics Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: ice 1 Go to Quoted Post
Yes a simple answer is dont buy thats true there up on €800 and they want cut costs to make even more money id prefer a good motor and charge more if necessary.
So has anyone else seen small specs of rust on the handrails of there Big Boy models have a close inspection especially if your model is in a display cabinet wont spot it unless you look at it close up
I might put some oil on all the other handrails lightly of course cause once it comes it comes.


Hi,

Do you live in the West of Ireland, where humidity is high? That might explain the corrosion, especially if the locomotives are stored in a basement. I haven't had any corrosion on newer Märklin models, and my collection is stored in dry, heated rooms.
Edit: I remember reading somewhere that the salt in the sea air may cause corrosion on metals, so if you live next to the sea, that might be the explanation.

The 37993 is the best Big Boy, but not all of them have the good ESU sound decoder. I've sold mine, but I regret it!!

Best regards, Mark


Is it possible to know what type of decoder have mine?
Offline H0  
#163 Posted : 09 January 2015 06:43:13(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 9,917
Originally Posted by: foumaro Go to Quoted Post
Is it possible to know what type of decoder have mine?
Yes, can be tested with Central Station 2, Control Unit 6021, Central Station. Which do you use?
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by H0
Offline foumaro  
#164 Posted : 09 January 2015 13:13:12(UTC)
foumaro

Greece   
Joined: 08/12/2004(UTC)
Posts: 3,829
Location: ATHENS-GREECE
Originally Posted by: H0 Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: foumaro Go to Quoted Post
Is it possible to know what type of decoder have mine?
Yes, can be tested with Central Station 2, Control Unit 6021, Central Station. Which do you use?


I am using the CS2.
Offline H0  
#165 Posted : 09 January 2015 14:12:02(UTC)
H0


Joined: 16/02/2004(UTC)
Posts: 9,917
With CS2 it's pretty easy. Open loco properties and click on CV.
On the "nformatio" tab scroll down to "Decoder Manufacturer ID".
For ESU decoders it will be "0.0.0.151", for MäTrix decoders it will be "0.0.0.131".
There is another field with the loco manufacturer ID (not visible on the screenshot) - this will always be 131 even for locos with ESU decoders.
H0 attached the following image(s):
cs2_cvs_information_en.png
Regards
Tom
---
"In all of the gauges, we particularly emphasize a high level of quality, the best possible fidelity to the prototype, and absolute precision. You will see that in all of our products." (from Märklin New Items Brochure 2015, page 1) ROFLBTCUTS
thanks 2 users liked this useful post by H0
Offline kiwiAlan  
#166 Posted : 09 January 2015 22:40:14(UTC)
kiwiAlan

United Kingdom   
Joined: 23/07/2014(UTC)
Posts: 800
Location: ENGLAND, Didcot
Originally Posted by: M-Classics Go to Quoted Post

Do you live in the West of Ireland, where humidity is high? That might explain the corrosion,


Anywhere in Ireland is likely to have a percentage of salt laden air, especially with the storms like at the moment. It is amazing how far wind blown spray will go.

Offline ice 1  
#167 Posted : 10 January 2015 08:23:33(UTC)
ice 1


Joined: 30/12/2014(UTC)
Posts: 110
Location: IRELAND
What i find a bit strange is that 39010 has no spots of rust and has been on display just as long.
Maybe its a quality issue with not enough spray paint been applied or just natural weathering of the loco like the real thing.BigGrin

Edited by user 14 January 2015 12:37:12(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Users browsing this topic
Guest
4 Pages«<234
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2015, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.544 seconds.