Welcome to the forum   
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Share
Options
View
Go to last post in this topic Go to first unread post in this topic
Offline Danlake  
#1 Posted : 10 March 2012 13:36:47(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 671
I have problem with my 3-way turnout (M5214) and the smaller (light weight) shunters getting stuck as they try and pass over at slow speed.

The turnouts are in new condition and the locos have new tires fitted.

Is that a known issue with the M track 3-way turnouts? Not much fun in having a yard if the trains cannot travel slowly around...

I wonder if I should change this section to K tracks, as I already have some K tracks there for an small industry complex.

PS: for larger diesel locos (and heavier) there is no issues.

Anyone having experience with K track 3-way turnouts?

Thanks!

Brgs - Lasse
Digital 8m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS2 60214 / Train Controller Gold
Offline Rinus  
#2 Posted : 10 March 2012 14:01:57(UTC)
Rinus


Joined: 20/02/2005(UTC)
Posts: 1,471
Location: Wageningen, The Netherlands
Hi,

I had a K track 3 way switch once and replaced it. Longer coaches had difficulty passing it. They got stuck.

Isn't there a way to add weight to your shunters?

Regards,

Rinus


Offline Chris6382chris  
#3 Posted : 10 March 2012 17:07:54(UTC)
Chris6382chris

United States   
Joined: 11/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 958
Location: Wine Country, CA
It could be that your slider on your shunter needs adjusting (the spring portion could be to weak or too strong). I have had to do that with a couple engines to improve the running on the 3 way c turnouts. Once I adjusted the slider it hasn't been a problem at all.

Chris
Offline Danlake  
#4 Posted : 11 March 2012 03:47:25(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 671
Hi Guys,

Thanks for replies. I will check up on that.

Brgs - Lasse
Digital 8m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS2 60214 / Train Controller Gold
Offline BrandonVA  
#5 Posted : 12 March 2012 13:56:44(UTC)
BrandonVA

United States   
Joined: 09/12/2011(UTC)
Posts: 1,968
Location: VA
Lasse,

I have a similar experience with K track three way switches. They generally work, but are more prone to cause derailment than anything else on the layout. They work correctly if you pay attention, but when my kids drive it can make for trouble. For me, I value the ability to operate the layout with no experience (at the cost of some prototypical features), so this was a problem. Also, the way the trains ride over them, is very noisy and not too smooth, lots of clunking since the wheels go up on both sides passing over the center path. In the end I moved the 3 ways to a switching yard and replaced them with 2 way switches on the main lines. In the switching yard they are ok, I am guessing because they are passed at low speed.

-Brandon
thanks 1 user liked this useful post by BrandonVA
Offline Danlake  
#6 Posted : 13 March 2012 06:48:40(UTC)
Danlake

New Zealand   
Joined: 03/08/2011(UTC)
Posts: 671
Hi Brendan,

Thanks for comments regarding K tracks.

I think I will keep my M tracks and try and thought out the issues.

Brgs - Lasse
Digital 8m2 layout / C (M&K) tracks / Era IV / CS2 60214 / Train Controller Gold
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF.NET | YAF.NET © 2003-2014, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.660 seconds.